We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel
Ranked #220 of 1,437 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I chose this hostel first of all because of its price. Food in the hostel is a bit overpriced but very good. Handy when you are too lazy to go outside to eat or it's just too cold. Menu has many options and they are all delicious! No free breakfast, internet only in the common areas and apparently on the first and second floor. Beds are not so comfortable, but it's something you can handle.

Didn't find the hostel a good place to meet new people specially because there are many chinese people in it (yes, guests) and they only speak between themselves.

15min walk to the train station. 10min walk from Yashow Market (which was GREAT)

Bathrooms are clean and shower is good. All the tours offered in the hostel are EXTREMELY overpriced!! I read some people saying staff is not friendly and that if you don't go on a tour with them, they pretend they don't know anything, but I disagree. To me they were friendly and helped me with everything I needed. There is also a bar area 10min away from the hostel. I didn't go there but two of my roommates said it was really good. Overall a cheap and fair hostel.

Room Tip: Pick rooms on the first and second floor if you want to get an internet signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 267 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Location is really good, not far from San Li Tun. Metro/Subway is a bit far. You will not find cheap chinese cafes or restaurants around. The rent price for 6 bed room is cheap. My 6 bed room was dirty. No lockers on the safe, so you can buy one for 10 yuan if you want your property to be safe. Rooms are warm. They don't provide towels, no slippers, no shampoo, no soap and so on.
The barmen on the first foor was a lil bit rude. Actually, they are more polite and nice with not asian face people, but its still ok. lol
Food is good but still expensive for hostel. Its better to go to the nearest restaurant. Wi-fi speed is bad. The only advantage is location and price. Love it)))

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisherik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed 10 days in bejiing changed hostel 3 timnes until I found salitum stayed here for 7 days. It's great hostel very clean amazing staff they help you out with everything anyway they can. The room are cheap and the food is good. There is a pool table and football table great if you have to wait for some people. I would recommend this hostel to everybody !

The supermarket is on 2 min walk and the metro at 5. lots of restaurants around if you want to eat outside

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanlitun K, Manager at Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you very much for the good comments, wish you have a nice time in China.
Regards
Sanlitun hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at this hostel many times. First time, we arrived late February and found it very cold. We told them our heating was not and they tried to sort it out. When this could not be done, they gave us half of our money back. Very helpful sorting out train tickets and day trips out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good place to stay, great rooms, showers good, and a good place to meet people. The staff all speak good English. The location of the place is about a 10 minute walk from any subway station - there are more centrally located hostels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice affordable place to stay in the shopping area of chaoyang district in Beijing. In between line 2 and line 10 of the subway, makes it very convenient to get around the city easily. The hotel is nice and friendly. The staff is helpful and most speak English which is hard to find at most places in china. The rooms are descent and clean. The beds are comfortable. However, a bit of warning, don't get a room next to the stairs if you want a good night sleep. The staircase tends to be very noisy all night long. I've stayed here several times and I've always had great service. They even let me change rooms because I couldn't sleep in the room next to the staircase. The have a secure room you can lock up your valuables and a nice lounge area. I would stay here again and the price is good for this district. Chaoyang tends to be more expensive than other areas in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodhisottva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Perfect position in Beijing although a little hard to find if you aren't familiar with Sanlitun so make sure you write down the Chinese! (or ask one of the many English-speaking people around). The staff are fantastic and really helpful for travel advice - if they don't know they'll make sure to find out for you! One of the girls wrote down my bus route for me and even wrote it in Chinese in case I got lost. Room's are basic but clean and really cheap. The hostel has a good sized bar/outside decking area if you want to eat or drink (food's okay but nothing special). Free wifi downstairs with limited access in the rooms.
Just perfect if you want a quick cheap stop over. Also 10 minute walk from the subway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#125 of 6,606 in Beijing
320 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 994 in Beijing
422 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,631 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel

Address: No.1 Yard, South of Chunxiu Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,437 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $13 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lively area of Sanlitun, 24hr hot showers. Warm and cosy atmosphere, great bar, free Wi-Fi, english speaking staff. the big heating systerm, the most warm hostel in Beijing. Our free services include Wi-Fi, a library, luggage storage, travel info, 24hr hot showers, English news paper. Our free dumpling party happens every Friday and our free Chinese hot pot party is on every Wednesday night; they're a great opportunity to meet other guests. We also offer tours to many of Beijing's famous attractions and provide transportation and tickets to the city's hottest talked-about shows. We organise daily tours to Mutianyu Great Wall and the Ming Tombs and city tours to Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Tiananmen Square. We also have daily night view tours. We can book car services and tickets for kung fu shows, acrobatics shows and the Beijing Opera Other amenities include laundry facilities, bicycle hire, print/scan services, international phone calls, a 2-for-1 book exchange, a post box, 24hr reception and airport pick-up. We also host birthday parties and traditional festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing