We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel in business area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Ranked #67 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
oslo
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Business hotel in business area”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because of a conference organised there - it is always convenient to stay at the conference hotel.
The rooms were high standard business rooms, lots of space, nice bathroom, free internet, clean, comfortable. Water boiler and mini bar. Multi cultural breakfast buffet - something for everyone.
Friendly and helpful staff - good service
Limited selection of TV channels, and slow internet connection.
If you´re in the area for business, there were shuttle busses to the main business areas, and I guess this is as good a hotel as any. I didn´t try them.
If you plan to organize a conference – look somewhere else. The main meeting room lacked air-condition (or it didn´t work). The coffee breaks was organised with one (!) standard coffee machine – making two cups of coffee at a time. And only coffee at dedicated times. Not ideal with 150 conference participants.
If you come as a tourist - this hotel is far from the Forbidden city / Tiananmen square - it will take you 45 minutes and two subways to get there (subway #10 and #1). You can take a taxi to go anywhere, but don´t count on finding one to go back. So tourist should probably look for a hotel east of the Forbidden city rather than this one.
I will not stay at this hotel next time I´m in Beijing – because of the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docadhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia_cui, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that our high standard product and service apparently met your expectations. We regret that you found our TV channel selection limited, as we try to accommodate multiple languages, plus a multitude of domestic Chinese channels. There are also the other areas which we would like to investigate further. Unfortunately your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. If you could reach out to us via email at info@cpsunpalace.cn we can follow up on your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    250
    49
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
23
24
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in Oct 2012. Room was quite large, very modern and clean. King size bed was very comfortable. Internet access was fast. No real complaints. Only downside would be the location. Not great if you are a tourist. I did do the hotel tour to the Ming Tombs and Great Wall (Badaling section) and have to say it was very good value for money. Cost was RMB450 per person and was an all day excursion including lunch and entry into the the attractions.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia_cui, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I want to thank you for giving us your positive feedback. We are pleased you had a comfortable stay and consider us very good value for money. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Excellent and recently built hotel, professionally managed, and well equipped. Has good facilities for large meetings, and staff is friendly and helpful.
This hotel is a great place to stay when doing business in Beijing.
It is located along the 3rd ring, and nearby a train station, providing good connections to your destination.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castewil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia_cui, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Your very positive feedback is certainly appreciated. It is our pleasure to be of service and our staff really enjoy taking care of our guests to ensure they have a hassle-free stay, especially when they are here on business and/or meetings. We look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed in this Beijing Sun Palance many times during the last two years. Location is an issue, always have a hard time getting a cab in the moring before 10am, restaurants are average, and not much around that can be explored. However, I keep coming back because they have a great teams who greet guests from check in (they recongnize the guest by greeting them with their names !), they provide attentive services such as having special pillows in my room, they provide informative advices when being asked how to get around.... Actually the team makes the difference.

Room Tip: Rooms on the West have a better view but facing hte freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia_cui, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your positive stay experience with us. We are indeed glad you found our attentive services and great team to be reason for you to keep coming back in spite of the location. While it is true that getting a taxi is difficult in the morning, in reality it is regrettably the same everywhere else in Beijing during peak morning hours. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Wanted to try another Crowne Plaza while in Beijing as I had an extra day and wanted to see a different area of Beijing than my usual stop. The staff was very helpful and friendly and spoke English well. The rooms were large comfortable and clean. Very nice modern place to stay. Not much around the hotel, there is a shopping mall if you need something. It was a 30 minute cab ride to the Forbidden City. If I needed to be in this area of Beijing again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia_cui, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Beijing and for the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Beijing Sun Palace is a nice, modern hotel on the northeast corner of the third ring road. It is not especially near anything, though was located near the work site we were visiting. The staff all spoke some English, and were very helpful. The buffet dinner was extensive, though perhaps a bit expensive and virtually indistinguishable from the buffet breakfast. Bar drinks are very expensive. Easy access to the airport too, as it is near the airport expressway. Comfortable bed, great bathrooms. Getting downtown, either by cab or subway, is a bit of a hassle. (And we always got caught in the horrendous Beijing traffic!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkpkrdvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia_cui, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Beijing and for the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed in various places around China ... this was at the upper end of quality but at the top in terms of price per night.

Rooms are large and very comfortable: nice bed, good desk, great bathroom and shower. Best of all: free wireless. Staff are courteous and many speak some English, but since its a large hotel I still find it a bit impersonal. For this, I prefer some of the smaller Beijing courtyard hotels which I have also reviewed.

Location is a bit out of the way. Getting a taxi out of the hotel is fine. Getting one back can be difficult since many taxis either (a) don't like taking Westerners or (b) like to stay closer to the city centre. However there is a subway stop a 7-min walk away so that was usually my route back.

Breakfast: very nice selection, but again you will pay for it (I think it was 180 RMB = about 30 USD)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-OWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia_cui, Quality Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Beijing and for the time to share your experience. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#50 of 6,520 in Beijing
271 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Bohao Radegast Hotel Beijing
Bohao Radegast Hotel Beijing
#193 of 6,520 in Beijing
192 reviews
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#70 of 6,520 in Beijing
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Property: Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Address: Yunnan Dasha, Northeast Corner of Taiyanggong Bridge, Xibahe, Northeast 3rd Ring Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100028, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > China International Exhibition Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#50 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#59 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#117 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace is located in Taiyanggong area, close to China International Exhibition Centre, China National Convention Centre, Yansha and Wangjing Commercial Areas. Taking the high speed way to the Great Wall only takes an-hour drive. Yonghe Lama Temple, Olympic Green, Sanlitun and 798 Art Zone is also nearby. Get into Beijing Capital Airport, only 25 minutes driving distance from the hotel or walk to metro line 10 and line 13 within 10 minutes. Aegean mall next door provide you convenient options of shopping and entertainment. The 25-storey landmark tower features 515 well designed and spacious rooms and suites with panoramic view of the city. The hotel stands out with its comprehensive facilities consisting of 2 ballrooms, 1 outdoor marquee and 13 multiple function rooms, catering to all sizes of meetings, conferences and social events.The hotel also combines with a choice of innovative restaurants and bars. Award-winning Rainbow Restaurant offers a range of unique Yunnan flavors. Master Chef Kong in JUN Restaurant uses the freshest ingredients from Yunnan to create his unique style of healthy Cantonese cuisine. The Market Restaurant selects the best ingredients and tempts wonderful taste, with a healthy twist of modern ideas in every dish. Level One Bar serves over 20 kinds of imported beers with homemade burgers to create the perfectly evening.Take a dip in the F6 indoor swimming pool or work out in the modern gym, as part of your relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Beijing Hotel Beijing
Crowne Plaza Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing