We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel but a bit far from the action.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Ranked #38 of 6,243 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but a bit far from the action.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour group. It's excellent (great rooms, great service, awesome breakfasts) but a bit out of the way. It's difficult to get anywhere in Beijing on your own. Often the ca drivers don't even want to drive you anywhere (and others don't want to drive from the city center back to the hotel.)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Stanfordian,
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing! The team and I are delighted to know that our services met and exceeded your expectations. Kindly be informed that getting a Taxi in Beijing is a challenge. We have addressed this issue to the Beijing Municipality as well as to the Tourism Board. We are working closely with the authority to overcome the challenge and resolve it. Beijing municipality is investing and extending the metro network, including a line with a station in front of our hotel. The construction work should be completed within the next 6 to 9 months.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the not distant future.
Kind regards
Stefan Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    562
    125
    26
    16
See reviews for
188
304
105
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at this hotel as part of a tour group. We were very unhappy with everything about this hotel. The first room we were allocated was a front corner room with 2 windows. Both the windows had been left wide open and we managed to close one but the one facing the main road could not be closed. We wanted to close it to block out the traffic noise. Every surface in the room was covered in a very thick layer of dust and grit because the windows were left open. There were also lots of things missing from this room - fridge was empty, side table missing are a couple of things. We called our tour guide and asked to ask for a room change. He called reception and requested this for us but we had to wait for one of the cleaning staff to come and look (she did not understand us) then one of the repair staff arrived to have a look. He managed to close the window but we did not want to stay in such a filthy room. We called our poor tour guide again and he managed to get the message through that we wanted to move. Eventually we were called to move rooms. The second room was much better (the window had been sealed shut with silicone) and was free of dust at least, but the bathroom was not very clean.
The next problem was at breakfast the next morning. We had an early start so were in the breakfast room by 7.30 and were not impressed that there were no tables available. We had to sit in the bar area. It was extremely busy in the restaurant and we had great difficulty finding something to eat - there was a long queue at the egg station and there was no bread in the toast making area, no pastries, no fruit, no fruit juice, no pancakes. Managed to find a bowl of cereal but that was it. Nobody was serving tea or coffee - we had to go to where the tea and coffee pots were and help ourselves. Also had to help ourselves to cutlery for the table and there were no serviettes. This situation was repeated on the second morning and when I asked a man in a suit who seemed to be in charge, was there any bread for toast, his reply to me was 'we have 700 people to feed'! He then walked off! I was amazed at his lack of care and attitude. Don't book so many people into the hotel if you can't feed them.
After we all complained about the lack of breakfast to our tour guide he spoke to someone on the reception desk and suggested that they increase the amount of food provided at the times when the times when the tour groups are all in the restaurant - the hotel knew what time we would all be there because we all received wake up calls. What did they think we were all going to eat?
I must admit that breakfast on the third morning was better - the message must have finally got through.
There was no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby and there was not enough seating for all the people on their computers to sit comfortably.
Would certainly not recommend this hotel and will certainly never go there again. I hope the 'man in the suit' improves his attitude to the hotel guests also.
The airconditioning was also not efficient - don't think the filters had ever been cleaned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjcvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear rjvictoria,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience during your recent stay with us. I sincere apologize that we were not able to meet your expectation. I have investigated the shortfalls with the various departments and there is no excuse why we could not have done better. The room should have not been released do to the windows were not able to close. We have missed the opportunity to open our Sui Yuan restaurant for breakfast as well to cope with the traffic in the early morning last week. Our team has taken the corrective measures to avoid an occurrence in the future. In general we get pleasant comments from our guests about our breakfast, especially variety & quality of food and friendly service.
I had a lengthy meeting with the concerned department heads in how we can avoid issue like this in the future and we have placed measures in place to avoid a similar situation in the future.
Ms Rjvictoria, once again I do apologize that we were not able to show you our usual DoubleTree caring service. However, only with comments from our guests we are able to improve our services on offer. The team and I hope you will give us another opportunity and experience our hotel that we are able to demonstrate to you our usual service standards. If I can be of any assistance with your reservation please do not hesitate to contact me personally at stefan.schmid@hilton.com.
Best Regards
Stefan Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is pretty decent for business and recreational travelers. The rooms are very comfortable, and a range of bathroom toiletries are provided for guest convenience. The front desk and restaurant staff all speak pretty good English, and the hotel has many English channels on TV, including HBO. Alll amenities that you would expect in a big city hotel are there... taxis and limos right outside the front door, tour arrangements, and baggage storage; and in the room an adjustable AC, bathrobe and slippers, coffee / tea maker, safe, and best of all a vigorous shower. Electric outlets are all configured to accept plugs of every configuration, so an adapter is probably not necessary. the power is 220. The hotel is located next to a Bank of China for ATM access since many other ATMs do not work with foreign credit and debit cards. It is also right next to a 3 floor mall but this mall only accepts cash or locally issued credit cards. There is a pretty good Chinese restaurant on the 4th floor with an upscale menu. My only complaint about this hotel is that the walls are paper thin,and i could clearly hear the details of the conversation of the people in the next room. to balance than one drawback, i have to give them two thumbs up for their great breakfast and the free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafayolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear kafayolay,
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing! The team and I are delighted to know that you love our hotel. Glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay and our staffs made it a memorable one.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the not distant future.
Kind Regards
Stefan Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

usually i stay hilton wangfujing, but for location reason i stay double tree this time.

from all the pics online it looks decent, and in fact the hardware is acceptable as a hilton double tree hotel.

but the service.... wow!!!! it seems to me that i was in a 2/3 star chinese hotel. i felt so un-welcomed in general.... (considering it's a hilton!). zero smile in check-in and check-out. concierge is terrible. i mean terrible. they are absolutely helpless in simple stuff like getting a taxi.

but be fair staff in the executive lounge are more friendly.

i see it as a management problem.

that's it. once and enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ooppppps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear ooppppps,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your experience during your stay in our hotel. I do apologize that we were not able to meet your expectation. I appreciate if you could share with me more details about the service you have experienced at the front office and concierge. My personal email address is stefan.schmid@hilton.com and I am grateful for more information in order to avoid a reoccurrence.
Once again I sincere apologize for the service shortfall and looking forward for more detailed information.
Kind regards
Stefan Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms are comfortable and breakfast was good. There is high quality Precor equipment in the exercise room. The hotel little way from the sights but Beijing is so big its impossible to near everything you might want to see. Taxis are easy to get, they now can call them using an app if there isn't one waiting - in 5 days I never waited more than 5 mins. For the slightly adventurous a bus ride to the subway is fairly easy. I enjoyed wandering the streets, supermarkets and restaurants around the hotel to see an different slice of middle class Beijing life.

Room Tip: An upper floor gives a good view across Beijing and is a little further from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Keith J,
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing! The team and I are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our services on offer during your stay in Beijing. I am glad that you have explored the hotel surrounding area as interacting with the locals is an experience even with the language challenge.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the not distant future.
Kind regards
Stefan Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were there on the last leg of our Princess Cruise. Anyone who doesn't take Princess up on their connection packages is crazy. We travel a lot. And Princess always puts us up at a very nice hotel, with transfers for a few bucks more than figuring it out yourself. But enough about Princess.

The hotel is beautiful, clean, sharp marble in the lobby. English spoken by all staff we encountered. And in Beijing that's saying something.

The room was beautiful clean and modern. It was late afternoon when we arrived after being on a tour all day. when we got into the room it must have been 90 degrees, no kidding. And we couldn't figure out the air conditioning. Within minutes the bell boy was bringing up the bags and turned on glorious air! And also told up the bottled water was complimentary. We had a view to the west (that's why It was so hot) from the 16th floor, looking to a very small park below and a mall across a courtyard. My husband went out to buy bottle of coke and beer, and the mini market was within a block. We'd had a huge lunch and really didn't care about dinner. But about 9 we wanted a snack and went to the McDonalds across the street (not proud about this) and had probably the best spicy chicken sandwich ever, really.

We had to be up at 4:30 AM for our 8:30 AM flight back to Los Angeles. The airport is about an hour away. We had a really nice bagged breakfast waiting for us at checkout. Fruit, juice, 2 pastries, bottled water and a sandwich.

There were many amenities in the bath room. Toothbrush, paste, combs, q-tips and all the usual stuff. Oh, and one of the best was all the TV channels in English! HBO, CNN, ESPN etc. As well as drinks in the lobby. But I wasn't able to access the internet as others have mentioned.

The hotel is In a business district, so not much to see around the area, at least where we were. But I'd stay here again with no hesitation. And if you're cruise travelers, go with the Princess layovers, you can't beat the prices and the transfers. Perhaps the Princess groups overtake the breakfast buffet as some reviews complain that there is a wait to eat. We've noticed that at other hotels Princess has used. Such was our experience in Santiago, Chile.

Beijing itself was a big surprise for us. We never expected such a clean, cultural place.

Room Tip: The view rooms to the west can be really hot, even on a nice day. But the windows open and the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAwinediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear CAwinediva,
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Beijing! Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you and your husband have enjoyed the trip and were satisfied with our services on offer. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the not distant future.
Kind regards
Stefan Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotel was full!! to take breakfast you have to make a line for at least 15 minutes then they assigned a table. Don´t go for your food.. some one will take your place. NO WI FI in the room!!. To take an elevator to your room in the morning or at night... Be patient. there is so many people that with lucky, you will have to wait some good minutes and then, we you catch a elevator.. it will be FULL and stopping every floor Conclusion: TO expensive to the inconvenience you will go through. I think that this hotel is Tourism agencies Owned!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite! Normal rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Pablo R,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience during your stay with us. I do apologize that we were not able to meet your expectation.
I sincere apologize that we have not exceeded your expectation during your stay. I have shared your comment with our culinary & service team. We have missed the opportunity to open our Sui Yuan restaurant for breakfast as well to cope with the traffic in the early morning. Our team has taken the corrective measures to avoid an occurrence in the future. In general we get pleasant comments from our guests about our breakfast, especially variety & quality of food and friendly service. We are currently in the final process to gather all the information for the WIFI in our guest rooms and planning the installation for the second half in 2013. Only with your valuable feedback positive or negative we are able to improve our services on offer.
The team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel or any other DoubleTree by Hilton or Hilton Hotel in the world.
Best regards,
Stefan Schmid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,243 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,243 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#44 of 6,243 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#52 of 6,243 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 6,243 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Beijing

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Address: No.168 Guang_anmen Wai Main Street, Xicheng District | Only 85 meters away from Da Guan Ying station of Subway Line No.7, Beijing, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing West Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#31 Family Hotel in Beijing
#35 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#40 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#41 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing is the very first upscale property in Asia under this new Hilton family brand, which opened in June 2008. This 26-storey hotel is located in the south-west part of the capital city, just 38 kilometers away from the Beijing Capital International Airport, and only 85 meters away from Da Guan Ying station of Subway Line No.7. The contemporary 5 star hotel is the perfect retreat for leisure or business travel, with all guest rooms covered by wireless networks and FREE Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Tree By Hilton Hotel Beijing
Hilton International Beijing
Beijing Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing