We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms, Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)
Ranked #12 of 1,434 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Rooms and bathrooms are small. No space to move around in bathroom. Only a wc bowl very near to the wash basin and on the left is the shower area. Had difficulty moving in and out of shower area.There are no tissue papers provided in room. No proper body and hair shampoo provided-only a low quality tube of combined hair and body shampoo at shower area. Toothbrush and toothpaste are provided though. Slipper and shower cap are also provided. Rooms are ok. Curtains are extremely dirty and dusty. 2 complimentary mineral water are provided daily. Tesco is just next to the hotel. Many items like hand gloves for winter and winter wear can be purchased from Tesco which is located on the lower floor of the shopping mall. Avoid the upper floor shopping area selling garments as the price there quite steep compared to Tesco. Like others have higlighted, KFC and Pizza Hut are available at the shopping mall where Tesco is located. McDonalds can be found in about 1 or 2km away from the mall. There is a spa near the hotel which closes at 9pm local time. Receptionists at the hotel are not at all friendly. Will answer your queries very impatiently. a Small Business Center can be found at the lobby but its closed on Saturday and Sunday. Beware, they do not adhere to the business hours as stipulated on their notice and closes much earlier. The business center apparently is operated by an independant company not related to the hotel.Wifi is available at the lobby with limited hours of usage. Upon expiry, you need to obtain a password from the receptionist to connect.As for their breakfast, they do put proper notice next to the food indicating whether it was for Muslim guests. Overall, this hotel does not qualify as a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TYYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

The room was a little bit cold, but the hotel apologized for not being able to turn on central heating, due to the fact that apparently by law, in beijing they cannot heat before November 15th. They also gave me an extra quilt which proved very helpful.
Service was quite good, although i used the laundry, and could not get my shirts to be folded. I had to fold them myself.
Breakfast is very chinese. Practically no western choices.
Apart from this minor problems, staff is extremely friendly (although their English is scarce) and the hotel is excellent value for money

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Although it is advertise as a 4-star hotel, the 4-star is an internal chinese rating. On an international rating it would be a 2.5 star hotel. It is located on the 4th ring road, about 15km from town centre. No attraction nearby except for the Happy Valley Water Theme Park. At the theme park is the theatre showing Golden Mask Dynasty show. Next to the hotel is Tesco (supermart/departmental store), KFC and Piazza Hut.

The hotel room is decent sized with queen bed and balcony. There is a Plasma TV with 35 cable channels. Unfortunately all channels are local TVs. Nothing in English. No even subtitles. Room is clean. I have no problem with the bed during my 4 nights stay.

Breakfast is provided but is simple chinese country-fare. They always have 2 kinds of congee, plain rice, a chinese bun dish, ham, pumpkin/sweet potato, a noodle dish, an egg dish, 3 kinds of vegetable dishes. There is also bread and cupcake. Coffee, tea and orange juice for drinks. That's it. Inferior by western standard but I was told is pretty standard by local chinese standard. My beijing friend says that breakfast their least important meal. Dinner is their most important meal. Most people overeat at dinner and just want something light at breakfast.

Staff don't speak much English. In conclusion, it is a decent hotel if you speak mandarin, looking for a cheap hotel and don't mind staying away from town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starfire888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you are staying here because you already book a tour with a tour agency then it's fine. So you'll only stay here to sleep. If you are on your own, avoid this hotel at ALL COST! Terrible terrible worst hotel ever! Breakfast is lousy lousy lousy! Communicating with the staff is the worst experience ever! They refused to give us our breakfast ticket. The only English word they know is NO. Had to get our tour guide to speak to the manager just to get our breakfast tickets which they refuse to give to us.

Had to use sign language to show that we want an ironing board and iron. When they finally sent it to the room, it was a broken ironing board. The hairdryer in the toilet didn't work. The hotel was a bit run down - they should not say that its a four star hotel. No quality whatsoever. The room is small and all the tv channels are in Chinese. There's nothing in English. There's no wifi here but there's a plug for the cable in the room. Make sure you bring your own shower gel and shampoo. The hotel's stuff is crap. Also, they only make the bed but they don't really clean the room properly.

There is a small shopping place next to the hotel - few shops and Tesco Supermarket and some other restaurants. But mind you - nobody speaks English here except telling you how much the prices are.

Getting a cab from this place is horrendous. Make sure you get the card with the address of the hotel if you do go out. And do make sure that it's written in Chinese characters so that you can show the taxi driver when you need to get back. The taxi fare from the city is about RMB70-80 after haggling. And yeah the hotel is not located anywhere near the city, i.e Silk Market, Wangfujing - it takes about 30mins or more to get there depending on the traffic.

The only good thing about the hotel is the little shop at the Lobby. They sell stuff at reasonable prices. For example, the magnets are priced at only 5yuan. There also have other stuff there and there's no need to haggle like crazy because it's already cheaper than haggling in other places.

Lastly, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel, please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaJa_LuRVeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was on a honeymoon to China and we were booked into this hotel by our travel agents, the first impression itself was horrible. there wee about 3 dozens of people waiting outside the hotel to check in. I didnt have any option to shift as it was pretty late in the night. we had to bare a night there. It was really a nightare, i woke up twice to some unknown person knocking at the door twice. and whne we started to get a better sleep, we were woken up by a telephone call at 6:00am in the morning saying it was a WAKE UP call, God alone knows who might have asked for it and I recieving it. Luckily my travel agent had planned an othe good hotel for the next couple of days in Beijing. So tourists, esp Non Chinese: stay away from CITY IN -Happy Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DocSharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

city inn located at a nice spot where supermarkets, restaurant are nearby. the down part is the receptionist cant speak in english, a bit difficult for foreign tourist to gain information. overall the hotel is very sastifying, clean, bathroom was great. everything is provided.

Room Tip: front room more sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank srwkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Overall, the hotel is satisfactory but we had a very annoying experience with the receptionists on our departure day, 15 March. We urgently needed information about the amount of departure tax for Malaysians leaving for Singapore at Beijing airport. However, the receptionist on duty did not know and to our diasappointment, she did not show any effort at all! We asked her if she could seek the information from any other sources including Beijing airport but she was reluctant and insisted that we should call our tourist guide ourselves. It is unlikely for any hoteliers to behave like this.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cwpyhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing International Hotel
Beijing International Hotel
#92 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,087 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#159 of 6,599 in Beijing
105 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#5 of 1,434 in Beijing
110 reviews
Chongwenmen
RJ Brown Hotel
RJ Brown Hotel
#6 of 1,434 in Beijing
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)

Address: XiaowuJibei Road, East Loop 4, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100023, China
Location: China > Beijing > Happy Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,434 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $48 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing