We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
240
268
53
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
268
53
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripconference hotelsubway stationnice hoteldecent breakfastrooms are spaciousvery comfortable staycomfy bedthe executive loungehotel managementclose to the airportf bchinese foodmin walkupgraded to a suitestayed for nightsgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 573 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I recently had the pleasure to stay at this Crowne Plaza in Beijing. The room was great and the staff is helpful and friendly. If you are working in the northern part of Beijing and/or want to have easy access to the airport this is a great place to stay. I am headed back there very soon, and I am glad I am staying here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Gregory,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace while you are in Beijing. It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and is content with our location, gurst rooms and staff service.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here on business and found this hotel to be quite adequate for our purposes. CPSP was completed in 2008 to support the Olympics so it is relatively new. The staff is friendly, eager to assist you, however, some language barriers do exist as English can be tenuous by some, so be sure to learn basic phrases before your visit - which one should do anyway. If you need anything, visit with Concierge. Chief Concierge Winnie Su is excellent at coordinating logistics and recommendations. She assisted me on several occasions for both small and larger scoped tasks. She also has a decent command of the English language. Housekeeping was excellent. One day I did not leave the room until 3pm, returned at 9pm to find a clean room This does not always occur in US hotels, even 5 star luxury. CPSp is located in NE Beijing, approx 30-40 min cab ride from Forbidden City, 15-30 min form China National Convention Center/Olympic Park, and 15 min to Sanlitun Village Shopping Plaza, an hour fro Great Wall Mutianyu, all depending upon traffic. We never had trouble getting a cab and always carried the hotel's business card as not all cab drivers know whee everything is. Wi Fi was easy to connect to. Hotel food is average to very good with some exotic offerings in the upper level restaurants. This hotel caters to a lot of business travelers, Asian tourists and airline staff. Breakfast buffet was diverse and international. No Fee currency exchange is available at Front Desk with a $200 max per room per day. Parkson, a mid to high end luxury brand departent store is next door. If you need any cosmetics, they carry a great array of and numerous prestige lines (Chanel, Sisley, Givenchy, Clarins..) and Western brands (Tumi, Samsonite, Ecco, dansko, Hermes, Ports) so this is convenient if you need anything on the fly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMHO X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear IMHO X,

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace. And thank you so much for taking your time to share with us your wonderful experience.

We are glad to know that our staff service, location and restaurants helped making your visit enjoyable. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope we can exceed over and beyond our guest expectations.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I am sure that this hotel was one of the best in the town at one time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean, The bed was large and comfortable. Well fitted out with free wifi and several English TV stations for the 3:00 AM jet lag nights!! The woodwork in the room was showing its age as was the carpet which could do with renewing.
The restaurants are quite good and reasonably priced, not that I am an expert on Chinese food. The only disadvantage that I found is that it is out of the way and there does not seem to be much of interest within walking distance.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klopstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza S, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Klopstock,

Thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace. We are so glad to hear that you satisfied with our hotel and gave praise to our staff service and facilities.

Please be advised that there is a new lifestyle shopping centre behind the hotel opening in two months and more than 20 restaurant including Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Thai, Western and Starbucks will be available. We believe the opening of the mall will provide more excitement and new adventures to all the guests.

We hope we will welcome you back in the near future.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Large and clean rooms with an excellent bath room.
Helpful staff; they're always ready to be at service.
The restaurants in the hotel are not so recommendable; I have tried them a couple of times during multiple stays.
Issue with this hotel is it's location; 10 minutes away from a train stop is bit long and might not get you where you need to be. Getting away from the hotel by taxi is not always easy because they are sometimes just not available because of the somewhat remote location.
Other than that if you need to stay in this North area of Beijing this hotel offers a good stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the higher floors only; all good rooms at floor 20 up. The back of the hotel is quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza S, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear hans_hasselbach,

Thank you for staying with us and we are delighted to know that our staff service and hotel room made your stay experience memorable.

We are located by the third ring road and close to the CIEC, CNCC and Yansha Commercial Area. We have two subways and two bus stations within walking distance and shuttle bus is available for in-house guests to ease the traffic challenge. Please feel free to contact our Concierge if you need anything or when the drivers could not locate the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very comfortable spacious and clean rooms.
Breakfast offers a wide choice of food.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is close to a subway station (10 minutes walk) but a bit out-of-the-way and not very well known by taxi drivers.

Oppsite the hotel is a Costa Coffee and a Parkson Department store with a supermarket in the basemant floor ( open until 22.00 ).

Unfortunately no restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza S, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear soulvacationer,

Thank you for staying with Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and taking your time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that our hotel room, breakfast and staff service made your stay comfortable.

Please be advised that there is a new lifestyle shopping centre behind the hotel opening in two months and more than 20 restaurant including Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Thai, Western and Starbucks will be available. We believe the opening of the mall will provide more excitement and new adventures to all the guests.

Hope we could welcome come you back soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews