We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$167
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$134
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$172
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$295
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,468)
Filter reviews
1,468 results
Traveler rating
873
442
98
36
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
873
442
98
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedmassage chaircorner roomring roadthird ringhigh floorsubway stationbusiness tripexecutive clubbusiness travelerbreakfast buffet isclose to the airportvery nice hotelchinese restaurantrooms are spaciousexecutive floorshopping mall
Filter
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 1,468 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Westin Chaoyang twice around Christmas 2012 - lots of Christmas activities going on (stocking in the room; free cocktails for 'ladies'; mulled wine + nibbles in the foyer; choir). Room was very up-to-date and comfortable. Well maintained bathroom. One issue: no running water one night, but this was fixed fairly quickly (and we were kept up to date with the fixing). Staff pleasant and attentive. Room cleaning standard very high. Comfortable hotel - would definitely stay there again. Breakfast had almost anything one could wish for in a buffet. Foyer lounge service was very good too. Free wifi in public areas (not in rooms). Dined in the Cantonese restaurant one night - service good (although asking for anything on the wine list caused staff to state that they would have to go get it and it would take 15 minutes. A litle odd.). Food very good for hotel food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenie-esplanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiece at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, and we're pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure your future visits remain memorable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Westin again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This property, which is located virtually next door to my company's Beijng office, offers the typical upscale Asian Westin experience. Even thought there was a foul up with my reservation, the front desk quicly rectified it and accommodated me right away in an upgraded room with a king bed on one of the exectuive floors. The housekeeping was spotless and the included buffet breakfast comprised a wide selection of fresh Asian and Western dishes. The exercise facilities are top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are truely humbled to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and for sure will provide you the same uplifting experience.

Best regards,

Management team
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

this is a long time coming and i have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. I have been staying in this hotel ever since it opened right after President Bush visited. I would stay there almost every month but when my business stopped in Beijing, I stopped staying since March sadly. It is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed especially in Beijing, and i will always go back and stay if i ever have the opportunity again! Kudos to the hotel and it is the best hotel in China! The staff are fantastic and the lounge is a great place to hang out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paullings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and sharing your great experience here with us.

Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure your future visits remain memorable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Westin again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The service at this hotel is really subpar for a Westin in Asia. At reception, it's very erratic, and the bellboys are not very helpful. All very unusual again for a hotel of this reputed calibre in the region. (For instance, the Westin Chosun is unrivaled in terms of service.)

The room was a decent size with a king size bed---with a very comfortable mattress. The housecleaning seemed quite good and consistent. Wireless connectivity was not very good; it died a few times in the late evenings when I was trying to work online and manage some conference calls with the US.

The bathroom is a bit cramped, with a separate shower stall, bathroom stall, and a bathtub. But there's very good water pressure, and the bath fills up quickly. The usual amenities are available.

Despite many claims, the gym is not impressive. First of all, they keep the temperature WAY too high so that you start perspiring even before you work out. The treadmills are clunkers, and the free weights selection is very very poor. They have a lot of machines, but they don't seem to offer much in variety. There is a pool as well.

Champagne brunch is a big feature of this Westin. As a former Beijing resident, I say "stay away." It attracts the worst kind of expatriates; I rarely ever see any Chinese faces among the diners. Kids run around. It's a lot of noise and not as relaxing as some of the other brunches in town -- nor is it decent value anymore.

The location is good if you want to spend your evenings in Sanlitun since you can walk to the area in 15 minutes. The traffic is hell these days in Beijing, and there is a subway stop just outside the hotel -- which is helpful if you don't have to travel during rush hour. Otherwise it takes a while to get a cab.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

The hotel management team have well received your comments and thank you for letting us know your feedback about your recent stay.

We will look into service improvement to ensure that your future experience is uplifting.

Thank you again and we look forward in being of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of a Viking cruise holiday. It was most definately the best hotel of our trip. The magnificent lobby, all shiny and new, is breathtaking. Our room on a high floor, had superb views out over the city. Huge comfortable bed with exceptional quality of linen, a bathroom that I could have stayed in forever it was so luxurious! A real haven to return to after some serious sightseeing. Lying in the bath gazing out over the city (Bathroom has a glass wall!) is just amazing. The toiletries were of the highest quality I have ever come across in an hotel and my husband just loved the coffee machine. We found all the staff charming and helpful, there is even someone to press the lift call button! We took all our meals in the Buffet restaurant and could not fault the quality or quantity. Everything was fresh and appealing with many items on the menu cooked to order.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrkneygalPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends at Tripadvisor.com and we are truly humbled having been rewarded with a full score.

Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future stays remain memorable. We look forward in welcoming you back to the Westin in the future.

Be Well, Be Westin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews