We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The absolute coolest hotel I have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #5 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The absolute coolest hotel I have ever stayed at”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

All of the other reviews of this hotel say exactly what I would say. The hotel is beautiful, modern, funky and just plain cool. The rooms are spacious, incredibly comfortable and more hooked up technologically than any other hotel I have stayed at. We loved the electronic bed-side controlled blinds. As everyone else said, the bathrooms are wonderful, especially the tubs. The Toblerone etc. in the complimentary mini-bar was a great touch.

This hotel is located in Sanlitun which is chock full of trendy restaurants and bars. However, it is not very close to the subway. If we had not been there in August, when Beijing in unbearably hot, we would have walked. Instead, we simply took the bus or a very cheap taxi. No big deal in my opinion.

This hotel was so wonderful I just don't even know what to say in this review. The last thing I can think of is that Frank Fang, one of their employees, was outstanding. He helped us through check-in as normal but then WALKED us to a dinner place (Spice Spirit) personally. What other hotel has that kind of service?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UberLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    137
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
79
209
73
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
385 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just spent the weekend in beijing at the beautiful opppsite house

The hotel's decor is very modern and zen at the same time, beautiful and quirky at the same time, more art gallery like vs hotel.

Service at this hotel is very good, the staff is quite young but very friendly & eager to please, the food (tried all three restaurants) was good and reasonably priced, I loved the spacious and very zen rooms, only regret was not finding the time to soak in the oakwood bathtub

Location wise it's right in the middle of sanlitun chaoyang district, packed with restaurants and bars + shops and a 10 min walk to the aussie embassy district where my friends were

Nice touches here incl free mini bar, flexible check in out

Definitely worth coming back to

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Opposite House is not only a cool hotel, with cool facilities and cool rooms. The location is very convenient; the staff, friendly; the service, impeccable; the rooms, cozy and well equipped; the pool, other-worldly; the restaurants and bars, hip; the food, delectable... and on top of all that, small touches, like not having a check-out time or not charging for minibar items, make staying at TOH an even more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Awesome location with lots of shopping and restaurants near by. Only about a 20 minute cab ride to most sights. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. The design of the hotel is very unique. Comfortable beds, and spacious rooms. Very cool bath tubs! The 2 restaurants in the hotel were delicious!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoCA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

From being picked up in Maserati Quattroporte from the airport and delivered back in a Q7
this was a memorable stay
Special mention to Kelvin who arranged sightseeing , dinner and clubs
The rooms are fantastic , the atmosphere refined, we were only in Beijing for 15 hours but this hotel made sure we enjoyed every minute.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Just got back from china, staying only one night here, but could not have booked a better place to stay. Hotel picked us up from airport in a maserati quottroporte for transfer to hotel, very very cool ! arrived at hotel and greeted by young consierge, Kelvin who greeted us on first names and you instanly felt like you were staying with old friends. The entire staff appear to be carefully selected 20 something's with a passion for service. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, an abundance of wood throughout the hotel, from main entrance doors, to floors and entire landing walls and room entrances a unique designer touch, which seemed appropriate as I was in china to buy wood flooring !

Nothing was any trouble, had a tour of city again using the maseratti, they booked our restaurant ( Da Dong - top peking duck restaurant in china) and even phoned us there after our tour to make sure we had some addresses for reccomended bars and clubs for rest of evening. The hotel has a bar/club downstairs called Punk, which was stylish and a great place for a chilled drink. Even when we returned to hotel at 5.00 am the staff greeted us by our first names and were happy to chat and offer drinks.

You are unlikely to find fault with this hotel and I would recommend it for, couples or business trips when you are happy to pay London price for a quality of hotel you can't get in London ! Mr & Mrs smith have this listed and bookings through them get you free champagne and tapas on arrival.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike-warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Fantastic hotel. Stayed there for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. Beds were comfortable, wireless connection faultless and bathroom was to die for. Baths big enough for two (but they leaked.....). Located in the middle of Sanlitun, it's perfect for the night out, but not close to any of the subway stations. But since taxis are dirt cheap in Beijing, it's not that much of a con.....

Probably the best hotel in Beijing (if you are looking for a modern touch). Otherwise, go for the Aman at Summer Palace if you are after the authentic Chinese experience.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawz333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,448 in Beijing
702 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,448 in Beijing
279 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,448 in Beijing
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,239 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,448 in Beijing
668 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#157 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing