We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for university visitor, reasonable room rate, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Ranked #171 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location for university visitor, reasonable room rate, good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Locate 5 minutes far from subway station "SuZhujie", nearby huge shopping mall with many food court, 3 station far from Beijing University and ChingHua University. Room and facilities are overall clean and neat, staff with well-trained even they don't speak good English. Cons: Bit noisy due to huge window, just next to highway / Pros: Good view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 림비즈
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon .



Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    37
    4
    8
See reviews for
33
17
5
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A comedy of errors at this large business-style hotel in Beijing's university district and about 10 mins by taxi from the Summer Palace.

Our first room was of a good size with a large bathroom and bathtub that, sadly, refused to drain. Since we were staying a few days we asked to change room. Not a problem, they said in halting English. We packed and locked our bags and left them downstairs as we went out for the day.

When we got back it seemed like they hadn't organised a room for us. Not a problem, we were assured, we have one now and so up we went. Only, someone else was still living in it, as evidenced by their luggage, toothbrush and shopping. They chivvied us out into the hallway and another room was found ... this time, with a mirror in place of a window. The heating was so hot we needed to have one open even though the pollution outside was woeful.

They gave up it seems and upgraded us to one of the loft rooms, which was fine expcet for the part where the bedroom is designed as a sauna. Given our journey here, we accepted this and enjoyed the rest of our stay here.

Room Tip: The 'loft' style rooms are infernos in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jctomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I elected to stay in one of the Loft Suite rooms and got a really good price for an apartment-sized room (King-sized bed) with 2 bathrooms - 1 with a rain shower and the other with a designer bathtub. The hotel is 4 years old and very shiny and new-looking - the loft suites are fantastic for the price but I do wish they'd put in a microwave. Other than that I'd stay here again in a second especially with the handy free wireless and good work desk area.

The viva area does include self-catering equipment (hob, rice cooker, microwave and all mod cons) but is only available to guests who stay longer than a week, other than that you have to pay per use. I did use the gym a couple of times and its great with lots of shiny equipment that doesn't seem to see much use, but the transparent steps leading up from the pool area do look quite dicey if they get wet (hopefully nobody goes from pool to gym without drying off).

The hotel is very close to Suzhou street subway station (5-10min walk) and I usually ended up asking taxi drivers to go there as none of them had ever heard of the hotel and could never figure out the address even when I had the famous maternity hospital next to the hotel written down as a landmark. I speak some Chinese and had no trouble with most other places but usually ended up calling the hotel to navigate my driver there as they seemed to need very detailed instructions (like take this road, turn left there and look for the maternity hospital etc).

Room Tip: Go for the loft suites on the Executive floors unless you have a problem with spiral stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to posting your comments. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

For your mentioned about hard to find by Taxi issues, we will consider to take some measures to solve this problem seriously.

At last, thank you again to stay with us, and looking forward to welcome you back on your next Beijing trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Huge room with plenty of window. Free internet and lovely breakfast. It was nice that the 2 level room had a bathroom both upstairs and down as the stairs where abit steep. A nice clean room and good amenities, however the bed was a little bit hard. Staff tried to be very helpful but did not speak much English, this was not really a problem thou. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra_j_leong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us .We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed 6 days in this hotel. It's fairly new, big and clean, and very friendly. Also located close to CBD, so quite convenient to other destination points of interest. Food is very palatable to western taste buds,, free internet access, and all other modern amenities including a gym.. There was no sign of a swimming pool, nor did I look.. The bathroom design was a wee bit odd. Overall, still very good.

Room Tip: same every where, the hotel being a rounded building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yun chin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having taken the time to posting your comments.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

stayed for 3 nights april 2012, loved it, the 2 level loft suite was great, much better than a standard hotel room. Had huge electric curtains for the huge window. Internet connection ok, large free-standing bath was soothing, had a view of the mountains from my room. The size was very comfortable, had no problems with the shower water temps and never saw any mould etc, our room was spotless clean and smoke free. However only 2 single beds and sofa. My 11yo girl slept with her mum comfortably so we had no problems. The pool was fun ( pack your own caps), and relaxing, as was sauna and steam room ( mens + womens seperate). There is no spa bath , just high priced massage. The gym looked good. You can get fantastic huge 5 yuan egg and bacon rolls near the flower shop in suzhou st (2 min walk), or walk west one block to Wanliu shopping centre for very cheap and great food court(7 yuan japanese deserts)yum, let them soften for 20 min b4 eat. Right across the road about 200m is suzhoujie subway station( line 10). Subway is only 2 yuan to travel as far as you want in beijing, and fast, trains are every few mins. Will definately stay here next time I come.

Room Tip: I fell asleep on the sofa a few times, its comfortable enough to sleep on. AS the loft rooms only ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time posting your comments at Ariva Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel itself is better than expected given its star ratings (comparing to other similar hotels in China in particular). The room is spacious, and the style of the room is quite unique, which is great if you need to use it as office sometimes like I do. The stair case is cool initially, but it became inconvenient later on when you need to walk up and down 5-10 times a day. But other than that, everything was good. Clean room, nice gym and swimming pool, 5 min walk from the nearest train station (except the train station itself is too far, like the 2nd to last stop in line 10).

However, there is a terrible drawback for this hotel, the internet speed is aweful. I can barely check emails in the evenings (when all guests are back to hotel I suppose). This is very disappointing given the standard of the hotel. I am sure it will not cost them a lot to improve this, and I am wondering why their management did not do something about this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtai010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments. We are very delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned about the internet issue, we will report to our management to make an improvement to try to solve it soon.

At last, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Yuanda Road
Four Points by Sheraton Beijing, Haidian Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#57 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wudaokou
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#178 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Zhongguancun
Xihua Hotel
Xihua Hotel
#838 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment

Property: ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Address: No.36 Haidian South Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100080, China
Location: China > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#77 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#133 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Beijiing West is a new and chic 317 room hotel and serviced apartment located in the heart of Zhongguancun Science Park. Ideal for both business and leisure traverlers, it is 30 minutes drive from Tiananmen Square and 40 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Beijing West Hotel And Serviced Apartment
Beijing Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing