We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Perfect Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Profit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Profit Hotel
Ranked #3,524 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Hong Kong
1 review
“Not a Perfect Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stated at Perfect Inn from Oct 13 to 16. We booked the Deluex Twin room directly from Perfect Inn website. However, as we arrived, the receiptionist told us the room was not available as the guest was not checked out that day. Then, she suggested us to change a bigger room (An Executive Twin Room) with a discounted price. We have no other choice, then we accepted her offer but we were not very happy with this arrangment. We booked on-line from their own web page, supposed that the room has been reserved for us. Also, the washroom is not very clean and has foul smell. The washing basin is leaking.
Breakfast is quite ok but the hotel location is not very near the subway station. It takes about 15-20 mins by walk. But it is very near the Drum Tower and Bell Tower, just a few steps from the hotel. Also, you can take the public tour bus to Palace Museum, Tiananmen Square and Olympic Park....and other tourist attractions. It is quite convenience but be awared traffic jam in the morning.
Overall I can say the Inn is not very good for us to stay. Hope that they can make improvement in the future.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigWhiteCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
7
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
-
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

I stayed in Beijing Perfect Inn for 14 days and oddly enough I had the same experience as a few other of the previous reviewers.

We booked a room through booking.com as they had a special offer for one of the best rooms for a pretty reasonable price. We arrived at the hotel and gave the staff the booking confirmation showing all the details, and without any mention of a change, we were given one of the cheapest rooms. Surely this had to be a mistake, so we went back to the reception where we had to argue with the manager for at least half an hour. We were told that there had been a mistake - that the site we booked the room with had made a mistake and that the price was incorrect. To "compensate" for this we finally argued our way to a room change, but only after we had stayed in the cheapest room for a few days, and after the room change, we would have to change rooms again. We had the feeling that this could turn into a fishy affair so we had the manager write down all the dates and the room numbers and put her name on the paper as well. That feeling later turned out to be correct, but more about this later.

After a night in the cheapest room, the aircon started to leak, so we had to change rooms for the night. Well, mistakes happen, the staff was very helpful and we are not fussy about things like that, so we took it with a smile and moved all our stuff a couple of times. Then came the day were we were supposed to change room to a better room (but still not as good as the one we booked from the beginning). We got the keys to the new room, only to find out that this was a twin room and not the double room the manager had promised us. Again, this was being done without any mention of the change, apparently they were hoping we wouldn't notice anything. Again, the manager came down to talk to us, and again we had to argue with her for about half an hour. During the argument she told us straight to our faces, that someone else had gotten our room, simply because they were paying more than us. We were quite shocked to hear this from her, and even more shocked that the dates and the room numbers that she herself had written down for us, didn't seem to matter the slightest. In the end she even offered to kick someone else out of their room so that we could stay in a double room as promised. An offer we refused as we didn't want to put the same kind of trouble we'd been through on other people. We ended up staying the the double room and pushed the two beds together so they sort of made a double bed. After a few more days in this room, we finally got a room with a double bed and stayed there for the rest of the duration.

Now the whole trouble apparently started with the "mistake" that booking.com had made, a mistake that the manager assured us would be corrected as fast a possible. However, more than one month after we stayed in Beijing Perfect Inn, this offer is still on the website. In reality this is not a mistake, but a classic example of a "bait and switch" operation. Put a great room on a website for a really low price, attract customers and then switch the room to something else when they arrive. After an argument, offer them a complimentary "upgrade", and the customer will feel that they have won a little, when in fact the hotel has tricked you into staying in a complete different room than you booked.

When we started looking for hotels in Beijing we actually started reading reviews here on Tripadvisor and we also read descriptions of the hotel on various other sites. Reviews that were raving about the fantastic breakfast and all the amenities. Just to clarify: There are no salmon omelettes and there are no freshly baked croissants. All there was, was some chinese sour and salty buns, cut out in mini pieces, a few pieces of toast and a orange juice that had never seen an orange in its life.

Also there are no bathrobes, no free daily newspaper, no in room safe, no inhouse movies, and definitely no superb cleanliness as written on various websites. In fact, the sheets were never changed - only when we asked for it the staff came and changed them for us. It is now clear to us that the first couple of reviews on this site clearly must have been written by the hotel itself, as no one who has actually stayed there and seen the breakfast and the rooms could have written such things.

Apart from all these things, there were good points about the place as well. The staff was always very helpful, smiling and chatty and we truly felt welcome every time we walked in the door. Apart from the fact that they gave us the wrong information half of the time, the staff really lifted the experience, and with a bit more knowledge of the city they would have been absolutely perfect. The hotel itself is also in a great location, the area is full of trendy bars, small funky shops and lots of restaurants. Definitely a big plus. And apart from all the trouble with the rooms, the rooms we stayed in were great value for the money. Sure, the shower did smell a bit funny and there was small things missing in every room but if you're not too fussy about things like that, it's not really a big problem.

The problem however, with Beijing Perfect Inn, is that it promises way too much than it can deliver. And even when new promises are made, these cannot be trusted and that is both frustrating to the guest and simply a bad way of doing business.

All in all, we had an okay time at Beijing Perfect Inn, but still we would not recommend it to others and we would certainly never stay there again ourselves.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank yage22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Trenton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

We had actually been booked in another hotel which fell through, we were booked into this one by our original hotel. I was a little hesitant at first as I did not know anything about the place.

when we got there, I was pleasantly suprised! Staff was super friendly and accomodating, place was exceptionally clean and the location was fantastic, about 1.5 kms north of the Forbidden Cirty, 10 minute walk south of the subway and right next to the Drum Tour in the Hutong district.

I would definitely recommend this place to everyone, prices were great! already planning to go back next May!

  • Liked — the price!
  • Disliked — room size, not bad though
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anders_sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed there for a couple of nights just before the olympics started. The staff were more than friendly and very helpful concerning all our questions and needs. The rooms were slightly compact and we still wonder who designed the bathrooms (you could actually see the person inside through the door and wall (which was made of coloured glass)), but anyway a very nice and comfortable place to stay at. The location is also very good with suitable bus lines and not to far from the metro. The area nearby also consits of a lot of restaurants and a lovely bar street (somewhat touristic by the way). But, dont expect too much from the breakfast, not even if you "upgrade" to a "20 yuan breakfast"...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

We were more than happy with Perfect Inn. Rooms were compact but adequate. Took a while to adjust to the bathroom(sliding blue doors and shower hose stuck to wall) but however after our first of six nights stay we settled comfortably. Breakfast was a few different types of breads, eggs, fruit, toast & tea/coffee. It was suffficient as we didn't expect breakfast with our room so we were happy. It is in a very good location. Staff are more than helpful. You can arrange many tours including the Great Wall from the hotel which is great. Overall we were delighted with our stay in the Pefect Inn.

  • Liked — Staff, Location, Free Wifi,
  • Disliked — Bathroom,
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LindaBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

good points:

1. very friendly staff
2. excellent location
3. two computers in lobby for internet access
4. cheap price

bad points:

1. smallish rooms
2. downstairs rooms are noisy
3. basic toilets with strange sliding doors and shower just onto tiles not shower cubicle
4. NO FRESHLY BAKED CROISSANTS (i mean what was i thinking??!!) - breakfast very average only, but to be fair, we left for the great wall at 6am and they were serving especially for us so thanks for the eggs!

  • Liked — location staff price
  • Disliked — toilets
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaStevosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

We just stayed in the hotel for a week and were very disappointed after reading all the great reviews on tripadvisor. Firstly, non of the amenities advertised were there. Also there was no bathtub and the room generally smelt awful. the bathroom smelt of onions and every time we went into the room our eyes got funny. Not sure why, but when we mentioned it to the staff they did not seem surprised and transferred us to a different room. it was a bit better but not perfect. Also every time we used the shower the whole bathroom got flooded. we did have to specifically ask for more toilet paper and a change of sheets as they did not do that otherwise! another point was breakfast. some of the reviews wrote fantastic things about it but it was so basic, just bread and butter, fruit (sometimes tasted of garlic- clearly used the same knife for both) boiled eggs and some Chinese rice things. really not great. it seems they either stopped trying or the hotel itself wrote previous reviews. only good things were the location which was fine and the friendly staff although they did have very limited English.

  • Disliked — the smell
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aaaaaaaaaaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Lemeng Hotel
Lemeng Hotel
#534 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#123 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Guxiang 20 Club
Beijing Guxiang 20 Club
#3,204 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Houhai
DuGe Boutique Hotel
DuGe Boutique Hotel
#234 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#109 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Profit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Profit Hotel

Property: Profit Hotel
Address: No.281 Gulou East Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Formerly Nostalgia Hotel Beijing Nanluogu Alley)
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,524 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Profit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new design three star boutique hotel (opening 2nd April 2008) located at Beijing Gulou Dong Dajie and just three minutes from the Drum Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Profit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Perfect Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing