We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A hotel with personality in an unbeatable location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #5 of 6,427 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hotel with personality in an unbeatable location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed just one night and loved it from the moment we arrived. The hotel itself is such a refreshing change from the large hotels chains. The modern design, and art work in the foyer is very cool, but not at all pretentious. The room itself lived up to expectations, it was light and airy, and spotlessly clean. The slick easy check in service and a helpful overview of the room was a great welcome. We stayed close to the hotel enjoying the nearby shopping options and dinner at Sureno. Breakfast at the Village Cafe was included in our room rate, and was great start to the day with a filling western breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raja011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    134
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
71
200
69
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Everything about this hotel is wonderful! I stayed for two nights on a tourist visit and this place was an an amazing oasis to come back to after sightseeing each day. The design of the rooms and common areas is beautiful, the pool is completely unique, the staff are hip, friendly and professional, there's an amazing collection of interesting artwork throughout and the location within a buzzy retail and entertainment zone can't be beaten. There's also great in-room treats including a take-home bag of toiletries, beautiful skin and haircare products, an ipad to access all hotel services and a selection of complimentary snacks that's replenished daily. Note that hot breakfasts are cokked-to-order so if you're got to be somewhere, give yourself time for the food to be cooked. The only thing I can fault is the miserly amount of drinking water provided in the room - while you can call housekeeping for more without any issue, it would be easier if it was readily available in t he room. If you're looking for a place to stay that is a world apart from the homogenous chain hotels - this is it. I was wowed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoomReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

It's nice to find a boutique hotel that lives up to the promise of boutique hotels. Modern designs, attentive service, delicious food, tranquil rooms, and innovative technology marked my outstanding stay at The Opposite House. Services ordered through the iPad in my room worked without a hitch. The free hotel app gave great advice on sights, bars, and restaurants while I was out exploring. I upgraded to a Studio 95 room, and felt like I was staying at a cool NYC apartment. Plus, the free minibar (yes, free!) was simply brilliant. I usually stay at the traditional 5 star luxury properties, but was very happy that I stayed at this perfectly located gem in trendy Sanlitun instead.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend for three wonderful nights in early May 2013. This hotel is very cool. The foyer / entrance is decorated with striking art and sculptures mixing contemporary and traditional materials and themes which are very beautiful.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I have to say, I was impressed by the very high standard of service that we experienced throughout our stay: from check-in and out which was swift and no hassle; room service for meals and getting hold of an ironing board; to the staff at the entrance, and in the restaurants and bars in the hotel. All were top rate. The customer experience team were also very helpful and informative about where to go to eat and drink.
The room was amazing. We stayed on the 4th floor, overlooking the square / shopping area which was also very cool and hip looking, with lots of boutiques. The room was very private and quiet. The bathroom was awesome, especially the large square wooden bath tub. The mini-bar was complimentary (including beers), and was replenished daily. Overall I would say this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. I would totally recommend this to anyone and would not choose to stay anywhere else but The Opposite House for any future trip to Beijing.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor. Try and get a room with a square wooden bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurisu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed with my husband for 3 nights in this beautiful hotel. We were actually staying in a different hotel but when passing this hotel and walking in we immediately decided to move! The hotel looks great and modern with many art pieces in the lobby.
The check in went quite smooth but you have to be a bit patient.

The rooms are just amazing and look exactly like the pics on their website! The many wood elements give it a very pieceful appearance. The shower and bath with the very nice smelling amenities are really good! The complimentary mini bar is well stocked and you can ask for eg. additional water if you require it (don't call room service for this as you will be charged in that case, but press the "how can i help" button on the phone.)

The hotel has some nice quirky touches like given you some nice post cards for you to send home with a postit on it with a funny text. We also received facial masks with again a quirky postit, which was actually very useful to get the dirt of beijing of your skin and came at the right just as I was filling up a nice hot bath.

The majority of the staff speaks English quite well with the exception of the cleaners. We had one funny situation with one of the guys at the door who was directing us somewhere and while pointing to the right told us to go left. Obviously we followed his body language and made it to our goal.

The area of the hotel is really modern with great shopping venues (both international and more local brands) and nice bars and restaurants. Avoid the bars on Sanlitun road as they looked like proper tourist traps. The bars/restaurants in the shopping area are much more upscale and good. For a good Japanese try Hatsune: very nice! The Mediterranean restaurant downstairs in the hotel is pretty good although a bit pricey.

We didn't try the spa in the hotel but went to Forest spa which is located opposite the hotel on the 6th floor of mall 33. We were both surprised how great it was: it looked amazing and the massages were brilliant!

To summarize: The hotel is in a great location to visit all the major sights in Beijing and when you come back you can truly relax in your room! Definitely value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wien81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved staying here - the hotel's quirky, contemporary and interesting design, its well-trained and friendly staff, its modest size and its position in a lively and interesting district make it a stand-out. I was told this area was once very different and the hotel is one of a swathe of modern buildings that have replaced older streets. Fortunately there are still some areas around the hotel with traces of what stood there before - and there are plenty of popular bars and eateries a stroll away. There are also glass buildings nearby housing shops full of Europe's expensive top brands, not so attractive for me but I guess some travellers can't help themselves. The hotel's rooms are airy and light, with (surprise) wood-trimmed bathrooms, even extending to wooden shower, bath and basins. Organic, high-quality toiletries. A pull-out drawer contains a built-in panel of every sort of electrical socket a traveller could ever need. One of my companions loved being able to plug in his own music and play it loud - he was in the room next door and I couldn't hear a thing.The hotel lobby has great modern art pieces, such as ceramic 'garments' made of broken-up willow pattern plates. Clever. The lobby restaurant offers light, modern breakfast fare with yummy juices and fruits (to eat at tree-shaded outside tables if weather allows) and there are fine-dining options. Ate at one, where the food was excellent. There's an indoor pool, dark-tiled and low lit, so a bit gloomy as a swimming experience, but visually interesting. The Opposite Hotel was unlike anything I expected in Beijing. I anticipated big and impersonal. Instead, this place is reflective of a 21st century Chinese vibe that is cool, smart, friendly and sophisticated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Go to the Village Café for a great brunch or tea time ! It´s one of the coolest place in the San Li tun village - now called Tai Koo Li -, it´s in the middle of the luxury shopping area, very kids friendly. Well, a place to go for sure !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,427 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,427 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#4 of 6,427 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,427 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#12 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#6 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#149 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing