We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pity!”
Review of Wenjin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wenjin Hotel
Ranked #919 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a pity!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel has all the potential to be a great hotel. It is big, modern, and convenient (close to Tsinghua University and its Science Park). But it is simply ruined by people who don't know how to manage a good hotel. The room is fine, except that the maid does not clean the room properly everyday. The furniture is new except that the mattress is so hard that I need to add 3 quits on it. The service staff answer questions with impatience. The most unbearable experience is the breakfast, which repeats the same cheap food every morning. What's worse, the plates are often empty. And the dishes are not properly cooked. My German friend, who attended the same conference at Hsinghua U, told me she didn't know what to eat, for there was not much for Westerners. I complained to the manager. Though she was nice and apologized, I am not sure if the chef can or will improve his or her cooking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    83
    54
    16
    6
See reviews for
2
3
10
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havdrup, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent several nights at this excellent hotel in Beijing. It is not very close to Beijing downtown and is located nearby to a major highway with A LOT OF TRAFFIC. Anyhow, it is really high quality, clean, nice Chinese style food and with just 10 minutes walk you can reach several nice local restaurants, indeed.
Clean rooms. Easy to book and with a nice service. But I had problems with paying with several of my Western creditcards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My second time staying at this hotel. It is on the edge of Tsinghua University, which is where I had meetings. Beijing can be quite an intimidating place for a westerner to visit, especially if one doesn't speak Mandarin. The Wenjin was a good respite. The staff was very welcoming (and are fluent in English), the room is very comfortable, modern, and large. They have an attractive bar in the lobby, but it never seems to have much traffic. There is a breakfast buffet included with the room. It's okay, but not great if one is hoping for a more Western (as opposed to Chinese) breakfast. All in all, the hotel is a good respite while in Beijing. I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce-Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beijing is big town .... so I guess if you have to be in this tech part of the Chinese capital. I work in the web industry and it is close to the office that I had to visit for business. If you are hoping to be close to tourist sites, forget it.They are a long way away. Okay so much for what matters. The room is big and bright. Comfy beds, good shower in a well appointed bathroom. However, the equipment in the room needs updating. There is no wifi in the room, just one data cable. That is a pain point in these days of multiple devices (for instance, I can't use my wifi on my phone to check emails). There is wifi in the lobby but that just does cut it. I was staying by myself but if I had my spouse staying as well that would be a problem. Breakfast was interesting. The food was ok. But the service was very poor. There are plenty of staff but they don';t seem to care. I stayed for 6 nights and had five breakfasts. I never managed to get a spoon to stir my coffee. they are very slow to clean away plates and replace silverware. This is annoying stuff. Also the bar in lobby is awful, perhaps bizarre. Certainly not a place to wind down after work. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Location: The Wenjin Hotel is in the midst of the high technology Haidian district, ideally located for access to Tsinghua University.
Advice: If your plans center on tourism, you may want to find a hotel closer to downtown. This location requires extensive reliance on the subway or taxi. The subways are fast but crowded, while taxi trips downtown are likely to face major traffic delays.

Rooms and Services: The rooms were large, clean and well furnished, with spotless bathrooms and decent internet. The breakfast buffet was delicious with lots of traditional Chinese options.
Advice: Use the bottled water and avoid unpeeled fruit and vegetables.
Advice: Enjoy the good local restaurants in the area, including an excellent hot pot restaurant across the street and a fine duck restaurant a block down the road. If you are feeling extremely adventurous, explore the tiny restaurants with assorted live specialties (frogs etc) off the alley a couple of blocks down the road.

Transportation: Taxi fares for travel from the airport to the hotel varied wildly.
95 rmb Singaporan Chinese woman speaking Chinese
98 rmb Asian American man with compass and map speaking English
110 rmb French woman speaking English
350 rmb Very tired German American speaking English
Advice: Use an official taxi with the meter running. Beware of referrals to unofficial taxis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel has very clean and spacious rooms. The people are very nice and helping. The hotel is located close to Silicon-valley of Beijing and is also close to many universities.

only problem I faced was having very people who can speak English.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saurabha_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The room was spacious and light. The bed was big and comfy. It was 10 min walk from the place that we were doing business. If you are visiting as a tourist then I would probably not recommend it as its a bit far from the city sights but good value for money and the food was not bad.

Room Tip: Speak Chinese......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#166 of 6,520 in Beijing
187 reviews
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#70 of 6,520 in Beijing
230 reviews
Wudaokou
Xijiao Hotel Beijing
Xijiao Hotel Beijing
#560 of 6,520 in Beijing
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongguancun
Xihua Hotel
Xihua Hotel
#732 of 6,520 in Beijing
63 reviews
Wudaokou
Liaoning International Hotel
Liaoning International Hotel
#232 of 6,520 in Beijing
126 reviews
Wudaokou
Geosciences International Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenjin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenjin Hotel

Property: Wenjin Hotel
Address: Tsinghua Science Park, Haidian District, Beijing 100084, China
Location: China > Beijing > Wudaokou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#234 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#480 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wenjin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wenjin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wenjin Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing