We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“In the middle of lively Hutongs, but quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #21 of 6,068 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In the middle of lively Hutongs, but quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nicely restored, decorated and maintained Hutong Courtyard. Even I live in Beijing I go here from time to time to spend a weekend in a more original place than an apartment. And I like it very much. Very good location, being quiet and in the middle of "it" at the same time. Good service and friendly staff. In warmer times it is excellent to sit outside in the courtyard. Now (November) it offers a beautiful Beijing autumn setting.

Room Tip: I liked room number 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McSchuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    205
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
89
308
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Changchun, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

excellent hotel with local specialties, friendly staff, traditional room and beautiful courtyard!

you can also experience more local specialties nearby.

The staff are really friendly who will give you a lot useful travel information.

Location is ok which is quite near the subway station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Xinghu1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Courtyard 7 is a wonderful, relaxing hotel that offers a chance to experience the old charm of China. Each room has its own unique charm. Its location in the heart of the hutong makes it all the more fun to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DarwinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a visit to Beijing primarily to see the new National Museum of China ( we've been to Beijing several times before). This place is super quiet despite being off a hutong which bustles with activity, especially in the evening when many young people walk the streets to buy from the shops and the food stores. The hotel has a restaurant which is pricey by Chinese standards, but still not expensive, and dinner here was great and meant you didn't need to leave the hotel. There is a well priced laundry service available, although you need to pay for express service if you want your clothes back the same day. Quality of washing wasn't great, but better than my hand washing in the basin!
The hotel staff are delightful and helpful, particularly the front desk staff who came to the rescue when we had problems with our guide. And they provided a breakfast box when we had an early start on our last day. The hotel location is a bit of a walk from the nearest metro, but to avoid the walk you could get one of the plentiful buses.
Our room was probably not one of the better ones- the bed was pushed against the wall, so one person (me!) had to clamber down the bed to get out. But there is a desk which was good. No real hanging space or drawers. Ok on that front for a short stay but perhaps not longer. Other rooms I suspect might be bigger. The design of the hotel is very charming and traditional, with a series of courtyards, and I imagine in summer places to sit outside and relax.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank radicalseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights 7/8 October. very friendly and comfortable.Staff spoke perfect English greeting was very welcoming rooms super and clean would stay here again thanks to everyone at courtyard 7

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardrosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Small hotel in the heart of Beijing, simple and beautiful. The architecture of the hotel is enchanting, the rooms are decorated in Chinese style. The welcome is warm and friendly. Bathroom with shower and sauna as a bonus. Feeling of being in a countryside, far from the bustle of the city. The central location of the hotel allows you to discover Beijing as a whole. The metro station 15 minutes of walking. Breakfast is plentiful and varied also included, good choice. We have booked airport-hotel transfers and car rental with driver to go up to the Wall of China. Timeliness, efficiency and fair prices. In short, a good hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We loved Beijing, and this is in no small part due to our experience in Courtyard 7 and its superb location. A quiet hotel room is one of my stipulations and I had a sinking heart as we trundled our bags down the busy noisy alley towards the hotel, but we turned off into a haven of peace and solitude. Unbelievable! Pomegranate trees in the courtyard, sitting out areas and a lovely room with bed quite big enough for my 6' 4'' husband.
Very helpful info in room and staff were also excellent for advice, and extremely helpful with our train ticket crisis
Loved our morning walk down the, now quiet, alley to the tube to visit the sights, but also the local area itself had so much to see, do and experience. Our photos show a Beijing filled w trees and lanterns, flowers and lakes that friends that have visited but stayed in modern hotels hardly recognised.
Thank you Courtyard 7 and all the staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank difficultoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#30 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#24 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,068 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: NO. 7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#21 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#69 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing