We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the other reviewers were right.”
Review of Beijing Courtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beijing Courtel
Ranked #2,852 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
manila
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the other reviewers were right.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

stayed there only 1 night, I was supposed to be there for 23 days. the room smelled like old dried out garlic. there was a plug-in heater in the room and a split type a/c (I think the bad smell came from the a/c). the bed was a China hard queen and there was .6 to .8 meter clearance between the bed and the wall. since the heater was a plug-in there were parts of the room that had cold spots. and you do not want to have cold spots if the weather is -8 or lower. the shower had really hot water, but if you turn on the water too much, you get water all over the bathroom floor. towels were old and thin, but the linens were nice and clean with down pillows. the only reason i'm not giving this a 1 is that they allowed me to get out of my reservation with no extra charge and no argument. i think they are well aware that they have big problems. i didn't take any pictures of the room, but my room didn't look anything like the one on the site.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeney_teng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    4
    9
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Is true that the location is great, but you feel constantly cheated. Since I arrived, they tried to give me a worst room than the one I booked because "the wi-fi did not work". I asked for an upgrade instead of a downgrade, as it was not my fault...and then they magically recovered my reservation in the same room and no wi-fi problems. "Breakfast included"...jeeez, a piece of fatty bacon and an egg, what a breakfast...The rooms VERY smelly and poor maintainance- the lady showed up to bring towells one day out of three nights.

My advice: keep walking, turn left and left again and you will find a WAY better option, the imperial courtyard hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adv5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Courtel definitely does not live up to what is advertised on the website. A group of us stayed at the Courtel in September 2011 for upto 4 nights. The place needs a massive clean & the awful odour seems to be around 24 hrs a day. The worst part of the hotel is the bathroom: I dreaded using it. It's dirty, drainage is bad, no exhaust fan and everything gets wet. The toilet leaks ensuring the bathroom floor is permanently wet & very smelly. The beds are rock hard & our bed definitely had lumps. On the last night I woke to find the ceiling had sprung a leak & water was dripping on the bed. The air circulation in the rooms is poor, hence the rooms smell. I looked at most of the rooms & except for perhaps the family suite, all rooms were of a poor standard. As almost all the other reviews point out, the basics are also missing: no hanging space & very little cupboard space; no tea/coffee facilities; no where to put cases which then take up whatever minimal space you have. Breakfast is basic but the cook is very nice & the communal areas are a good idea. Amongst our group of 19 people we had many problems: the staff did their best to resolve them & were generally pleasant but a couple were rude & disinterested. A big failure is the star rating: they advertise the Courtel as a 4 star hotel - at best it is 2.5 star but I think 2 star is more accurate. Although the price is cheap it's not worth any more & is an indication of the quality of the place. Loved the location with easy access to the train which is easy to use & cheap; taxis are also easy to get & cheap but make sure you have the hotel number ready as it is hard to find & the driver will more often than not have to phone to get directions. Plenty of good, local restaurants but it does help to have a local show you the best ones & what to order as they don't have menus with english translation nor photos to show you what the meals are so it can be difficult to order. Cost to eat out extremely cheap. Even allowing for the location & cheapness of the hotel I would never stay there again & most definitely would not recommend it. So unless you are looking for a 2 star hotel take heed of the reviews - as you can see the bad far outway the good & there has to be a reason for that!

Room Tip: If you still decide to give this place a go, check out your room before you pay. If not happy either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryl5F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I took a chance on the hotel even after the other bad reviews because of its great location. It is right next to the subway and off the second ring road, in walking distance to hipster hutongs and lama/confucius temples, drum and bell towers. But for what you pay, the quality of room and service is not worth the price. I'm not picky, and can take the faint, come and go smell of a sewage system gone array, but the rooms (even the 'free upgrade' room which we, too, were offered after a flight delay led them to give away our original booking) have an odor that is hard to handle and insufficient air circulation. Also, rooms in the same courtyard as office share large bathroom/shower windows with courtyard and bathrooms share windows with bedroom - a little awkward. The service was also not impressive. Guess the other reviewers were right! Besides location, a potentially beautiful space, and the wonderfully polite night watchman/cook, this hotel is not worth the price. With improvements, it could be a great facility.

Room Tip: Check out all rooms before you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cicadacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I worked in Beijing at our country embassy. We arrange our one friend wedding reception at Beijing Courtel Courtyard. From our home 24 person came to Beijing for wedding reception. We booked 13 rooms for 3 nights. all together package with wedding party.
We are Indian our country tradition is different than China. our all guest really enjoy their stay. we arrange all Chinese food Chinese breakfast. food is excellent thanks courtel's Sheff.
Courtel provide us very good service from airport pick to airport drop. Hotels furniture, style, environment all is Chinese traditional, We thinking three days we stay a different environment that we never been.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurukhetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed in this property for few days while visiting Beijing. Location is close to the metro station and close to a pleasant and lively hutong. Rooms are really small with no wardrobe or anywhere to put your clothes or suitcases. Bathroom is tiny too. However, communal facilities are pleasant. Included breakfast is scarce and, if you arrive a bit late, there won't be much to choose. Free internet is provided and staff is quite helpful and can arrange train tickets and excursions if you wish.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Courtel during the National Holiday, it was her first time to China and she wanted to stay in a Hutong type area, somewhere authentic. I had been to Beijing one other time and was sort of familiar with the lay of the land, but still was not sure where to stay. After reading the previous reviews (there were not many posted at the time and all were glowing) I decided this was the place to stay.

The pictures on the website are amazing, in fact the company did a great job and should I need a website designed, I may hire them. But sadly the Courtel does not live up to the grandeur. The place has seen better days and the wear and tear shows.

The rooms:
We paid for a superior twin and from the photos the rooms look big BUT:
- There are 2 twin beds with side table in the middle that separates the walking space
- A coat hook and a couple of hangers for clothes
- No storage, unless you count the piece of furniture the tv is on, oh and the side table

The bathroom:
This was the major turn off (no privacy and weird setup)
- The bathroom is a semi-room that is positioned between the windows and the bed area, the partition has frosted glass to allow any light that may come through into the bed area. BUT
- There is no door to the wetroom bathroom, only a curtain to appear to give you some privacy...
- The shower head is basically over the toilet, and the room is so small, everything gets wet anyway
- There are more curtains that allow you to block off the windows, but anyone walking past can hear you anyway
- The bathroom, is a wet room with everything in one area, no shower cubicle at all, weird!

The service:
The service was actually pretty good, the staff were nice and helpful, so I can't fault them there.

If you did opt for the shared bathroom option, I would forget it. The facilities are not that great.

The breakfast was average, but edible, the toast was good.

The area:
The Courtel is located opposite a subway line, but if you have ever been to Beijing, the subway system runs in a grid pattern, so you will often find that you need to transfer lines to get to where you are going, OR you need to walk a few blocks from the station to your destination. Quick and convenient but we chose to use taxi's.

There are local shops and places to eat nearby, but all the touristy stuff is a taxi ride away. This did not bother us because it is quick enough to get around the city during National holiday and tax's aren't too expensive.

We contemplated moving to another hotel, but the effort seemed too much for our short stay. The place was quiet ad while the beds were hard, we got a good night sleep. But would never stay here again. The plus side, we have a funny story to tell our friends.

Oh and we had a tour guide that was really cool, if you ever need a recommendation. He knows his stuff, is honest and fun.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocoasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,432 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,609 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,440 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#40 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Courtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Courtel

Property: Beijing Courtel
Address: No.8 Courtyard, Andingmen West Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,852 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Courtel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the opening of the first Chinese traditional high-class Courtel (courtyard hotel) in Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beijing Courtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtel Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing