We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply an outstanding hotel”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #3 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Not only is this hotel genuinely stunning to look at, but the service and facilities are up to the same high standard. It's a thoroughly modern design, and it's a pleasure to stay somewhere that is so visually interesting. The art throughout (and the building itself) is provocative and entertaining. This isn't one of those cold trendy designed hotels.
Check in was really seamless. From the way you are welcomed at the door to checking in to your room, it's done with a genuine welcome and warmth. The check in process is all done sitting in the lounge area on a remote tablet screen which makes it feel much more personal and less like a hotel.
The rooms are also highly designed although occasionally the modernness gets in the way of functionality. For example, the bathroom taps look amazingly cool but there's not actually much room to get your hands underneath the running water and no lock on the toilet door made for some embarrassing moments for guests.
Service was consistently exceptional and I appreciated being able to change money without the usual rip off hotel rates - they gave bank rate. Food is also a high standard if pricey. But that goes with the territory. Location in Sanlitun in the middle of The Village is also ideal, if a little bit unreal. It's a fabulous, luxurious place to stay if you like modern design.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

a fun hotel to stay for those of us completely bored with the Westin Financial Street. The art on display is a great feature of this hotel. F+B staff always a little disorganised, but that is a Beijing wide issue. Great GM in Anthony Ross.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chingsoiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Date of Stay: January 11-14,2012
Reservations: iPrefer Website
Room Type: Studio 45
Upgrade: 
Studio 70
Loyalty Card: iPrefer Member

Location: Very hip location for a very hip hotel. The hotel is on the North side of the Sunlitun Village Shopping & Life Style Centre. The back entrance of the hotel leads you to rows of shops with brands like Miu Miu, Emporio Armani, Balenciaga, Lanvin and Alexander McQueen to name a few, whilst the other side of the village has more popular brands like Nike, Uniqlo and Apple. There are restaurants in the area but I spent my dinners searching for the best Peking Duck in Beijing so the restaurants in Sunlitun weren’t much of a help.

Transfer: Like most transfers at Beijing International Airport, someone meets you at the gate and escorts you through immigration and baggage claim before taking you through this small passage to an elevator which leads to a VIP drop off area where the hotel car is waiting for you.

Check-in: The moment I stepped out of the car and was warmly greeted by Kelvin, the Guest Experience Manager, with “Kumain ka na?” (the Filipino translation of “Have you eaten?”) I knew the Opposite House wasn't like most hotels. Checking in was just like staying over at a friend’s place, you are invited to the lounge where Kelvin chats you up while his team runs everything through their iPads.



Room: The room was very spacious, apparently I was given the Studio 70 for my stay. I knew from the iPrefer website I was entitled to and upgrade but nobody mentioned anything to me, and since it was booked under a special advance purchase rate I didn't bother to ask. I never liked dark rooms so the floor to ceiling windows ensures there’s enough light coming into the room from the courtyard outside. There’s also a day bed by the window, which I never used since I was just alone. The mini bar was complimentary and is refilled daily too. They used motion sensors for the lights in the closet so you won’t get up from bed the moment you turn off the lights and realized you were able to close the closet doors properly. Instead of mints on the pillows, evening turndown service leaves you with little gifts every night and a small note. I received a stack of postcards, a facial mask and a lip balm. I couldn't recall much about notes but I remember one of them saying, “it was a cold day, make sure to use the lip balm” or something like that.

Bathroom: The layout is very open, sectioned from the room by glass and curtain, so if you are staying there with another person you don't really know as part of a group, it might get a bit awkward. The toiletries are also interesting since I believe it's a local luxury skincare line that used local ingredients like Chinese Mulberry, Lotus Seed and Tibetan Roseroot.

Check-out: Check-out was simple, since everything was prepaid I only had to settled my breakfast bills and was off to see Beijing one more time.

Overall: Beautiful rooms are a dime a dozen these days. Hotels have been putting more thought in planning and designing rooms today but what sets the Opposite House apart from other hotels is the impression it left me after my stay. From the Filipino greeting by the Experience Manager, to the nightly gifts with notes I receive on my pillow, the Opposite House made me feel very much at home, just like what I said above, it was like staying over at a friend’s house.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keslergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

That's my hotel! Great design, stunning service, nice people. I wish there would be more around like this

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed at Opposite House for a long weekend.
Design was beautiful.
Lobby is breathtaking. with great rotating exhibit
Rooms had everything you needed and refreshing design.
Free wifi throughout .. a bonus!
Ate at the village ... delicious and Sureño .. the highlight (great food, wine and service)
My only negative comment was that i do not pay to have attitude as part of the service. Esp from the front desk. A smile and helpful assistance would be appreciated, not rolling eyes and cool attitude by some of the front desk staff (not all).
Saying that ... i still look fwd to returning and experiencing this great hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Amazing art exhibit foyer.
Easy check in (although some of the staff a little snobby)
Great food.
Location is in a hip part of town.
Enjoyed our experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

An amazing hotel. Beautiful large rooms, sleek cedar interiors - huge, square cedar bath. Superbly stocked mini bar - free from memory (booze excluded!). Excellent service and fantastic eating options - both in the hotel and in Sanlitun. Mesh Bar in lobby is a good start to the night, Punk (club) not the best, but fun for a night cap. Beautifully designed lobby space with regular art shows and a lovely little cafe. Have stayed there three and was excellent each time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,301 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#4 of 6,606 in Beijing
853 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#8 of 6,606 in Beijing
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#6 of 6,606 in Beijing
424 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,606 in Beijing
654 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#146 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $233 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing