We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhongyou Hotel Haidian
Ranked #1,864 of 6,563 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 30, 2011

On arrival, my first impression was the friendly reception and the no-fuss check in procedure. I thought the lobby area was somewhat dated and my thoughts didn't change as I took the elevator and walked the corridor to my room. Definitely in need of refurbishment throughout! That being said however, the room was very clean with typically dark furnishing and a superbly hard bed. The bathroom light was a bit too dim for my liking so my shaving was a bit hit and miss during my stay (lol). I didn't try breakfast there, having alternative arrangements with friends, but I did try the small cafe for a cold beverage in the evenings. Service was wonderfully amiable and the beverage was delightfully chilled.

One small thing though. The room keys are very strange. The keys are credit card-sized which would normally fit neatly into your wallet and you know where it is. For some reason, probably economics, they have glued a large chip type reader on the card which is presented to the room for entry. This is OK as it works; but inconvenient from a portability aspect.

I stayed there purely because of the location and I think, frankly, it's little bit expensive for what you get. I'd like to reiterate though that I found all staff I encountered to be really friendly and customer service oriented.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorky999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for almost 3 weeks, while working for the Beijing Games in 2008. This was a business trip, so not sure what the cost was, but judging from the hotel I guess it was an economic stay (or should be!).

The hotel is quite old, definitely needs a face lift in terms of decoration and furniture. I was in a room with 2 double beds, so I had a bit more space for my suitcase and clothes. The furniture was relatively old and dowdy and the room was a bit cramped. The bathroom though must have been redone recently because it was quite good. I had a tv, a bathrobe and slippers, but the towels were SO synthetic that I literally couldn't dry myself with them! I had to ask someone to bring me some towels from back home when they visited! There was also no hairdryer, which I had to request each morning but it was taken away again when the staff came round to freshen up the rooms.

The staff was frienly and helpful, but no one could speak English. They had a very good 24hr laundry service which was needed during my 3 week stay! The buffet breakfast was OK and so was the hotel cafe-bar. The location wasn't great, but Beijing is a huge city, so it could have been much worse. There was a frequent bus service right outside the hotel and the metro station is 15-20 minute walk away.

Overall a decent stay, but quite basic. If this is a reasonably priced hotel (as I said, I never found out how much it cost), I would suggest it as a value for money stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katerinask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
Thank lingjuan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 9, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annie731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#17 of 6,563 in Beijing
1,561 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,676 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,959 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,515 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,563 in Beijing
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhongyou Hotel Haidian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongyou Hotel Haidian

Address: No.20 XUEYUAN RD., HAIDIAN DISTRICT, Beijing 100083, China (Formerly Mengxi Hotel)
Location: China > Beijing > Wudaokou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,864 of 6,563 Hotels in Beijing
Hotel Class:3 star — Zhongyou Hotel Haidian 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zhongyou Hotel Haidian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing