We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPOINTED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
Ranked #134 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“DISAPOINTED”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

DISAPOINTED (I've spent 3 nights). Poor service for a hotel where you expect european/french standards. Nobody to introduce the hotel services, to explain and understand things correctly. Note that the swimming pool & fitness are part of a club opened to the public and not only reserved to the hotel guests, thus expect them to be crowded. To lie down near the swimming pool when you are dressed is forbidden so you can't read your book and relax in the swimming pool area. Jaccuzi is old and crowded. You have to pay for the tennis and the billard and it's not cheap. Room was not cleaned correctly (and towels not changed). Street side room noisy with dirty carpet. No Wifi in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labellahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWSbj, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Wanshang Beijing, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wanshang Beijing. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Mercure Wanshang, it certainly has its local flavour but we still continue to strive in providing a good service standard to all our guests wherever we can.

However, we do appreciate you sharing your concerns.

Sincerely,
Kimi Sun
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    91
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
30
17
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package. The room itself was pretty nice and clean (considering the price the tour group would have paid) but was not too happy with the bathroom. There was only a standing shower with a disgusting non-slip mat on the floor. We had them take it away and there were numeral small flies/bugs in the shower stall on the wall and landing the towels. The towels were gray and thin -- not sure if it's dirty or clean but at least washed for too many times without changing to new ones. Was too scared to use the towels, had to use papertowels we brought to dry ourselves.

Location is quite far from the city centre. costed around usd10 for taxi (keep in mind that taxis in beijing are very cheap) There was a subway station in proximity but not exactly next door. i would guess at least a good 10-15min walk. Most taxis didn't know where the hotel was and each time they had to call someone to find out where it is. The front desk even said they ran out of business card (we were planning to show taxis their business card after the 1st night...)

Breakfast was quite ok for budget hotels. the fried noodles and croissant were particularly yummy.

Unless you get ridiculously cheap price for the hotel and you are very concerned about the budget, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWSbj, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Wanshang Beijing, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you sharing your experience during your recent stay with us at Mercure Wanshang Beijing. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we wish you had.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem ie replacement of new towels and the non slip floor mat, to ensure the comfort of future guest.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kimi Sun
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

stayed here for 8 nites in April 2011. The room is clean and fully equip. The breakfast has many choices from rice, noodle, hasb rown etc.. The hotel is located near 2 two shopping malls, one located infront of the hotel and the other Wanda Plaza is just a 10min walk. Shops like Carrefour, Mc D, KFC etc is available here. The hotel is also near the subway (line 1) a 15min walk from the hotel. The subway takes you directly to Tian An Men station and Wangfujing 30mins. There is also a spost centre where you can swim and goto gym, all well maintained and equiped. For me its ideal as I was looking for a good place near subway and affordable. Which I think it is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWSbj, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Wanshang Beijing, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Let us know if there is anything we can do for you on your next stay or your friends
who will be visiting Beijing.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Reception people did not act in consistence with the room service people.
Hotel Reception people and its restaurant Reception people did not know Dragon Air Holidays(the package) and its accompanying provisions.
Design of the shower facility in BathRoom allowed the water running out to toilet and washroom areas.
Indication lamps on some of the Switch did not light after pressing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeijingMercure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWSbj, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Wanshang Beijing, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
We are in receipt of your comments and regret that you have encountered some issues during your stay.

In response to your feedback, we have taken some actions to rectify on improving the service standard at reception and staffs have been duly informed of the KA promotion with its entitlements.

We have also added an extra curb to prevent the water from flowing into the toilet/washroom area and lights blub also have been duly changed.

We hope you will visit Beijing again and we shall be happy to extend a complimentary stay on your next stay.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nea Makri, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stayed there for 6 nights the room was big and clean with also mini bar and coffee maker.The breakfast was tastefull with european and chinesse choises.Also they have room service till late at night.Next to hotel you can find a department store with a lot of shops inclunding carrefour hypermarket, pizza hut and mc'donalds(after 22:00 everything is closed).
The metro station is about 5' by foot and it takes about 15' to reach the center(tiananmen square).
The only dissapointing is that the people at the reception they don't speak very well and understand english.That was for me a little difficult.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mambaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Booked this hotel for 7 days due to great price, £24 a night. The room was large, modern and well equiped. They have 2 pools and huge fitness centre, spa pool is a must. The staff were second to none with their service. We even had the room service come to our room so we could point out the food we required. Quite a way from centre, but we loved the hustle/bustle of the subway which costs 2RMB per trip. Business Centre girls were extremely helpful when booking train tickets. Would not stay anywhere else if we decided to visit Beijing again. Bargain.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaybugSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Visited in early August for some supplier training. Since I didn't pick the place, I wasn't sure what to expect. We arrived late and very tired, and the front desk staff took care of me immediately. Free upgrade to executive room.

The room was very nice. Clean and comfortable, but facing the parking lot. Ask for an interior view, there's a nice courtyard in the middle of the hotel. Bed was hard, no mattress just a box spring, kiinda weird. I'm used to hard mattresses in Asia, but this was weird.

Nice pool and gym, and they advertise massage but I didn't have a chance to try it.

The area around the hotel is good. Subway stop for line one is about half a KM away, there's a grocery store at the mall around the corner, and an electronics store 50 yeards from the hotel.

Restaurant was OK for breakfast, but there's a reason no one is in there at night, it's just nto very good. Nice staff, just not up to par with the other places nearby.

We arranged a tour guide for the Summer palace for the day, and she was pretty good. Nice kid, good English. Not enough history for my taste, but she was friendly and cheeful, so it was a nice day.

I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgershenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#109 of 6,483 in Beijing
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bajiao Amusement Park
Wanda Realm Beijing
Wanda Realm Beijing
#89 of 6,483 in Beijing
106 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#185 of 6,483 in Beijing
102 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wanshang Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wanshang Beijing

Property: Mercure Wanshang Beijing
Address: No.1 Yinhe Street, Shijingshan District, Beijing 100043, China
Location: China > Beijing > Bajiao Amusement Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#111 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wanshang Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with a passion for service. Located on the west side away from the “hustle and bustleâ€� but with easy access to the centre by subway and taxi, the hotel offers superb rooms, International and Chinese Cuisine, meeting facilities and extensive leisure facilities which includes 2 swimming pools, gymnasium and indoor tennis courts. Stay in touch with colleagues and friends with free broadband internet access. An oasis for relaxation in a busy city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wanshang Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wanshang Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanshang Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing