We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent business hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Beijing Beichen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Ranked #21 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Noida, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had the oppurtunity to stay in this hotel on business trip from my company and stayed there over 2-weeks which gave me ample time to enjoy the services of this excellent hotel. It is located a bit far from main Beijing city but very close to tech-parrks where most of IT company offices are located and also just a walking distance from grand Olympic stadium (worth watching...). Also the underground train station is at walking distance if you want to explore the city or want to go to nearby tourist places.

I liked the design of this hotel, mainly the central grand lobby (really spectacular) and the swimming pool/club area was also good. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and even after staying there for 2 weeks, I am sure I might have missed some dishes :))

Also, there was Indian restaurant nearby hotel if someone want to enjoy indian food (they also deliver food on order at hotel reception). The rooms are also very luxurious and the staff/service was also excellent.

The front-desk was also co-operative is guiding me for any queries for sight-seeing (since most of taxi drivers in China don't understand english, so they will write address in Chinese and also let cab drivers also provide the directions...)

Overall, it was really a great relaxing stay after working hard at day-time...!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devinder_THAKUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comprehensive feedback about your recent stay. It is pleasing to know that our team was helpful during your stay. Many guests are impressed by our attentive services, elegent interior design, delicious cuisine and large rooms. For main sites in Beijing, we kindly suggest you to reach our professional Concierge team who are our local experts to help during your next stay. We look forward to be of assistance to you next time.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    283
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
49
47
77
463
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was there only one night, but i had time explore the hotel. Location is excellent, just beside the olympic Stadium Area. Lovely staff at the lounge, especially, i would like to recommended Sarah and Winnie. Thanks to David (F & B Director) as well, for taked time to talked and asked us about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Your feedback is appreciated greatly. You are right the hotel is strategically located, which facilitates our guests to access local attractions and majoy business districts. Many guests comment on the charming and memorable experience our team and the Club InterContinental provides to those customers that look for the little luxury and privileges of this premium service. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel itself is quite comfortable but very expensive for food and beer. To counter that there is a shopping mall 2 minutes walk away which has a bunch of restaurants and a supermarket in it. The area above and around the mall is incredibly busy at night with street artists and dancers - well worth checking out. There are even events on inside the mall sometimes - there was a fashion show on one night as I was wandering around.

Anyway back to the hotel - rooms are spacious and beds are huge and very comfortable. I didn't have an issue with the air con as others did - although it did have a habit of being switched off while i was out - but this is likely down to the turn-down staff that any mechanical fault. Having a room that doesn't overlook the olympic park helped - the sun doesnt hit that side directly so i didnt even need the aircon on at all until the outside temp hit 37 degrees. There is a cafetiere in the room so you can make some decent coffee - but i advise buying some fro m the supermarket - after used the single bag in the room it was not replenished.

Recommended for business - but a little far for the tourist areas

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlekSkilganon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback and we are pleased to learn that our hotel made a difference to your stay experience when traveling in Beijing. Being in the center of the Olympic Business District provides indeed a lot of conveniences and comfortable ambiance as you mentioned. For tourist attractions the hotel is located close to many sites, including Summer Palace, the Great Wall Ba Da Ling and adjacent to the Water Cube and Bird's Nest. We kindly suggest that you consult with our Concierge for more during next stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental for three nights to celebrate my 50th birthday. Everything about the experience was amazing, from the friendly staff when we arrived at 1:50 am after a flight delay from Hong Kong, to the birthday cake and panda bear gift! The staff at the restaurant were fantastic, friendly and considerate. Our magnificent room (suite) had views of the Watercube and the Birdnest, which made my architect husband very happy. We enjoyed a swim in the fitness centre on our last morning and had a lovely late checkout which meant we never felt rushed. Thank you Intercontinental for making my birthday the best birthday ever. We are so happy to recommend your hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated and it is pleasing and a great hornor to be able to deliver you a memberable experience for your birthday. InterContinental Beijing Beichen is more than an accomodation, which makes our guests feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Distribution Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a good hotel in terms of property. However there are some drawback in terms of quality.
Hotel is located next to the National Stadium area. It is a rather open space but nothing much around this area in walking distance.
Restaurant standard particularly the cafe has been dropped a lot. It is no longer a quality restaurant although it was not best before. I didn't try any other outlets like the Chinese that I am aware of.
Room is good, water pressure is great. Bed is comfy but aircondition seem to be a problem. particularly in the hot summer. Hotel keep their aircon in room off before check in. After get in to the room will take around an hour to have the room a bit cool down. Lighting in the room is a bit too dim, i prefer to have a bit more light.
Good "Bose" sound system in room but seem to be messed up. I could not control it eventually i just give it up since i am there just 3 nights. I can live without it.
Front office staffs are nice and professional while i had an incident with a concierge/Bell boy over an umbrella issue. It was raining outside and we are 3 persons group in 3 rooms. When we asked him for an umbrella and his attitude in reply is just ridiculous. Sound like we are begging for the umbrella and committed the most serious sins. I really didn't expect this from Intercontinental standard. I raised this concerns to manger and they have apologised for it and sent me a bottle of wine and fruit basket as a token. I hope this is just a single incident for such.
More training to the staffs and chefs in the cafe is definitely needed since they are running like a working behind the buffet counter and interact with guests directly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VolVic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for choosing InterContinental Beijing Beichen and for your comprehensive feedbacks. We have taken note of your concerns. We do apologize for the inconsistency in the service delivery and will take the necessary steps to improve our service consistency. We are very concerned about your experience in the room and will pay more attention to the Engineering, Concierge and Housekeeping service delivery. Again we do apologize and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
196 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was back on a stopover from a trip to Europe. Needed an overnight stay due to domestic flight scheduled for the next day. There could be no flaw attached to location as what one wants the other prefers not; in general a good location to walk-around with the landmarks of Beijing Olympics around. Rooms were perfect with a view of the Cube and the Nest. From the entry to the hotel until I was put in the room, there were staff at each stage, each of them making the guest at ease, either helping them on checkin, getting the luggage to the room, giving some details, etc...evening buffet dinner at the restaurant downstairs, I need to mention a few persons here...Perry, He would make u comfortable and guiding you through the cuisines, ever smiling Nicole and Doris ready with their graceful service as required. One of the cooks there was very good in guiding u through the dishes and the lobster, crazy fish, organic food, Indian cuisine.....excellent. Ofcourse, as there were previous reviews pointing towards the price, I would recommend a better pricing that could be in the 280 to 300 rmb region, but as I said, the dishes offered were enormous, cuisines excellent and it is just a balance that is required. Lounge happy hour was a bland one though the staff there were very cordial. Swimming pool was good, fitness center had good staff and equipment. Concierges were great and good guides. Very fast in putting you through. I had an upgrade to the 16th floor where I had a good view of the Olympic landmarks....buildings inbetween sure spoil the full view but that is not a hotel's issue. Cleanliness of rooms were worth noticing, so were good toiletries. As usual intercontinental bed and pillows were soft and good. In all I well recommend this property to anyone on business, leisure, family visits, etc. Even there is a subway station a little away from the hotel.....appreciate the good staff there...will stay again sure when opportunities arise.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the Cube and Nest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAS1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated and I thank you for taking the time to write. We are delighted to hear that our team was very helpful and delivered a memorable experience during your stay. And we thanks for your suggestions on buffet price, which is already shared with hotel management team and we will take further actions if neccessary. We will be thrilled to welcome you back soon.


Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

As many modern and busy cities in China, the capital is packed with many amazing architectures. Staying in this hotel, you could overlook the famous "bird nest" and "water cube" from 2008's Beijing Olympic Game. The hotel is quite well maintained and carefully designed with some best infrastructures among the Intercontinental hotels that I have been. The room is spacious, the bed is very comfortable. The night view of water cube through the floor-to-ceiling room window is a magic! The breakfast buffet has a broad selections of eastern and western foods, but could be really crowded when it's peak hours.

The only downside is the service. I enjoyed the conversations with the staffs from the concierge and the front desk. They were very nice and tried hard to help.However, the servers in the restaurants may never talk to you if you did't stop them. The chefs in the buffet room do not seem to bother to help the customers waiting in the line but have a loud chat for 10 minutes.

In terms of location, due to my business meeting, it has not been an issue for me. However, if you are in Beijing for sightseeing, the location is a bit off the center. It will take 15-mins taxi to get to all major sightseeing sites except Olympic park.

Room Tip: Get a room with the views of Olympic Park. It felt amazing during the nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalBC, Manager at InterContinental Beijing Beichen, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for posting comprehensive feedback with us. Many guests comment on the charming infrastructure, amazing guestroom and magnificent night view. We do apologize for the inconsistency in the service delivery at our restaurant and will take the necessary steps to improve the area you pointed out. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Distribution Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,445 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,445 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,445 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#15 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Beijing Beichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Beijing Beichen

Property: InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Address: Building4 No.8 Yard, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100105, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Olympic Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#19 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#34 Business Hotel in Beijing
#49 Family Hotel in Beijing
#56 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#158 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Beijing Beichen 5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Beijing Beichen is conveniently interconnected with the China National Convention Center (CNCC), one of Asia’s largest convention center. Beijing International Convention Centre (BICC), the Olympic Forest Park, National Olympic Stadium and China National Tennis Center are all within walking distance from the hotel while the business centers of Zhongguancun Science & Technology Park, Shangdi Hi-tech Zone, Wangjing, Tsinghua University and Peking University can be reached in a short drive. The hotel is only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and 25 minutes from CBD. The hotel combines sophisticated meeting infrastructure, restaurants & lounges and relaxation options with comfortable and spacious rooms to perfectly cover the needs of international and local meeting & exhibition delegates (MICE) and business travelers. Easy access to Beijing’s historical sightseeing spots, such as the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Great Wall and the Summer Palace, as well as the amazing view of the blue Water Cube, make it a preferred venue to combine business and leisure. Galaxy Hall offers one-stop exclusive customized service including meeting, dining and recreations. With all over 350sqm, it has a capacity of more than 100 participants, immersing themselves in the tour of each professional field, together with the panoramic Olympic view through french window. Recreation room provides attendees with upscale KTV equipment, 75 inches home theatres to fully relax mind and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Beijing Beichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beijing Beichen Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing