We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Without Soul”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #2 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I will not repeat what everyone else said -- yes, this is ***** luxury, down to the control manual next to the bed that lifts up two sets of curtains and alights whatever area of the room you'd like with the touch of a finger.

BUT...the coffee came in what looked like a starbucks thermos, the architecture was nice and open and grand and boxy and modern (Chinese is not a word I would use to describe), the in-room ipad was a nice touch, but when I tried to order room service from it didn't work.

There are better hotels in Beijing. This one seems to be trying to hard. I got a great rate. My local friend told me that's because the Chinese refuse to stay there. They don't think construction is finished. lol

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a corner room. It was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgewaterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a very cool, design astute, hotel. I'm not a design expert, but Opposite House hits the right notes for clean lines, spacious spaces and attention to detail. The restaurant is great, service is warm and helpful, pool is very cool (though indoors; I guess given the Beijing smog, which we mostly avoided, it is rare to find outdoor pools). We previously stayed at its sister hotel in Hong Kong, which is spectacular, with huge rooms and incredible views. Both are on the same comfort level, but Opposite House is an excellent contrast, with a less obvious luxury factor, but a very cool, and dare I say, very hip, vibe. And I am not hip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JeffreyAToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just completed a five-night stay at this beautiful hotel with excellent rooms and wonderful service. Strategically located in a nice area full of restaurants and bars, though slightly away from the tourist center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidGoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A lot of posts have mentioned how great the opposite is and I shall not repeat them again except to say this is perhaps the next hotel apart from Park Hyatt Seoul that I am truly impressed with. Here in Beijing on business and though it is not a business hotel per se, it is a thoughtful and efficient hotel that responds to travelers needs. You don't need to go to a business centre to get things done as you can surf, work comfortably from your own room. Everything is one iPad away- booking of transports etc. And yes the mini bar is free! So why near perfect? my only grouse, a very small one though, is the list of food items available for in room dining is rather insignificant. More choices for small bites would be prefect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I love this hotel. Rooms are huge, furnished with Japanese design (I particularly loved the huge bath tub with a view). Excellent services, free wifi, free mini bar, customer service is fantastic with plenty of recommendations for food and shopping. Breakfast at the cafe' is western syle, with home made jams and breads. Every night they leave a little present for guests on the pillow (not a chocolate, perhaps a facial mask or a postcard), nice touch. Superior attention to detail. This is the place to hide away after a long day of work or sightseeing in the Chinese capital. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for view over the piazza (facing Miu-Miu shop).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Not only was the hotel fabulous due to the location, free mini bar, free WiFi, and the many restaurants inside the hotel, but the customer service was what really made the experience great for me. I would definitely come back if I ever find myself in Beijing again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes: comfort, service, visual appeal, etc. Shower and bath are very nice. Food at beakfast was good. Food at reaturant downstairs is also good. Location is a bit far from center but doable. Internet was a bit slow but I suspect that may be related to govt monitoring/filtering (I kep getting weird error messages that I'd never seen before when trying to access western new sites and blogs).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayr2l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,262 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#4 of 6,599 in Beijing
843 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,599 in Beijing
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,599 in Beijing
421 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,977 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#9 of 6,599 in Beijing
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#152 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $231 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing