We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wenjin Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
33
86
56
18
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
86
56
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeking universityhotel roomforbidden cityenglishzhongguancunacademicconciergetaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 199 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

If you are visiting the Institute of Process Engineering of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, this is the hotel to stay at - it is literally across the road. So, I have stayed here three or four times - clean, modern rooms with a fast free broadband connection, large comfortable beds, drench shower, friendly staff and an excellent buffet breakfast (great omelette chef!). There are also some excellent restaurants about 10 minutes walk away. All-in-all, a great base if you are working at the Institute or at Tsinghua University. But this is not a Shangri-la or a Traders, but (on the plus side) it is not a Holiday Inn or a Marriott, either! Nor is it good base for tourism - too far from the main sites.

Room Tip: Choose one not facing on to the main road
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stay at the Wenjin during my many business trips to Beijing. My primary reason for choosing Wenjin is its close proximity to our office in Tsinghua Science Park. It's a decent hotel for that purpose but its not for tourists. So I'm reviewing this as a business hotel and not a tourist hotel.

Service
Their website states that they provide airport pick-up/drop-off but I've always booked them separately so I can't comment on this service. The staff are generally nice but their English is not great so communication is challenging. The rooms are kept clean like any other hotels.

Location
As I mentioned, this hotel is not the best hotel for tourists primarily because it is not close to most of the places tourists would normally visit, e.g. forbidden city, tiananmen square, and temple of heaven. It is located in front of Tsinghua University and is close to other main universities in Beijing. There are not a lot of places a non-Chinese speaker can walk to and find places to eat without needing a translator.

Amenities
Rooms are really nice and spacious. The bathrooms are nice, clean and very modern. There are three main places to eat in the hotel. A very big Chinese restaurant with an extensive menu that has both pictures and english translations. The servers however are still not very good in English so communication remains erratic. A Korean restaurant that I've never tried. And a western buffet-style restaurant which is quite expensive for Chinese standards and for just okay food. So even with the language barrier, I found myself eating at the Chinese restaurant more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Very good hotel for visiting the business park near Tsinghua U. Clean, good rooms and nice service. Within easy walking distance of the business park and Tsinghua. I would definitely stay again if on business in ths area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I've stayed at the Wenjin on a couple of occasions since a branch of our office is close by in the business park. It's ok, but overpriced for what you get and the location is not optimal if you want to do touristy things. Benefit for business travel is you're close to lots of restaurants (including western style - if that's your thing) and shopping, including grocery. Additionally, the metro is only a couple of blocks away. However, don't expect the staff to speak much English and don't think you're staying at a 5-star hotel. The free wifi in the lobby is nice (but you have to use a cable for access in your room). The breakfast buffet has a good variety and many styles available: Chinese, European, Western, etc. Stay closer to downtown in a cheaper place if you're hear on personal travel.

Room Tip: Corner room has an extra window by your closet.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Have stayed here a few times as my office is very nearby. This is primarily a business hotel, the location is near University and business park. Staff are quite good although check-in and out are slow. Try to get a room that does not face the main road. I had issues with aircon not working in my room also. Overall, stay here only if you need to be in the area for work/other reasons.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews