We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from UnTour Beijing Food Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience UnTour Beijing Food Tours
from $63.00
More Info
from $70.00
More Info
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
313
13
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
313
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast tour hotpot hot pot dumplings biang biang great introduction local food scene highly recommend this food tour fantastic food tour beijing street rice wine meeting point local culture real beijing awesome guide perfect english language barrier
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 327 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017

We did the Old Beijing food tour in early July and I can say it was one of the absolute highlights of our travel to China. Our guide Kelly made sure we spend a perfect night out in some of Beijing's Hutongs. Not only did she provide perfect organisation and a fun trip around the back alleys of a fascinating neighborhood, but offered an awesome mix of interesting history, fascinating food knowledge and great anecdotes. The places she took us were all more than worth the visit and hard to impossible to find without local knowledge. And the food couldn't have been any better. If you do one guided tour in Beijing go for this one.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnTourFoodTours, Manager at UnTour Beijing Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Hi Richard - Thanks so much for your kind review of our Old Beijing Dinner tour. We're so glad to hear you loved the food and guide so much, and that you also enjoyed the history and food anecdotes along the tour route as well. Let us know if you ever come back to China!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017

I had a fantastic tour with Garth! he is super awesome guide and very knowledgeable about the area, history of china and of course the food! Will definitely come back and try different tour

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Edy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnTourFoodTours, Manager at UnTour Beijing Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with Garth learning about the history and food of the city. We would love to host you again - let us know the next time you're in Beijing or Shanghai :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

This was an enjoyable tour of several eating places in and around one of Beijing's hutong neighbourhoods. We got to sample a variety of different local foods, the highlights of which were the grilled meat skewers, the piang piang mian and the bbq chicken wings. Our guide Chang was an excellent guide and host. She had a bubbly personality and made sure we were well taken care of and was also a treasure trove of information about Beijing and the food we were partaking in. She also helped us flag down taxis back to our hotel - a formidable task for non-Mandarin speakers - and also helped us call one of the restaurants when one of the members of our party left a camera behind. She even offered to pick up the camera for us. She also bought ice cream for two of the kids in our party.

All in all, this was an interesting and enjoyable way to spend an evening in Beijing.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank weiaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnTourFoodTours, Manager at UnTour Beijing Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

We're so glad to hear you and your family had a great time on our Old Beijing Dinner tour with Chang. We love exploring all the amazing, local restaurants and hole-in-the-wall shops in the hutongs - the best food is hidden down them! Hope to see you again soon in Beijing or Shanghai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Garth did an amazing job walking us through the hutongs and introducing us to great foods that we would never have found on our own. His knowledge of the area and choice of restaurants made for a great experience for our family. Just remember, pace yourself. There is a lot of food!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank tclater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Had a great tour with Katie, she knew the area very well and had interesting information about the food, history and culture in Beijing. Would definitely recommend this tour to people travelling to Beijing, especially solo travellers as it gives you the opportunity to try out heaps of food and some sort of confidence while ordering other meals during your stay. Loved the donkey burgers!! Was lucky enough to have one located close to my hostel to satisfy my post-tour cravings.

I look forward to trying out other tours on future trips to China!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Mohana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnTourFoodTours, Manager at UnTour Beijing Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Hi Mohana - We're so glad to hear you would definitely recommend this tour and that you enjoyed trying a wide variety of food. And we're so pleased you felt that your time on our tour gave you the confidence and knowledge to explore the Beijing street food scene on your own - that has always been our ultimate aim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews