We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No english, rude staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Wanshang Beijing

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
Ranked #125 of 6,437 Hotels in Beijing
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“No english, rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Almost no one spoke english at this hotel. The staff was very rude, at breakfast they hardly tried to understand what I was asking them. Very far from everything. It does have a subway station close by but this is quite far from down town. The internet was extremely slow.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWSbj, Director of Sales at Mercure Wanshang Beijing, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Andres

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Wanshang Beijing.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet the expectations, particulary with the overall English level in the hotel, location and internet speed..

At Mercure Wanshang, it is our pleasure to try and meet the needs of each guest and for your information, we have recruited foreign trainees and implemented the English hot line to assist the English speaking guest in the hotel. We have also increased the capacity for the internet to improve the speed. As for the location, Beijing is a huge city and taking the subway to city centre within 30 minutes is considerably acceptable.

We sincerely appreciate you sharing your concerns and shall continue to strive in providing a better service standard to all our guests.

Yours truly
Celia Li
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    88
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
28
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I hvae chosen this hotel for my tourist stay in Beijing because of fair rate, positive comments and close to subway station. Warm and friendly welcome in good English by several employees. Early check-in by 11 a.m. Room was large and sufficient. Unfortunately the LAN Internet connection was very slow. Take in mind, that the hotel is relatively outside the city. The close subway takes you to city center in around 40 min. Mostly the subway trains are very full.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for three nights on a business trip. Reception staff understood enough english to get a collegue and myself checked in.

Room was good however their was a stale smoke smell in the room despite asking for a non-smoking room. Apart from this it was good.

Shower was hot and had good water pressure, etc.

Breakfast was busy and the food selection included both asian and western "style" break fast.

The bar is small and lacks any atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyManBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

The service is very good, esp. the chief concierge. I was still at least 100m away from the hotel door, but the chief concierge was approaching to take over my luggage, very impressive. The hotel is although not in CBD area, but quite convenient, there is a shopping mall, just 5min. away with Food Court, shopping center, and a Carrefour as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

when we arrived the reception welcome us and there is one staff can speak good english. Most of the staff don't speak english.
We spent for 5 nights there with low price. The room was nice and clean except there is urine smell at the corner of the toilet bowl when we arrived. Very comfortable bed and good service. Big swimming pool area and gym . Buffet breakfast was ok, but we almost had the same breakfast everyday .The best things about this hotel is near to subway station. You can walked like 5-7min to subway station and will cost you 2 yuan every station you stop. There is small shopping complex and Kfc opposite the hotel where you can also find convenient shop inside. Not far from the hotel, there is bigger shopping mall with Carrefour inside.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zanariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWSbj, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Wanshang Beijing, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest:

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay except for a few areas which requires improvement.

With the staff turnover, we are still working on improving the English level of our Reception
and as for the smell in the room, would you please provide us with the room number to
investigate the matter.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Yours truly
Kimi Sun
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOTA BHARU
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

My family n I ( a total of 6 adults n 1 child) stayed here recently for 6 days while we were on a vacation in Beijing.. Our first impression of de hotel was there were hardly anyone who coukd converse to us in proper, comprehensible English- not de manager nor de staff.. We obviously had trouble getting de message across.. Thx to my aunt who speaks a smattering mandarin.. But these were de least of our woes.. On de final day of our stay, while we were about to check out, I was told to pay for cleaning de hand towels in our room which were soiled .. If we did not pay then our credit card which we Pre authorized would be charged.. Why would u provide towels for guest use if u were not willing for it to be soiled.. It's unfair to ask an unsuspecting guest to pay for cleaning de hand towel which had some stains which could easily be removed by normal detergent.. So if u intend to stay in this hotel, pls make sure u do not use their towels :(

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANGEENAREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWSbj, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Wanshang Beijing, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Wanshang Beijing.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, particulary with the towel and English level; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Mercure Wanshang, it certainly has its local flavour and we have in fact the English Hot-line number which is available to assist the guest. Also,we have undertaken the decision with regards to the towel which will not happen again.

We do sincerely appreciate you sharing your concerns and shall continue to strive in providing a better service standard to all our guests.

Yours truly
Kimi Sun
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

DISAPOINTED (I've spent 3 nights). Poor service for a hotel where you expect european/french standards. Nobody to introduce the hotel services, to explain and understand things correctly. Note that the swimming pool & fitness are part of a club opened to the public and not only reserved to the hotel guests, thus expect them to be crowded. To lie down near the swimming pool when you are dressed is forbidden so you can't read your book and relax in the swimming pool area. Jaccuzi is old and crowded. You have to pay for the tennis and the billard and it's not cheap. Room was not cleaned correctly (and towels not changed). Street side room noisy with dirty carpet. No Wifi in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labellahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWSbj, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Wanshang Beijing, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wanshang Beijing. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Mercure Wanshang, it certainly has its local flavour but we still continue to strive in providing a good service standard to all our guests wherever we can.

However, we do appreciate you sharing your concerns.

Sincerely,
Kimi Sun
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#126 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Bajiao Amusement Park
Wanda Realm Beijing
Wanda Realm Beijing
#77 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#70 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#102 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wanshang Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wanshang Beijing

Property: Mercure Wanshang Beijing
Address: No.1 Yinhe Street, Shijingshan District, Beijing 100043, China
Location: China > Beijing > Bajiao Amusement Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#105 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wanshang Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with a passion for service. Located on the west side away from the “hustle and bustleâ€� but with easy access to the centre by subway and taxi, the hotel offers superb rooms, International and Chinese Cuisine, meeting facilities and extensive leisure facilities which includes 2 swimming pools, gymnasium and indoor tennis courts. Stay in touch with colleagues and friends with free broadband internet access. An oasis for relaxation in a busy city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Wanshang Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wanshang Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanshang Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing