We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with modern, clean but basic rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starway Sunjoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Starway Sunjoy Hotel
Ranked #3,306 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Mt Prospect, IL
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Location with modern, clean but basic rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

It is inside a courtyard so it is quiet which is a rare quality in a mid-market hotel in Beijing. Close to the Silk market & subway. As others have noted, the Front desk employees speak very limited English and they tend to make simple things very complicated. They serve a decent breakfast with a limited menu of both Western and Chinese items. Be aware that they do not change from day to day. Last November, the WiFI in the rooms worked fine.
To find this hotel, look the Starbucks on Ritan Rd. It is between the Starbucks and the TGIF.
If you can manage some Mandarin, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSYMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
3
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I have stayed here frequently - providing one only wants to sleep and you can live without the creature comforts it is great value in a great location - bang opposite the St Regis and a short walk to the Silk Market, loads of shops, restaurants, Starbucks and a really good 'credible' massage business near by. However, their front desk does not speak good english and there is no where to go to relax inside the hotel besides your room - it is a functional hotel that will save you loads of money but it depends on who is paying your bill and how you judge a good rate. Given one can get really high quality hotels at a price that is heavily discounted from usual western rates it is a toss up between a budget stay that will not harm your wallet and affording to stay in luxury closeby when normally you might not be able to.

There are few other hotels so well located to CBD at this price...

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking loads of Russian tour groups use this hotel and they all seem to smoke heavily !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed for 2 weeks on business trip, but after I went back to the hotel on the third last day, I discovered all my belongings had disappeared and a staff was already cleaning up the room. The manager claimed their computer shows that I was supposed to check-out while they clearly swiped my credit card to preauthorize enough money for the two weeks of my stay. All my stuff was moved to a smaller room without my permission, and the manager only apologized by bringing me a fruit plate. Cleaning was bad, I found a piece of fingernail on the bedsheet and watermelon seed shell on the floor after the room was supposed to had been cleaned. Although the location is convenient but after what happened I would definately not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsin617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Front desk was unfriendly and didn't speak English well. The room was tiny with a rock hard double bed. LCD flat screen was 17" and mounted on the wall. Condoms and various sex aids were on display on the bedside table with price tags. The toilet and shower were clean. They had a beautiful modern sink with a broken drain so it just filled up when washing our hands. After an hour of trying in vain to connect to the free internet, we checked out. They charged us the full room rate which we paid so we could leave in peace. I wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy. The only saving grace was that the toilet was clean and not a squatter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aglobalfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Mainland, BC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. I chose this hotel for its location near the embassies and a 15 minute walk to the Central Train Station. The subway station is located at the end of the block. Lots of international restaurants close by. Not that close to the tourist sites, but they are accessible by the subway. The hotel is located in a courtyard set off the street. The room was very clean and decor is minimalist. Staff helpful and friendly but some do not speak English. They will, however, always call one over who does. The walls between the rooms must be quite thin. I heard the man next door snoring throughout the night. I would probably book this hotel again if I return to Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShilohinBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

i stayed there for 4 days for my first time visit to Beijing and actually the rooms there are pretty nice as this is a new renovated boutique hotel with its very low prices and nice location. But my first nite was not a good experience as at around midnite a drunk man stayed at the same floor was lying down outside his room and slept there.. then when he awake he kept screaming and kept punching the doors so it was extremely noisy! so i complaint to the front desk and asked them to help to solve the problem. but they didnt help it at once so i called again to the front desk, it was already 2 am! at last they moved the guy to the room but in the morning i could still hear his screaming and his crazy punch on the door until it was broken... luckily that guy left in that morning..
we also wanted to have some tourist information such as the good restaurants in town etc and also to book a taxi for a day from front desk but the front desk staff also didn't have this kind of information and couldn't arrange booking taxi or tours for us.. i think this is a very basic service for a hotel so they should improve on this.. Other than that, it is fine..

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PinappleBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Tailaoshan International Business Hotel
Tailaoshan International Busines...
#2,781 of 6,445 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Rongbao Hotel
Rongbao Hotel
#3,295 of 6,445 in Beijing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Jili Plaza
Jili Plaza
#686 of 6,445 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Beijing Jianguo Hotel
Beijing Jianguo Hotel
#77 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
BeiJing Broadcasting Tower Hotel
BeiJing Broadcasting Tower Hotel
#184 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
The St. Regis Beijing
The St. Regis Beijing
#32 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starway Sunjoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starway Sunjoy Hotel

Property: Starway Sunjoy Hotel
Address: No.6 Ritan Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,306 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Starway Sunjoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Starway Sunjoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing