We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint dining in a huge restaurant is possible in Beijing!”

Huajia Yiyuan (Hua's Restaurant)
Ranked #30 of 12,713 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $75
Cuisines: Chinese, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quaint dining in a huge restaurant is possible in Beijing!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hua is a large restaurant with dining rooms both private and public on both sides of a hutong. The gardens are beautiful, service attentive and food was delicious, unusual and hot. I don't know if it was because we were guests of a 'special' friend of the restaurant but we were treated royally. We were given a tour of the restaurant on both sides of the hutong. Our room was a private room with seating for tea and then a table for dining and a private courtyard. We were treated to a delicious spicy fish that was chopped up in a broth of more red hot peppers than I could count. The Peking duck was good, we had sea cucumber, and about twelve other dishes including cream puffs made in the shape of swans. Our host supplied the wine. We were then taken to the courtyard where there is a show with changing faces, Chinese acrobats, etc. we walked by the restaurant a few weeks later and we probably would have walked right by it had we not known about it. There are so many restaurants on this street is is amazing. We have returned and the food was just as delicious the second time!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    115
    22
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really not what these reviews make it out to be”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is ok. And that's about it really. The menu looks really impressive but pretty much every dish came out looking much worse and bland collared to the pictures. The sauces were quite gloopy and did not really seem to be anywhere near the standard that the menu, reviews, or surroundings suggest. The prices aren't bad, but there are much much better restaurants than this (like Taste). I know the negative reviews are in the minority, but I would strongly urge you to think twice before coming here simply based on tripadvisor / lonely planet recommendation. I've web to all manner of restaurants at all manner of price points in many countries around the world so I'm quite open minded to the all there is to offer in different countries I visit. This is at best, average.

Helpful?
2 Thank hotelhotstepper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a tranquil eating house in a busy city”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great service, very helpful staff, interesting food, lovely cold beer. A little hard to find but close to Sofitel and China World hotels.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good place to bring visitors”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

had dinner here recently. although the standard of food has dropped since my last visit, it is still a great place to bring visitors - a complete package of a quaint courtyard setting, chinese acrobats and face changing, peking duck and some local beijing sichuan food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Abysmal”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited this restaurant after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor - as we usually do when we visit foreign climes. Had it not been for some useful comments on another restaurant (Mr and Mrs Bund, which i will also be reviewing), we would have dismissed Tripadvisor restaurant recommendations forevermore. This place was diabolical, so i don't understand why so many people have enthused about it.

I'll take it from the top. When we arrived we were ushered into a stuffy, smoke-filled room next to a table of French chain smokers. The walls were dirty, the smell of smoke loomed heavy and the atmosphere was a toxic soup not too dissimilar to the smog that hovers over this great city. And no, there wasn't any spare tables in the open courtyard where others were lucky enough to dine in the relative comfort of clean (ish) air.

The menu was extensive and difficult to decipher. The friendly waiter was there to talk us through it, for which we were very grateful. He was excellent. The food however, was anything but (with one exception). Because the menu was ambiguous in its descriptions, we decided to 'play it safe'. We ordered noodles, beef in some incarnation of a savoury sauce, duck rolls and crayfish.

The noodles were hideous and tasted like a hybrid of artificial chicken stock and tomato ketchup. They were oily and cold. And they had a number of mysterious ingredients in them. The meat was gelatinous and the sauce gloopy and sickly. The duck rolls comprised shredded duck meat rolled in an overcooked omelette. The meat itself was tasteless and some of the textures within suggested the meat was not of good quality, rather the scrapings not used in other dishes - sinewy, fatty, gristly. One bite was enough to turn our stomachs.

The phoenix to rise from this raging inferno was however, the crayfish, which was super spicy. The crays were swimming in a mouth-numbing pepper oil, which was delicious. Whatever you do, make sure you don't bite into on of the peppercorns. It would be a potential night ender.

When we finally left, which wasn't soon enough, we took the opportunity to look in the mini oceanarium, which supplies the multiplicity fish dishes. It was rather worrying to see more than one tank with fish that had seen better days - they were all floating belly up. Not good, given the rapid decomposition rate of seafood.

There isn't much else that i can add to this review, nor is there any logic to be found in the other reviews i have read (this is not meant to offend). Maybe we hit this restaurant on a bad day? I will never return to find out if this much is true.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony_two_sheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huajia Yiyuan (Hua's Restaurant) also viewed

 

Been to Huajia Yiyuan (Hua's Restaurant)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing