We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual design and pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #5 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unusual design and pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've just spent almost three weeks staying at the Opposite House and, I must say, my stay was enjoyable. I've read the negative comments by other one or two other travellers and beg to differ in most respects. I was certainly able to turn out all of the rooms lights from my bed, albeit it did take the first night or two to get the hang of it. But the staff were also VERY cordial and helpful and always trying very hard to make my stay pleasant. The breakfast was very good and room service was reasonable prompt and well presented. Yes, there is the occasional glitch with serving staff in the 1st floor (ground floor) restaurant, mainly forgetting what exactly was ordered, but they are trying hard and just need a little more experience under their belts. They were always smiling and courteous. All in all I enjoyed my stay in a rather unusually designed hotel and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaius_Tacitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    137
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
80
210
73
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The opposite house definitely stands out amongst Beijing Hotels. The design is Japanese inspired minimalist, timber is everywhere, the foyer is unique from the reception through to the art work There is no doubt that the form of the hotel is quite interesting but what about the function?

I am staying currently in a 75sqm room with a great sound system , with no instructions so you have to call to find out more and a closet that is only 3 feet long with a sensor light that flicks off after less than 1 minute. The beautiful timber vanity basins are less than 4 inches deep so watch out if you are cleaning your teeth with your cloths on , you may very well splash yourself and bingo cloths change time before you head out for the day. The bath on the other hand is so deep that it is a large step over to get into it and being highly polished timber watch out or you will end up flat on your back as there is nothing to hang onto. The shower is annoying, the taps are located at the back so guess what, cold water from the rain shower over you before it heats up, mind you this is a classic hotel mistake locating the taps so they cannot be reached from outside the shower. When you are in the shower you have two choices, close the timber door and feel like you are in a tomb or leave it open and have water over the floor.

So you have had your shower / bath brushed your teeth , avoided splashing yourself and are about to head out for work or play and you want to check how you look, guess what no full length mirror, oops ! Oversight here and so easy to fix. Head down to breakfast , the food is great however the staff need some work.

Back at the hotel and head for the gym, watch out there are only two treadmills , cross trainer and bikes and a small selection of weight machines, there is however a massive pool. Hmmmmm seems with 99 rooms they got this wrong, you could fit all the guests in the pool at once but only two can run, and in Beijing with the pollution this is an issue. I have not tried the spa , but plan to and may post an update on that so watch out for it.

Back to the service offered by the team so far this has been below average, they are not that attentive, writing this review over breakfast of 1 1/2 hours I was offered coffee once , had to ask to get my table cleared and my eggs and toast came out together even though I asked for them separately. Luckily the Internet is free and the speed good or you would get really frustrated. Hang on news flash ! You would not believe I was just approached by the restaurant staff and asked to vacate because of a table booking. So I called the restaurant manager, he apologised but it should not have happened. Also the front door team need to understand that opening the door may be something they should consider, rather than simply standing and chatting to each other.

So that is the opposite house from a current guest point of view, all in all for $420 USD per night the function of the hotel should be a whole lot better . Carl the manager has some work to do there and a daily gift is not going to fix it, that is the extra that is supposed to make you feel special , not feel like the compensation. This hotel has been open four years and with only 99 rooms it should offer impeccable service. Would I stay here again , probably not on my regular trips to Beijing I would try something else .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank skipAussieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Refreshingly surprised at Opposite House.
Minimalist design rooms.
Fantastic art exhibit in the lobby.
Great breakfast and other restaurants to enjoy.
Hip and happening while still be calm.
Only negative comment ... Some service issues and attitude.
But all in all. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieShang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacNW
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

There isn't even a front desk, but a lobby "living room" full of helpful staff.

Room was spotless (a plus in China) with a good selection in the complimentary mini-bar. Daily handwritten notes and gifts were a nice surprise and staff was eager to help with the complex Home Theater-like entertainment system.

Location adjacent from ex-pat hot-spot Sanlitun with dozens of bars and clubs and high fashion shopping. Not nearby business centers like other businesses oriented hotels in Beijing.

There's even a Maserati available for airport pick ups/drop offs for a cool $150USD. Yeah, took a cab instead for about $10USD.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you enter the hotel you realize you are in a special place. The lobby serves as an art gallery with amazing exhibitions. The staff is friendly and young team. A welcome smile morning, afternoon. And night. The rooms are decorated to perfection . This group spared no expenses. Top of the line toiletries. And included in your rate is a complimentary mini bar with snacks. Don't be surprised if there is filming Iin the hotel as its major market is the film and entertainment industry. No snobs here just friendly and unstuffy staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBaficionado12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very impressive hotel! Booked a room there for a romantic week end in the capital. Beside the incredible location (right in the middle of Sanlitun district), the hotel itself is just great! Massive super-modern rooms with floor-to-ceiling glass windows. Discreet & smart staff who makes you feel at home from the check-in to the end of your stay. Brilliant

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have never stayed anywhere like this and what a great alternative to the stuffy business hotels I am used to. The interior design is interesting and beautiful (check out their website pictures), the staff is extremely friendly and everything is very relaxed. I especially like checking in sitting on a couch as opposed to standing at a counter while very tired. And the rooms are visually appealing and incredibly practical - seems like they thought of just about everything: Welcome cupcakes, a free convenience bar, a cabinet door that becomes a power strip with many options and allows you to play a multitude of devices through a HD TV. And sleeping there is a dream - the beds are like sleeping on a cloud and the air conditioning is incredibly responsive - and the cleaning staff doesnt adjust it while you're out! Unfortunately I had a number of business dinners and couldnt sample the many restaurants in the hotel and in the very trendy area - but I liked the grill on the main floor for breakfast and one dinner. There are cash machines in the next building over and one of those crazy shopping centers (like the Pearl Market) nearby as well as A LOT of high-end shopping. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katonahkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#159 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing