We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great”

Din Tai Fung (Yuyang)
Ranked #6 of 12,697 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply great”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The best dumplings I've ever tasted! Everything was awesome, incluing noodles, soup, vegetables. And one of the cleanest washrooms in the city.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gshyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    153
    25
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Ding Tai Feng - BJ, not Tawian”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Although some say DTF in Taipei still taste the beet, I have grown to like the DTF in BJ more for a big reason - they serve the mini dumplings (小笼汤包)the whole day instead of only 9 am to 10 am on Sunday morning !! I liek the one at Xidan although the one at Chaoyang is nicer and at the same price. Eating at Xidan is more casual instead of at the kind of pretentious at Chaoyang with people with expensive jewelry and shopping bags .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle_Vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Soup Dumpling Heaven”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A place to slurp hot rich soup out of meaty/seafoody/veggie/kimchiy/fishy/deserty dumplings. What more do you want...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, ok food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After reading the reviews I was expecting out of this world food, but honestly I wasn't that impressed. I got the fried rice (very good) and the pork dumplings (eh, ok). Also, for those who are trying to find this place, there are no signs in English that say 'Din Tai Feng'; it is ALL in Chinese, so unless you have a driver or ask a local, good luck finding it. The restaurant is very upscale, which is a great bonus in this city, and in my opinion wasn't terribly overpriced. I probably wouldn't go back, but would recommend it if you have no idea where to go in particular.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masterjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not awesome”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited again recently after a long stay away. People go nuts over Din Tai Feng and I sometimes wonder if they've eaten a dumpling anywhere else in this enormous city. You can, in fact, get great dumplings all over the place.

Still, I couldn't deny that this place is very good and their xiaolongbao are usually excellent.

If you don't have long in Beijing, this is a great place to check out and try a range of stuff in a clean and nice environment.

If you live here, and you have half an ounce of adventure in you, branch out a bit and discover that the world doesn't end at Din Tai Feng.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Din Tai Fung (Yuyang)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing