We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to stay in Beijing”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #50 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Although we arrived late on a Friday evening and had to walk from the main road to the hotel due to no cars allowed we loved the surrounding areas. Lots of shops and restaurants and although very busy we felt very safe. Close to the metro and we walked to a lot of the sites. The staff was always helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMGVVAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 720 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our trip to China ended with four days in Beijing at the beautiful Courtyard 7. The place is in the centre of the vibrant Nanluguoxiang alley. It is buzzing with quaint shops along the hutongs and a walk around in the evenings is so much fun! Courtyard 7 the best service, with the ever smiling staff who can guide you about the places to see and offer you tips. We were in one of the back rooms, which was quiet and relaxing. Small, but cosy enough. They even packed us breakfast for our early morning flight (at 5:30 am)! And we didn't even ask for it! That was very heart warming! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Beijing. Friendly staff, beautiful architecture, buzzing hutongs. A slice of real Beijing!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sumanajayanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The building is a fully restored, 300 year old hutong building with three pleasant courtyards, located in the centre of the Chen Dong district (old town). It is an excellent base to explore the hutong. The nearest metro station is a bit too far for being easy, therefore a taxi (cheap) is recommended for visits to e.g. the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square a.o.
The rooms are renovated, but basic. So, we had no wardrobe, too little storage space, and there was only one key available. The ancient typical Chinese bed was located in a corner of the room and it was only accessible from one side. Good, adjustable heating and air conditioning, reasonable bathroom with shower.
Housekeeping was very helpful. The rooms were cleaned every day. It was completely free to determine when the room should be groomed.
Enjoyable breakfast area in ancient Chinese hutong style. Good breakfast with a strong focus on Western tourists: croissants, pastries, coffee, tea, yogurt, fresh fruit etc... Regularly supplemented. By the end of the breakfast service each guest was asked if he/she needed some more food or drinks.
Maybe a little expensive for the accommodation offered, but the atmosphere and its location in the center of a real hutong compensate that largely.
Very friendly and helpful staff with adequate knowledge of English, front desk 24/7.
Very recommendable for those who want to stay a few days in a traditional character house.

Room Tip: Be aware that Chinese hotels have fairly thin, hard mattresses. One can, however, sleep well on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Located on a quiet block in a really attractive area this hotel is unique and quite comfortable. Especially for the price, which is beyond reasonable, this is one of the best hotels I experienced in all of China. The staff here was friendly and happy to give advice. The included breakfast wasn't bad either. Nothing too fancy, but they will make eggs for you (for those Americans like me) and there is a fair selection of the continental style food too. If you're in Beijing, you should definitely stay in the Hutong area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krisrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Even if you didn't stay at Courtyard 7, you'd want to check out the neighborhood anyway, so why not make it easy on yourself? There are a TON of cheap eats, relaxed coffee shops and tiny bars within easy walking distance. And by "easy" I mean 30 seconds. The rooms themselves range from tiny to adequate, but the unique decor adds much charm.

The Pros:
- Unique old school charm. You won't easily get a hotel like this even in Beijing.
- Easy access to hundreds of shops - tiny and packed with personality.
- Close to the Forbidden City.
- Friendly staff.

The Cons:
- Breakfast isn't what it used to be. It's too westernized!
- Flakey WiFi.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Courtyard 7 is a excellent friendly hotel in the heart of Hutong with a good location.This a chance to explore the charm of old Beijing,it's a must see place to visit. Plenty of good cheap food on offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nicely restored, decorated and maintained Hutong Courtyard. Even I live in Beijing I go here from time to time to spend a weekend in a more original place than an apartment. And I like it very much. Very good location, being quiet and in the middle of "it" at the same time. Good service and friendly staff. In warmer times it is excellent to sit outside in the courtyard. Now (November) it offers a beautiful Beijing autumn setting.

Room Tip: I liked room number 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McSchuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#42 of 6,606 in Beijing
524 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#110 of 6,606 in Beijing
439 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,606 in Beijing
587 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#66 of 6,606 in Beijing
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#19 Family Hotel in Beijing
#67 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $40 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard 7 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing