We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Coolest Boutique Hotels in Beijing”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #2 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is probably one of my favs in Beijing if not China. If you are into art, minimalist design, and chic vibe then this is worth considering. Location is great right in the heart of Sanlitun next to the Village which if full of some of the city's best F&B trendy scene. Down the street are the embassies. If you plan to hang out in Sanlitun a lot then this is the one hotel you should consider especially considering how hard it is to get taxis in the city. The service is very top notch as it is run by Swire group which is known for good service and quality.

Postivies:
- customer service (although checkin process was a bit slow even though it was checkin on iPads)
- rooms - smallest studios were 45sqm and cool minimalist design
- complementary mini-bar...anything in it and quality beers and soft drinks
- breakfast...not your typical hotel buffet but order whatever you want a la carte...
- location....heart of Sanlitun if you are into good nightlife, shopping, and F&B
- bike rental
- relaxation...this hotel caters to just chilling out
- decoration....hotel has some famous pieces of artwork in the lobby
- turndown in evening....then send you free facemasks to relax
- wooden bathtub and rainforest shower...awesome!
- comfortable beds

Negatives
- pricier than your typical hotel, but not too bad compared to the 5 stars
- my room was quiet but I heard some rooms facing the street can be noisy
- no good loyalty program. if you get a discounted rate then no points at all

Overall great for single travelers or young couples as this is a very hipster type of hotel. It will enhance your experience as it has an Asian zen spin to its design so you feel like you are living in Beijing style. Also great for business travelers if the location fits your biz or you want don't want to go too far away from your hotel with good F&B options.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room away from the street. South or North side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpagoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 975 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel was really trendy and extremely well located for shopping. A little bit further away from the sightseeing around Ti an men square but if you do not mind hopping into a taxi, it is not that far. The rooms were really spacious and nicely decorated. All wooden floors and even the bath tub was made from hard wood. The breakfast was made to order so you needed a little bit more time in the morning but it was all fresh and delicious. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Did not try the restaurant - and there is no need since there are plenty of nice outdoor restaurants in the shopping mall across the street. Can really recommend this hotel for a few days in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annikika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Minimal, clean, cool, and incredibly comfortable beds. The lobby and art are fantastic. My favorite bathrooms because of the wood tub and floors. A relaxing experience. The little stress relievers/gifts on your night stand each evening are an appreciated touch. Great shopping and restaurants near by. You can't go wrong staying at the Opposite House.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LG268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

im really a fan of the modern minimalist interior design....so its no surprise that i love this hotel. The elegant use of wood all over and clean lines really did it for me.

I dont think its for everyone though, its like sleeping in a modern art museum rather than a feel at home luxury hotel.

i dont remember the place having a swimming pool or a spa...but i might be wrong.

The halls are rather dark, and i dont even remember being a front desk. People just come up to you in their ipads and organically just take care of you.

I remember the breakfast cafe was ok....not the vegas buffet you'd see in big luxury chains. Just enough. There are better dining options around and below the hotel. The japanese restaurant in the complex called BEI is amazing and probalby one of the best dinners i had in beijing.

the immediate surrounds are still under development, there was a great sichuan restaurant next door.

the only thing that i didnt like was the height of the building....maybe i was in a lower room but i felt like i couldnt open my window coz' the hotel rooms were immediately in line of sight to the small alley way behind it. and people could easily see you. I wish the hotel was taller and so you can get a better view. Also the small street infront of the hotel is always congested with traffic....which means, it will take forever for a taxi to get in and out of the area. we would usually just ask the driver to drop us at the corner of the main street block and we'd just walk back.

overall....despite the surroundings, i would book this hotel again on my next stay to beijing in a few months. I was at the park hyatt earlier, and i still like this property better...overall.

Room Tip: get a higher room...unless you like putting up a show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neversummer1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Loved this hotel. It's in a great area, many restaurants, shops. The service is professional and friendly at the same time. The lobby is gorgeous. You have to see it to believe it. Beautiful, contemporary and interesting. A huge resin Asian medicine chest as the lobby desk. An absolutely exquisite milky resin male dress on the wall. Sorry for my ignorance in the exact name of these gorgeous things. Anyway, they have a lobby that evolves with their art. The breakfast is great. The rooms are the best. Very contemporary, stark and at the same time very warm with the wood and opaque linen curtains in the open bathroom. I just loved it. The service was perfect and very friendly. It was my first time in Beijing and I know there are so many great hotels but I would return to Opposite House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapevine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fantastic base for a stay in Beijing. Everything was perfect, the room large, contemporary and well equipped - fantastic shower/bathrooms. The staff are all extremely professional, friendly and helpful. I'll be back soon I hope.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruwysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It didn't hurt that our client booked us in a luxury suite on the 6th floor. Room 615 has a king bed 2 toilets & 4 sinks, along with two large closets and countless drawer space. I could stay a month. Up a few stairs is a tub the size of a king bed with an open, exposed rain shower. When we first checked in we wanted to stay and lounge, but we had Beijing to see! Luxurious minimalist design may seem like an oxymoron, but is it simple, clean line architecture, yet no comfort & amenities are overlooked. Front desk & bell staff top notch service. Each meal at the Village Cafe was delicious, and Dale Wu the manager truly went out of his way to make us welcome, as did many other servers. Oddly, for all I've read about the Mesh bar, we had poor service with bar tender bad attitude, more like indifferent, two different nights.

Room Tip: 615 is to die for but if a suite is not in your budget, we saw other regular king size units that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,136 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,564 in Beijing
809 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,564 in Beijing
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,867 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#17 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,564 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,564 in Beijing
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#145 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $235 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing