We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an okay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange Hotel (Beijing Guanyuanqiao)
Ranked #1,761 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Changsha, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an okay hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Situated in the back of a residential area, this hotel is ideal for those who want an ordinary Beijinger touch. I booked a deluxe queen room, modern decor but not trendy or chic, it's on the first floor and opposite my window was the hotel staff's locker room!! The curtains had to be closed all day!

The bed was on a raised platform which was kinda weird, and the central heating in the room couldn't be turned off. Room temperature was too high that made me felt uncomfortable. The courtyard was lovely and relaxing. Location is good, not hard to find, 10min walk to subway station.

NO FREE breakfast, you pay 10 yuan at the front desk and get a brown-bagged mix of banana, packaged milk, packaged congee, etc. Nutritious, light, but not tasty.

Considering the relatively low room price, it's a good hotel. But if you are not on a budget, don't choose this one. I should have checked out room photos before i go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    168
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
3
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel was recommended by a friend...The rooms were awesum...so that's the explanation of 5%...However the 95% came down to the deposit calculated and charged twice on my mastercard. I tried to explain this through an Interpreter..and of course they were right and I was wrong???go figure and yes it still shows on my bank account the charge of two deposits...How do I rectify this???... Not sure, but this is a start and a WARNING TO ALL!!!...to check your bank accounts after you check in and rectify the situation before you check out!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrudaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changhua, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

this is my first time to stay in orange hotel, it's about 10 minutes walk from subway, and it locates in lane, it can be quiet, but receiptionist gave us a room located beside road, there is a elementary school beside of this hotel, so at the morning, i woke up with horns. There is light in bathroom was broken, they did give us apples evey days, but i got 2 bad apples during two days, i feedback to receiptionist, they are not kind, and there is no free milk now, it takes money, they told me without looking at me. i will not recommend my friends about this hotel
當初就是看到大家的評語才來這間飯店的,櫃檯人員態度不好,我們被安排住在一樓靠街道上,因為旁邊就是小學及街道,一早就會被喇叭聲吵醒了,每天都有送蘋果,但是連續2天的蘋果,其中有一顆就是壞的,現在沒有牛奶送了,因為櫃檯人員說現在牛奶是要錢的,但我看到那些推車上還是有牛奶要送人的,還有入住的房間感覺很久沒有人住了,因為浴室的燈也有壞的,基於上面原因…心裡感覺很不好,下次是不會來住的了…

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daphneisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

We took a trip to China in September and this was the first place we stayed. There was 3 of us in a double bed room. The beds were a nice size (a little too hard for my liking but apparently that is most of China) and the room was very comfortable. It was hot when we arrived and we opened the windows only briefly before finding the A/C. Each room has a fish and they have a rubix cube, if you solve 3 sides you get free coffee. :)

The front staff did not speak much English but were very helpful. There was a staff member named Frank who could speak English so is he was available we would ask for him (and lucky us, he was always around).

The location is not ideal but it is not horrible either. We had some difficulty finding the subway station but once we did we soon became experts and it was not a problem at all. We stayed out most days/nights. One night we came back early enough to grab some dinner. We learned that this is not a place where there are many English speakers and we lucked out by eating at a table next to a very helpful student. We also weren't afraid to ask everyone who walked by if they spoke it.... the ones that did were very happy to help.

It was a nice relaxing place to some back to but if I were to go back I would maybe choose a place in a more touristy part of town.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trina214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

A great trendy hotel for a low price, about $37 USD for a room with a window. Everything was very clean, especially bathrooms, and the bed was soft! Hard to find a soft bed at a budget hotel. There are free oranges in the lobby and they also deliver them with a bag of croissants and box of milk. This is supposed to be your breakfast. They had free bicycle rentals for 2 hours, after that it is 5 yuans. My only gripe is that there are hardly any shops/restaurants nearby, seemed like a residential area. It is between 2 subway stops, both about 10 min walk and easily accessible to Forbidden City.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinadoll007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Located on Cuihua St. off Ping'anli W. St, it has easy access to Lines 2 (Chegongzhuang station) and 4 (Ping'anli station) of the Beijing subway system - a great way to get around the city of Beijing and its many tourist sites. Buses on Ping'anli St. (107, 118 and 701) heading east will take you to Houhai (Beihai Beimen stop) where there are restaurants and bars along the lake-front, and Beihai park as well as Prince Gong Mansion (Gongwangfu) for 0.40 RMB. Getting off at Ping'an Yiyuen (Ping'an hospital) on your return trip.

Hotel is no frills but nice and comfortable. The hotel staff is very friendly. Rooms are small by American standards. Free breakfast (included in price) is made up of either fresh peaches, prepacked chocolate croissant or equivalent) and UHT pack of milk. Bring your own instant coffee. Rooms have electric kettles for boiling water. Tip: there is a local market at the end of Cuihua street where you can buy fresh fruits. Go in the morinings.

Free Internet is a big plus especially if you have to check up on how to get to your next destination and book shows. Tip: electronic ticketing is not well developed in Beijing (at the time of this writing) but some shows will deliver tickets to your hotel but payment will have to be in cash.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
454 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed here for a week in August 2010. I agree with the previous reviewer. This is a trendy, budget hotel that offers some nice perks:

-Trendy orange, decorative theme throughout hotel.
-Free snacks everyday were appreciated. Free peaches, (synthetic) boxed milk, and packaged snacks were left in our room everyday for the both of us.
-Our room companion, a fighting fish, was a nice touch - especially for an aquarium enthusiast like myself.
-While the hotel is a little out of the way of major tourist sites, it is conveniently located between two subway stops, which take you to major sits. Yes, it's about a 10 minute walk to either subway station.

Negative points:
-Surly staff: Yes, the front desk staff was surly. They were young, inexperienced staff that were not customer-service oriented, with the exception of one gentlement (who was new to the hotel, and a student). I find it interesting that staff was surly for the previous reviewer, who spoke Chinese. I had assumed that the language barrier played a part. The one nice gentlement actually escorted us to a massage place across the street so we knew where to go for a massage (for those interested, it's located just south of the hotel, and looks like a hair salon from the outside).

-Fruit flies: Peaches left in rooms everyday = fruit fly problem.

-Bikes: One of the first things you'll notice upon entering the hotel property is the row of hotel bikes, which guests can use for free (with a deposit). I looked forward to using them to bike the local hutong. But for some reason the bikes weren't available, even though I could see at least 4 unused bikes. I think their reason was that they did not have enough bike locks. So it would seem that they may only have 1 or 2 bikes available with locks. So we walked the hutongs instead!

Tip: Take advantage of the local shopping around the hotel and beyond. Some of the best shopping is actually in areas like this, and not necessarity the Pearl or Silk markets. Many (but not all) of the local shops are more transparent about the prices, and have fixed flat rate prices, sometimes with price tags. So you don't have to worry as much about price-haggling, and being ripped off. In other words, they're priced to sell for locals. And yes, you can still find your designer clothing in these shops at a prices you don't need to haggle. However, if there is not a price tag on it, prepare to be quoted a "let's hose the tourist" price. There are a couple of nice clothing shops along Ping'anli st. during your walk to either subway station and local convenience stores with ultra cheap beer. However, the best local shopping was along Xinjiekou st., heading south toward the tourist areas. We also found our favourite local restaurant in that area, which had Peking duck for about $6 Canadian.

Tip 2: This hotel is pretty close to Beijing North Railway (one subway stop away, or about a 20+ minute walk). You can take the commuter train from this station to the Great Wall, and it's ultra cheap to sit in first class.

Warning: The location of this hotel on Tripadvisor's map is wrong. The hotel is located just south of Ping'anli st. on Cuihua st., and NOT north of Ping'anli on YuYou Hutong. This sucked for anyone like me who walked with heavy luggage from the subway station!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank product-of-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
China International Exhibition Centre
Ibis Beijing Sanyuan
Ibis Beijing Sanyuan
#2,586 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#175 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#174 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#46 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#124 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel (Beijing Guanyuanqiao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel (Beijing Guanyuanqiao)

Property: Orange Hotel (Beijing Guanyuanqiao)
Address: No.22 Yuyou Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,761 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Hotel (Beijing Guanyuanqiao) 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in cultural area and the heart of Beijing, the Hotel is surrounded by many historical attractions. Guests can easily visit the hip Hou Hai Lake (the Back Lake) and take rickshaw tour going around the traditional Hutong (Beijing alleys) area. The sophisticated bus and subway networks give easy access to many tourist destinations and there is around 50-min drive away from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Orange Hotel (Beijing Guanyuanqiao) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hotel Beijing Xizhimen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing