We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing was the croissant from next door”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing
Ranked #195 of 6,517 Hotels in Beijing
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Best thing was the croissant from next door”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ok, so first off, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. There are no metro stops nearby. Although (I heard) it's walking distance from the 798 Art district and physically closer to the airport than some other hotels. But unless you have business nearby, there's really no reason to stay here. Even the Airport is more convenient from other parts of the city, because there's no transport, unlike a hotel near the Dongzhimen transport hub, for example.

The only reason I did stay here, was that a tour I was going on switched the hotel at the last minute from the HI Express Donghzimen. Comparing the two properties, I can tell you this one is inferior in every way. Harder beds -not Chinese rock hard, but American firm (so not so bad); worse breakfast (though still enough to keep you full); much more inconvenient; only 2 computers in the lobby for internet use, rather than 6 like in Dongzhimen (but at least they're there). So not terrible by any means, but there are better choices. If you're inclined to stay in a Holiday Inn Express to begin with, I wouldn't choose this one.

The one thing I will say about this place, is that there is an *amazing* bakery next door, around the corner from the entrance. I just had breakfast, but I saw the croissants inside, and they looked really, really good. Sometimes you can just tell by looking. Real, western style croissants. I ordered a chocolate croissant, even though I was already full, and wow... I didn't regret it. I meant to have one bite, and save the rest for later, but this was the kind of croissant one doesn't save for later. Perfectly crispy on the outside, moist and chewy inside... this ranked with the best chocolate croissants I have had anywhere! Naturally I devoured it on the spot. Of course this has nothing to do with the hotel, except that it's right there adjacent to the place, and I would never in a million years have gone to this bakery in the middle of a nondescript residential/business corner of Beijing, had I not had to stay overnight here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter l, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear gregsf11

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel ,We apologize that we have not met your expectations in our service delivery ,in order for us to improve, we would like to find our more details from you, Please assist us by contacting our operation Manager John Gao at John.gao@ihg.com or call him at 86-10-59269466.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Your sincerely

Pete Lee
Business Development Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    104
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
10
19
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel close to the Beijing capital airport and you have an early flight in the morning next day, this holiday inn express is the place to be.

Don't expect anything luxury but a decent place to sleep. Free Internet wifi, friendly reception, CLEAN rooms is what you will find at a reasonable price.

If you want something more, at 50 m there is a holiday inn hotel but considering the above, I will still use the express version.

Ther are several shops around, a shopping mall and for a quick check is good to have a look.

Things to improve: standard breakfast is sufficient, I would suggest to offer some simple food for busy traveller arriving late night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaroShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter l, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear SaroShanghai
Thank you for your valued review concerning your recent stay at our hotel , we are delighted to read that we were able to accommodate your stay were all satisfied about our facilities and coordination.
We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back again.hopefully very soon.

Sincerely yours
Peter Lee

Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed in numerous Holiday Inn/Crown Plaza (not Express) properties in Beijing over the years. Most are excellent hotels and great value. Unless I am mistaken, the Holiday Inn Express hotels are a more recent phenomenon. I am not impressed. The Wangjing is no exception. No soap in dispenser. Sofa and chair not very clean. Water leak and damp/moldy smell in the hallway (they were trying to soak up the water with old bed sheets). Desk light not working. While price is low and one would expect minimal extra and luxuries, there is no excuse for a Holiday Inn franchised hotel to give the impression of being a little run down.

Otherwise, everything else is OK. Limited breakfast very Chinese, as expected but adequate. Rooms OK. Not super clean but not filthy, either. Location fine if you want to be near the airport or that side of Beijing. Taxies are not easy to get and don’t want to use their meter.

One word of wisdom: If you are not completely satisfied with your stay at this hotel, just remember one thing. You are not paying a whole lot of money to stay there. I applied the logic to myself on this stay and it worked!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTB_BIKE_MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter l, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear MTB_BIKE_MAN

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel ,We apologize that we have not met your expectations in our service delivery ,in order for us to improve, we would like to find our more details from you, Please assist us by contacting our operation Manager John Gao at John.gao@ihg.com or call him at 86-10-59269466.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Your sincerely

Pete Lee
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taicang
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I spent there one night during a business - trip. The hotel is around 20 - 30 minutes (depends on the traffic) away from the airport. Not even 5 minutes walk away, you could find big company - buildings e.g. Mercedes Benz.
Also just 5 Minutes walk you have Supermarkets, FastFood, Chinese Restaurants and other Western Style Food.
The room was big enough, clean and warm (during -10 degrees outside, it is very important).
You have free internet access in all the rooms.
All in All a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter l, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Stefan R
Thank you for your valued review concerning your recent stay at our hotel , we are delighted to read that we were able to accommodate your stay were all satisfied about our facilities and coordination.
We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back again.hopefully very soon.

Sincerely yours
Peter Lee

Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Located 20 minutes from the airport and 30 minutes from Forbidden City. Located in a commercial area, with department stores and lot of restaurant around. clean, very basic rooms with all you need for business travel, breakfast good but with limited choice. good price

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KenBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter l, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear KenBologna
Thank you for your valued review concerning your recent stay at our hotel , we are delighted to read that we were able to accommodate your stay were all satisfied about our facilities and coordination.
We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back again.hopefully very soon.

Sincerely yours
Peter Lee

Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel lives up to the standard of Holiday Inn Express. Perfect for business visitors to Beijing and needs to stay outside for business reasons, quick ride to the airport and perfect for people who has business in the northeast side of Beijing. The breakfast is free and efficient, but very Chinese. Right next to a shopping mall hence food options are plenty. However it also has a couple of draw backs! The walls are thin hence you better not be a light sleeper, and there isn't a gym in this property which was a shock to me, as I was expecting one! All in all, good value!

Room Tip: Corner room and away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chungyumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter l, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear chungyumak
Thank you for your valued review concerning your recent stay at our hotel , we are delighted to read that we were able to accommodate your stay were all satisfied about our facilities and coordination.
We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back again.hopefully very soon.

Sincerely yours
Peter Lee

Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONESBORO
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport. It was easy to get a taxi both to and from the airport in our last days in town. Be wary of private drivers in the lobby. They are not a hotel service, and although the desk attendants will assist them, private drivers will over charge you for their services.

Otherwise, the breakfast was a mix of Chinese and Western food. The rooms were clean, and the bathrooms had enclosed showers. The beds were comfortable, but the fold out couch had a mattress so thin the bars were palpable. We solved this by adding extra cushioning.

The hotel provided two bottles of drinkable water, and the staff was quite helpful with directions. Some members spoke English, but even those that did not made a significant effort to help when possible. Computers with Internet access were available in the lobby and breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter l, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear M L
Thank you for your valued review concerning your recent stay at our hotel , we are delighted to read that we were able to accommodate your stay were all satisfied about our facilities and coordination.
We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back again.hopefully very soon.

Sincerely yours
Peter Lee

Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Wangjing
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
#65 of 6,517 in Beijing
379 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing

Property: Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing
Address: Building 6, No.6 Wangjing Futong East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100102, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Wangjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#192 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing