We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Good Location, Small Rooms”
Review of Huguosi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huguosi Hotel
Ranked #191 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Located right off of Line 4/6 Metro station and in the Houtong area it is situated in a great area. The hotel is decorated with a Chinese sense in mind, and it fits in well surrounded by the old bricks. If you are in need of a Western Food Fix, a Cafe 85 is adjacent to it; if Chinese food fits your fancy you cannot go wrong with the plentiful array of restaurants around it.

However, the hotel rooms are quiet small- a single room is enough for one person and a double room you can sleep in but having luggage will be an issue. In addition, almost everything in that hotel you have to pay extra for: coffee, tea, water, bath stuffs.
Go take a walk to Watsons by taking any bus North 2 stops and get your fill of things instead.

Otherwise, it was a nice relaxing hotel that offered the get away we needed.

Room Tip: Book in advanced on the Chinese site for the good deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bleeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 85 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

A clean, well-kept hotel just west of the lakes in the historic central part of Beijing. The Qianhai Lake restaurant/entertainment area is about a 20 minute walk along a busy hutong/alley. The Pinganli subway station is 1/2 block away. Many taxis on the main road nearby, though it was hard to find one to get back to the hotel late at night. Facilities are not brand new, but in good shape. Friendly staff. There was always someone at the front desk who spoke good English. An English-speaking tour desk in the lobby during the daytime can book tours to places like the Great Wall. Twin room with bath and breakfast was 340 RMB in Nov 2012. The breakfast was fairly simple, but if you get tired of that, there is a good bakery-cafe a few doors away. Free wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Not a normal hotel that you normally expect to find in China, no modern facilities in room, only one English Channel to watch (not a great issue for me). Great location as it is right in the preserved old Beijing area and plenty of Chinese restaurants here, although most restaurants here don't understand or speak English. If you want cheap accommodation in Beijing and want to experience something unique, this hotel would be a good choice. If you want lixurious room, mini bar, and fancy breakfast, then stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetankengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel for 5 nights with my boyfriend. We had a very good time in Beijing and the hotel was good. Our room was a little bit small, and there was no cabine or curtin in the bathroom for the shower, so the entire bathroom went wet when we showered. That are the only 2 things we did not reaaaaaally like. The beds were good, little bit hard but good. The curtins were cleaned once during our stay. We got new towels every day, the staff spoke a little bit English during the check-in and check-out. We did not have to pay a deposit. The restaurant looked okay, but they serve only Chinese food, so we didn't eat there. The location of the hotel is also very good, near the metrostation that brings you to highlights of the city in about 10 minutes. Around the hotel are very much restaurants, and there is a bakery at the corner of the street with a lot of bread and pastries (Which we as Europeans prefered to eat in the morning instead of noodles).

We will go back here if we go to Beijing again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caressa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel has clean rooms and quite economical! The location is within seconds to the metro station that can get you to anywhere in the city!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommeegun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Ok as a hotel: Good quality, clean, good location close to the centre and the metro

It has no real common room, no place to relax with the rest of the group

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dillen_Fried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I spent one month in Beijing and the entire stay was spent at Huguosi Hotel. It was an excellent stay. The rooms were clean and spacious, I loved the glassed-in shower area, and it had consistent internet access. Xicheng district is near the music district and very close to parks. It is walking distance to some great shopping. The alley on which it is located is quite lively in the evenings in the summertime, and the folks were all very friendly and fun to visit with. (Do not assume that all Chinese speak English!! Most do not, so learn some Mandarine before you go. It will serve you well.) I suggest you carry the Huguosi Hotel address card with you when taking a cab as it will be helpful to your cab driver. When I go back to Beijing, I would definitely choose the Huguosi Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask to view several rooms before accepting the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reddogfineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Beijing Ron Yard Hotel
Beijing Ron Yard Hotel
#418 of 6,564 in Beijing
40 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#177 of 6,564 in Beijing
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#152 of 6,564 in Beijing
105 reviews
Bajiao Amusement Park
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
Mercure Wanshang Beijing
#125 of 6,564 in Beijing
199 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,564 in Beijing
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huguosi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huguosi Hotel

Address: No.125 Huguosi Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100035, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $53 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Huguosi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hutong is one of the symbols of Beijing. Huguosi Hotel, just your home, is in a distinctive Hutong – west end of Huguosi Street, adjacent to Xidan Commercial Street and Xinjiekou Commercial Center, and within Shichahai Historic Preservation Area. To walk eastwards from the hotel along the Hutong, you will have the opportunity to enjoy cultural and tourist attractions, such as, the old theater built in the early years of New China – People's Theater, traditional Beijing food – Huguosi Traditional Snacks Restaurant, famous Beijing Opera Master Mei Lanfang's Former Residence, the Qing Dynasty's corrupt official He Shen's residence – Prince Gong's Mansion, Royal Garden – Beihai Park and Shichahai historical and cultural tourism scenic spots. The great view of ancient architectural style and cultural atmosphere will accompany you all the way, why shouldn't you feel as free to delight in them. The transportation around Huguosi Hotel is also very convenient, over 30 bus routes, 5 minutes' walk to Subway Line 4 which can directly take you to Beijing South Railway Station and Beijing North Railway Station with convenient underground transfer system. Living in Huguosi Hotel, it will definitely make you feel happier only by such a great transportation. Let's have a closer look at Huguosi Hotel. There are 127 rooms, including economic rooms, standard rooms, business rooms, triple rooms and suites. Among them, there is always one made for you. Each room has a separated bathroom, digital phone, LCD TV, 24-hour hot water, drinking purified water and free broadband Internet access. Left-luggage and safe service are at reception desk. Huguosi Hotel also offers buffet breakfast, dinner and room service.In addition, five-story hotel opened smoke-free rooms, each non-smoking rooms are placed green plants that can purify the air. In a word, we are trying to satisfy your every need By the way, Huguosi Hotel is Hutong-themed tourism hotel and promotes Hutong culture. Once entering the hotel, the old Beijing's architectural features like red gate, blue brick and grey roof tile and the old Beijing's cultural landscapes representing folk custom, market place and Beijing opera's feature jump into you sight. All the scenes recall the memories of your childhood until your thoughts slide away unconsciously like a stream. Deep and serene Hutong, together with silent quadrangles, contains endless Hutong sentiment and expresses inexhaustible romantic charm of the old Beijing! We warmly welcome you to visit Hutong and Huguosi Hotel. We are just waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Huguosi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huguosi Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing