We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very "Chinese" hotel”
Review of Citycourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citycourt Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,419 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Very nice hotel but also very difficult to find. Taxi drivers doesn't know the hutong (small alley) name, so you need to have a printed map of the hotel location.

As for the location - hotel located in ancient area (hutongs). The buildings here are from 500 years ago, so if you are looking for comfortable 5* hotel - stay away...

I will recommend to stay here for those, who want to feel the Chinese stile of life. This was my fifth visit to Beijing, previous four were for business purpose, so I stayed in business hotels - like kowloon, sheraton and others. This time I choose to be in the middle of Chinese life, and that was a great experience.

Bottom line - I will stay here again if I will visit Beijing in future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IgorKushnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 80 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

We booked 4 nights at Citycourt through a tour company called China Highlights. I was traveling with two girls, so a feeling of safety and security was certainly important. When we pulled off the main road towards the hotel (make sure the taxi takes you down with your luggage... it's about 300m down a one-way street) I had my doubts. But this place is like a diamond in the rough.
A welcoming staff and original setup/concept make this a great option if you're staying in Beijing and looking to save a few dollars on your hotel. Two courtyards (one covered, one not) and a small breakfast room are available for lounging (they have wi-fi, or you can use their computer for 10Y/hour), with the rooms lining the outside of both courtyards.
The rooms were basic, but cozy. The water was hot, the beds weren't as hard as we were used to in China, and the air con worked great. I was worried about the possibility of noise (the sound carries pretty good from the courtyards) but everyone seemed to be in bed by 10:30pm and no one was up before 8am (when breakfast was served). Scrambled eggs and toast are available in the mornings (it was free when booking with China Highlights but not the case with every group...) as well as coffee and tea (for a few yuan). Like I said, the hotel is about 300m from the main road (which has great shopping and cool cafes), but the one-way roads have some worthwhile spots -- like Mr. Shi's Dumplings -- and a few bars.
The subway is about a 15-20min walk (or a cheap taxi), as is a McDonald's. The staff at the hotel speak great English and are very helpful in finding anything -- if you find a place you'd like to go they'll write it down in Chinese for you to show a taxi!
A great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MattyT080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I wanted to like this place but I didn't. Very poor but with so much potential.

This courtyard hotel is in a brilliant location. Walking distance to two metro stops, in a suburb with lots of little alley ways to get lost in, and some very very cheap eating places around (hot steamed buns for 2 yuan).

But we just couldn't stand the smell. It was revolting. The smell of sewage coming from the bathroom made us both feel ill. On the third of four nights we asked to move rooms and they moved us into a fully renovated room in the front section. Why oh why they'd put people in the run down shacks in the back when the front courtyard with refurbished rooms was fully vacant I have no idea. In the rear rooms the paint is peeling, the heater in the room doesn't work so it's absolutely freezing, they use the centre of the courtyard to stack beer bottles, bits and bobs, and what have you so there is no desire (or room) to sit out and enjoy the place. Towels had gaping holes in them. And all night the two young girls played music so loud that we had to ask them at midnight to turn it down.

Couldn't recommend the place even if I wanted to.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrisbaneRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Good: *inside Beijing's inner ring road so easily accessible to main sites
*great bus service at end of hutong (alley/road to main road) *excellent aircon/heating as it's COLD in Beijing in November!
* feel very much part of 'local life'

Not so good: *located down a hutong and then an alley that is about 6 mins walk from main road & on the night we arrrived 3 different taxi drivers flatly refused to take us unless we paid between 4 and 10 times the usual cost; one we eventually found took us but got lost & had to ring hotel 3 times to find it.
* although it felt very safe I'm not sure if a woman travelling alone would feel OK along very dark streets at night
* I would describe it as a hostel rather than hotel
* Breakfast is always the same: scrambled egg, toast & very cheap coffee & we had to wait 30 mins & 70 mins on the two days we had it

On the whole if you want a cheap place to stay it's OK. Buses are only flatfare of 10p a ride anywhere & if you get a good map before you go it should have routes on. Didn't use underground but it's only 20p a ride. One bus ride to Forbidden City, walk through (north to south) and you come out at Tianamen Square & Mao's Mausoleum. Bus 124, check with staff who willingly tell you.
Very easy to get to airport by public transport: take bus 107 at main road to Dongzhimen station (terminus)(about 15 mins) for 10p and then train to airport for 25 yuen (£2.50).
Restaurants along hutong good, Mr Shi's Dumplings fantastic, 90p for 15 and small place by bus stop selling kind of stuffed pancake for 30p - delicious for breakfast and if you really need a western fix then McDonalds is within walking distance too.
Rooms have free internet access if you've got a laptop & will give you a LAN cable free, otherwise computer in main area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

The Citycourtyard Hotel is a great little place to stay if you want to see the real China. In other reviews, no one has mentioned an excellent place to have a beer and a meal. 7080chuanbar is very near the hotel, about 3 minutes walk. Come out of the hotel and turn left. Turn left at the next junction and it’s on the left a few yards from the corner. Beer is an unbelievable 3 Yuan, the going rate in other places is 10 to 15 Yuan. The guys who run it are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswiltonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 12, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Stayed here for 7 nights over 9 days this September with girlfriend, brother and cousin.

(When we stayed there it was about 10.80 Yuan to £1.)

I found this hotel to be a nice little place, but be prepared for the following:

Smells - The sewage in the area is poor as it is located in a local 'hutong' area, so flushing the toilet can be and is almost always a problem. It blocks, and sometimes overflows. I stayed in 3 different rooms, and the smell of sewage was in all 3 of the bathrooms.

Flies - The rooms have a little problem with flies as some of them have damp. They can be annoying but are pretty harmless.

Showers - Very poor, badly located in the bathrooms and not that comfortable to use especially with the makeshift 'wooden' flooring. One of my shower heads fell off and it also leaked quite badly.

Smokers - You are able to smoke in all of the rooms, so expect the whiff of cigarettes in the morning. Not very nice when your a non smoker.

Location - The location is ok, certainly not that of a 'City Centre' based place. As I have said, it is located in a local Hutong area and is great if like to live among the locals. This is quite cool, but can be quite annoying when you have to travel to other parts of the City, as you have to walk to main road and flag a taxi down which can be very difficult at times. This hotel is also about a 15 minute walk to the nearest tube station which is definitely a tiring walk! Local bar near by is the Owl Bar, 15 Yuan for a beer but do not expect much as local spit inside the bar on the floor and they have very bad seating and music. Cash point is about 10 minute walk, that's if it is working. Forbidden City is about 20 minute taxi ride away and will set you back 20-25 Yuan. Airport about 40 minutes away and will cost you 200 Yuan in a private car, not sure how much in a taxi. Best place to go for food and beer is a tourist lane not too far from the hotel. Turn right out of the hotel, take the first right and follow all the way to the main road. Cross the main road, and your there. On this lane, you have bars, restaurants, massage and many little bazaar and boutiques. Well worth a visit. There is also a lake about 15 minutes walk away. This has an area called bar street. It is exactly that. A street full of bars and restaurants, but expect to pay premium prices. One bar was charging £4 for a coke and £8.50 for a can Boddingtons!! Beer is between 10 and 40 Yuan per bottle so ask around for the best car prices! A nice area though, you can hire boats, drink eat and have fun, especially at night where the area comes to life!

The hotel books tours, and this is easily done at the reception with Rose. She is pretty good a speaking English and will sort everything for you. She can also book taxis, train tickets etc etc but will charge a 40 Yuan commission for train tickets. The tours range from about 200 Yuan to 360 Yuan depending on what you are doing. Good value for what you get to be honest.

The beer in the hotel costs 15 Yuan, soft drinks are 5 Yuan and breakfast is 28 Yuan for eggs on toast with jam and coffee, or 36 Yuan with added bacon and sausage. Please, stick to the eggs as the meat option is horrid!

Internet access in the hotel is 10 Yuan per hour, but if you just need it for a couple of minutes they wont charge you. Internet is about 6mb so pretty quick!

Check in is easy, the hotel is very small, only about 23 rooms so finding your way is not a problem. If you book at the hotel it will cost you 260 Yuan per night for a double room, so less than £26.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you like the local touch on a trip like this. Be prepared for very hard beds and tiny pillows, all of the above, add the odd mosquito, but also expect very friendly service, a unique stay in a quaint little area, quiet evenings in the courtyard which is fantastic with a beer or two, and that local feel, them local smells on your street in the mornings and that local look you get everytime you walk down the street!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#192 of 6,564 in Beijing
319 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#135 of 6,564 in Beijing
312 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#112 of 6,564 in Beijing
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,419 in Beijing
108 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Templeside Hutong Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citycourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citycourt Hotel

Address: No.14 Liulisi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,419 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $25 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citycourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citycourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing