We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal for this Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange Hotel Beijing Xizhimen
Ranked #193 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Deal for this Decent Hotel”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. A bargain. Reception very helpful though they did not speak good english. Everything in good working condition, the heat, shower & tv. Room was clean especially the towels, the bed sheets. Bed is comfortable. The added touches, the fish, the cube (to play with) were nice. Location is not bad as take subway Line 4, get off at Xizhimen, take exit A. Once on ground level, turn left, walk straight and then look to your left and can locate the hotel. Just 2-3 minutes walk from station to hotel. Convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room if necessary. Though my room face the street but did not hear any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galaxytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    160
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel overall is a bargain, i totally reccomend it because you can have everything you need with less than half of the money that other hotels or chains are asking for. I stayed for 5 nights during mid October - which by the way is the best season to visit Beijing (great weather conditions, not many tourists, better prices). Mid October, follows the 1-7 Oct week which is traditionaly the chinese's holidays and during that time everything is more difficult and usually a bit more expensive, better try to avoid). I give you the facts and you deside yourself.

The good news:
* The location is very nice in Xizhimen area, mainly chinese people not many hotels nearby. Beatiful local shops will make you feel like you're a part of the neighbourhood, you can buy fruits from the local shop, refreshings from the liquor store or just go the nearby supermarket. also nearby there's a bank - very useful. People are nice and helpful, the place is safe, you'll love it. On the other hand, if your main purpose is business, as business meetings etc are mostly taking place in the financial district which is Chaoyang district, have in mind that you need about 30' taxi - at least, sometimes 45' as the traffic in Beijing is widely known worldwide..
* The rooms are very good (though maybe just a bit smaller than average), but they have workdesk, free wifi with very good speed, they are clean,well decorated, everything looks new, the bathroom is nice, high quality linens except the mattress which is no good - see below.
* The metro is nearby, only 5 minutes walk - line 4, Xinjakou station. It costs 2 yuan (0,30euros or 0,5USD). By the way, the taxis in Beinjing are also cheap, most routes will cost you from 15Yuan (or RMB, is the same) which means 1,9euro or 2,7USD, up to 45Yuan the most which means 5,5euro or 8USD. The taxi from the airport to the hotel takes about 40 minutes to complete the route and according to the traffic it will cost you from 80-100Yuan (10euros or 13USD). Tip: ALWAYS have your destination and of course the hotel's destination to be able to return, written in Chinese clear and with big letters. Plus point the destination in the big beijing chinese map (ask the hotel's reception to give you one). Anything else is paper from the outer space for the taxi drivers.
* The staff is trying to do it's best and you'll feel very welcome. But very limited english here (see also below).
* The value for money is fantastic, a bargain, only 38euros or 50USD for a deluxe room is about the 1/4 of the price that the other hotels ask for similar services!
* A very nice and good/clean restaurant is just near the hotels door !
* The hotel offers a small parking in it's frontyard in case you need it !
* There's a fish (!) to keep you company in the room !

The not so good news:
*As in a hotel you mainly want to sleep very well and i didn't because (though the linens are high quality and the pillows nice etc) the matresses are extremely hard, this hotel should have had a lower rate! But as most of the clients are chinese businessmen and couples and in chinese culture hard matresses are a common and as all of the rest was were so good, it would be unfair.. Tip: I asked for one more quilt and i've putted it between the matress and the sheet! Much better sense, accepted, problem solved.
*The staff is trying hard to be helpful but it speaks and understand very limited english as almost ALL Beijingers! Prepare to try to communicate with people who don't even understand the "yes" or the "no". Apart from one girl who understood most of the basics, the rest of the staff understands only about 30 basic words. Tip: I translated in google from english to chinese (simplified) many phrases for the reception or for the taxi drivers and i mailed them to myself. Then i received them in my iphone as emails and i had them with me always. That SAVED me many times because it gave me the chance to communicate with the reception, the restaurants and mostly with the taxi drivers! it was very helpful to have these phrases with me, i strongly reccomend you to do something like that (for example you can print them and have a paper with you to choose the phrases you need each time)!
* The soundproof between the rooms is also very limited.

Good luck whatever you'll choose to do and have a great time in Beijing! :o)
Thank you for reading my review.

Room Tip: Buy a deluxe room, it's not expensive (38euros or 50USD) and you'll have windows for sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank nikosgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Orange Hotel:

Like others have mentioned, this is the Chinese version of the Ibis hotels. Very few foreigners, mostly are Chinese clienteles. It offers you all the basics: clean room, free wifi, a/c, heater, cable tv with some english channels. Location is great, in the Xizhemen area. It is about a 5 minute walk to the Line 4 Xinjiekou subway station. There are quite a few decent local Chinese restaurants in the area. The hotel does offer breakfast at 10 Yuan, however, I did not try it as there were only 2 options; Chinese rice soup or something sandwich. There is a restaurant few doors down the street to the right of the hotel that offers traditional Chinese style breakfast for about 5-10 Yuan per dish. Entrance of hotel is on the side by the parking lot. I would definitely stay here again when I visit Beijing next time.

Pros:
-Subway is nearby. When you exit the Subway Line 4 at Xinjiekou station, take exit “D”. When you’ve exited, your back will be toward the street. Turn around facing the street and walk to your left. Look for an old Orthodox church on the left side of the street as this is the indication that you’re going the right direction. Once you’re at the stoplight (there are some public exercise equipment and a newsstand) turn left and you’ll see the Orange Hotel
-Free wifi with good signals
-Train ticket office is nearby, no need to go to the Main Railway Station (at the Xinjiekou Subway Station exit “D” near the Bank of Beijing ATM)
-Lots of decent restaurants nearby including a Korean BBQ restaurant in front of the hotel

Cons:
-Staff speaks limited English; however, they are more than willing help
-No western style breakfast. If you’re looking for yogurt, cereal, and pancakes; this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAXCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

the place is really good value and looks modern, the breakfast is good enough for 10 Yuan and the subway line (4) that brings you either to tien an men square or to the summer palace is around the corner. There are staff members that speak English, though not all are fluent. Its no Ritz Carlton, but for the price you pay, its a bargain.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I have spent there 3 nights. What is important Wi-Fi in the room, breakfast in the 'restaurant' and every day changed bed and towels. Unfortunately staff doesn't speak English, room without window and I haven't got a double bed but 2 single beds. But even so I would recommend it because of Wi-fi and cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pati6b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We've been on the road for about 6 months and still hold up the Orange as one of our best hotel experiences. Having booked a hostel that turned out to be just awful, we re-camped to the Orange. By purchasing their VIP card, we ended up saving a bit of money on the room. We liked the location, in a non-touristy part of town, and the many food options in the nearby hutongs. The staff, though non-English speaking, was super friendly and accommodating. For the same price as a private room in the hostel, it feels miles more luxurious - nice bed with soft white linens, modern furniture, and a top notch bathroom and shower. Based on our experience, we'd stay in an Orange Hotel in any city where one was available.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yearinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

The hotel was located conveniently, close to the subway and some restaurants, shops surrounded. The room was clean, good facilities. Reasonable price but just a problem was the staff hardly spoke English. Good service hotel if you can speak a little chinese.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Wang45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,357 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#48 of 6,473 in Beijing
555 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,473 in Beijing
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,854 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel Beijing Xizhimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel Beijing Xizhimen

Property: Orange Hotel Beijing Xizhimen
Address: No.11 Caochang South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xizhimen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in cultural area and the heart of Beijing, the Hotel is surrounded by many historical attractions. Guests can easily visit the hip Hou Hai Lake (the Back Lake) for funky nightlife. Also, it is very close to the centre of the traditional Hutong (Beijing alleys) area, tourists can take rickshaw tour going around. The sophisticated bus and subway networks give easy access to many tourist destinations and there is around 30-min drive away from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Orange Hotel Beijing Xizhimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing