We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second home in Beijing!”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #2 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Opposite House might be the best hotel I have stayed in Beijing!

Location: is simply great! Beijing is way too big, if you want to go to the Great Wall or Summer Palace, it's equally far from anywhere. But if you want to stay somewhere with a bit urban touch, Opposite House is the best choice. it's located inside of Sanlitun Village, with lots of options for restaurants and bars.

Facility: is fantastic! nicely designed hotel, every single items is carefully selected, the texture of furniture, material of the bedding and towels. Restaurants are offering very homely cooking, we stayed for two nights but didn't have chance to try out all three restaurants.

Service: is excellent! different from other hotel chains, Opposite House seems managed by a young energetic team, staff are very easy to talk to, very efficient, always eager to help.

Did I mention they offer complimentary mini bar? nicely stokced with imported water, food, organice coffee and more...
Complimentary WiFi is covered every corner...

Room Tip: it depends on what view you would like to have. We stayed at the Studio 70 room, which is facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 988 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week in November. Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms. The swimming pool was gorgeous. Especially loved the personal touches left behind after turn down service (eye masks, face masks), and it was great that the minibar was free and extremely well stocked! Sheets were super comfortable. Excellent location being located next to the Village Mall, but it does get slightly noisy during weekends. However, that is just a very minor downside to a great hotel. Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJH323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

There is so much to like about this modern styled hotel.....the feel, the flow, the care and the service...and oh yes it is in such a great location.
Back inside the hotel the rooms are light, the 'in room comfort' is significant and generally they have a lovely feel. The restaurants provide a wide range of cuisines and service is good; and also not to forget the pool too, which is a great experience, particularly when one reflects where you are.....
Now going to Beijing is not the easiest place to get around if you cannot speak mandarin, however, this hotel makes the experience so much simpler - the care and the help abounds.
I have been visiting this city for over 20 years and stayed in many hotels....and this hotel to me is the standout in Beijing, and indeed, across China.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Foodiemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you want something different from the boring chain hotels you'll love staying at the Opposite House.

The hotel has a minimal modernist feel and walking through the lobby and ground floor is akin to strolling the through an art gallery. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Sanlitun Village Shopping Mall.

If you choose the hotel car service you have a choice of a Maserati Quattroporte, Audi Q7, Mercedes Benz S350 or Audi A6L.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mengai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I forgot to write a brief contribution on this hotel where I stayed in with family during our China summer trip. A sister hotel of The Upper House in Hong Kong, the manager of which referred me to this hotel, telling me its nice but don’t compare it with ours! Indeed, a very modern, “minimalist” hotel but don’t get me wrong: it was a wonderful stay. The room we got was a really huge one long stretched with long colorless and very minimalistic interior, a rather “adventurous” shower, lot of windows. Honestly we had to get used to it due to the fact that the rooms –as are the other areas of the hotel –rather out of the ordinary. I guess this is the sort of hotel you either love or hate. Look at the various comments her on the hotel. We loved it, the sleep qualify was excellent, the spaciousness in a city like Beijing was extraordinary. My guess is that if you are for leisure –like we were, was with family with two daughters- you can certainly appreciate the hotel. If however you are for business I am not so sure this is a safe bet. Again for us: its quite an experience and certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wonderful, easy, comfortable and little things that made it the perfect location for business in Beijing.

Simple and effective, no frills, just exactly what was needed.

Service of the staff is impeccable. Beyond call of duty. Nothing was too much trouble.

I overslept my 3.45am wake up call. The staff woke me up, helped me pack everything, had the bill ready to sign, and had my luggage in the airport car before I was even awake!

The management should be applauded, I will definitely be back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Subbuteo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Absolutely perfect! Staff were attentive, friendly & polite, food in Sureno is amazingly good! I had to make myself wake up early cos I just couldn’t miss the delicious breakfast at the Cafe! The hotel itself is an attraction! It has very cool unique design, rooms are spacious, free wifi, snacks and drinks, I didn’t want to leave my room!

Taxi is always a challenge in BJ! Thanks for the manager – Frank he played a little magic so I could attend my dinner appointment on time!

Room Tip: try the studio 70 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,175 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,568 in Beijing
817 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,568 in Beijing
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,903 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,584 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,568 in Beijing
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#147 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $233 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing