We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #19 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were booked in Courtyard 7 for 4 nights. The location is interesting and not too difficult to find if you can read the map. However, ensure to have the address in Chinese before getting into a cab. All the cab drivers do not understand English. Be prepared to walk with your luggages for about 100 m if you were dropped off on the North side of the main street.

The room is spacious and clean. The breakfast is good however, the quantity is limited. If you are late for breakfast and they ran out of fresh fruits, they do not replace them. We have tried their restaurant for one night. Though at first glance, the menu was expensive, however, if you ordered the local dishes, they are actually reasonably priced and of generous portion. The waiting staff though friendly is not well trained and was too busy chatting with the kitchen staff. It took a while to get her attention. The staff at reception are very helpful and friendly. We would recommend Courtyard 7 as it has the essence of the old imperial China.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madaboutleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyard7, Manager at Courtyard 7, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
First of all, thank you very much for giving us such precious advice. And we are sorry for not offering you satisfactory service. We will take your advice and enhance our training to the staff. We welcome you to come back to our hotel again and we are sure we will provide better service for you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    222
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
98
337
56
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The excellent comments kindly provided by travellers on trip adviser led us to book 2 nights here in June. The location is excellent and the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff made our stay in this authentic Chinese accommodation with all mod cons a highlight to the end our holiday. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A quaint "hotel" nestled in the bustling alleys of inner Beijing.

The hotel is built within a fully restored Beijing noble men's home. You are transported back in time 200-300 years every time you return to the inn. Except that Courtyard 7 has most western conveniences: air conditioning. WiFi, blow dryers etc, plus a dedication to modernity as evidenced by their geo-thermal heating and hot water system.

It is an extremely quaint place. If you insist in plush carpeting and modern mattresses, go elsewhere. But if you want an "authentic" and special experience book it. Rooms come with a daily breakfast that is adequate for a quick start on the day.

Finally it is located within a block of dozens of bars, restaurants and heavily-touristed shops.

A final word: the staff is amazing. Friendly, accommodating and made us feel like we were a long lost familial relation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryTrumanMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olympic Peninsula
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Email communication concerning our two night stay reservation was prompt and efficient. Location was not difficult to find. From the beginning of our visit we were greeted and treated by smiling helpful faces. They were tolerant of our limited Mandarin and communication was at times halting, but always completed successfully.

The room was comfortable, although smaller than we are used to. However, the bathroom was excellent, especially the welcoming shower needed on the hot days of summer after hiking the hutongs.

Breakfast was included in our rate and made life much easier just to wake and stroll to the breakfast area for food and tea. It was a buffet including as you would expect, eggs, noodles, limited meat, soup, and great tea.

We would book again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sequimteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a really nice historic hotel, with clean rooms in a quiet alley in the heart of of a lively small store shopping district in NW Beijing. Great location to lots of restaurants and bars. The hotel had friendly staff, perfect for couples and even business travelers looking for reprieve from the higher end tower hotels. Despite other postings I found the service could be better for the price compared to what I would receive at a hostel. For example the staff offering to follow me out to the main road to flag down a taxi, translate and ensure I arrive at my destination were not offered. These are the types of services that I expect from a pricier hotel with more attentive service, particularly in China. Perhaps service has slipped a little and some communications were lost in translation. Otherwise the rating is correct.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoAgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Our first impression of courtyard 7 was amazing, pulling up in a bustling hutong lined with red lanterns to a historic building. We paid for airport pickup which was a good idea since it would have been hard to find. The hotel is set around a courtyard and feels so atmospheric, especially at night. The rooms were beautiful with a traditional bed (which was comfortable) and a large bathroom. My only critisism was that it was a very small bedroom with no hanging space or a wardrobe, if we had stayed longer than 3 days I think that would have been annoying. The staff very really lovely and so helpful, they all seemed to enjoy their jobs and be having a good time. The breakfast was fine, not gourmet but absolutely fine for setting you up for a days site seeing. The location is great in a really cool area of hutongs, with loads of unusual shops, restaurants and bars. Although it isn't the cheapest place.The hotel is 10 mins walk from nearest tube and 15mins on tube to the forbidden city.The finishing touches could perhaps be a bit slicker in the hotel, i.e. the actual courtyard could be made fancier. Having said this I couldn't think of a better place to come back to after a day wondering round Beijing's many historic sites. We would definitely stay again and it is great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are expecting "western" style luxury (i.e.: Four Seasons, Ritz or Shangri-La) this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, charming hutong experience than you should definitely book this property. This is a 800 year old hutong (residents of this area use to provide goods & services to the Imperial Family) that has been modernized to include hip local boutiques and western style bars + a Starbucks. Courtyard 7's staff are gracious and friendly and provide excellent service and hospitality. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vourot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#34 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing