We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Beijing Chaoyang to your Saves list
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #39 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Westin Chaoyang twice around Christmas 2012 - lots of Christmas activities going on (stocking in the room; free cocktails for 'ladies'; mulled wine + nibbles in the foyer; choir). Room was very up-to-date and comfortable. Well maintained bathroom. One issue: no running water one night, but this was fixed fairly quickly (and we were kept up to date with the fixing). Staff pleasant and attentive. Room cleaning standard very high. Comfortable hotel - would definitely stay there again. Breakfast had almost anything one could wish for in a buffet. Foyer lounge service was very good too. Free wifi in public areas (not in rooms). Dined in the Cantonese restaurant one night - service good (although asking for anything on the wine list caused staff to state that they would have to go get it and it would take 15 minutes. A litle odd.). Food very good for hotel food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenie-esplanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiece at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, and we're pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure your future visits remain memorable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Westin again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    358
    80
    28
    16
See reviews for
56
113
64
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
594 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This property, which is located virtually next door to my company's Beijng office, offers the typical upscale Asian Westin experience. Even thought there was a foul up with my reservation, the front desk quicly rectified it and accommodated me right away in an upgraded room with a king bed on one of the exectuive floors. The housekeeping was spotless and the included buffet breakfast comprised a wide selection of fresh Asian and Western dishes. The exercise facilities are top notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are truely humbled to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and for sure will provide you the same uplifting experience.

Best regards,

Management team
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

this is a long time coming and i have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. I have been staying in this hotel ever since it opened right after President Bush visited. I would stay there almost every month but when my business stopped in Beijing, I stopped staying since March sadly. It is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed especially in Beijing, and i will always go back and stay if i ever have the opportunity again! Kudos to the hotel and it is the best hotel in China! The staff are fantastic and the lounge is a great place to hang out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paullings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and sharing your great experience here with us.

Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure your future visits remain memorable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Westin again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unidentified
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The service at this hotel is really subpar for a Westin in Asia. At reception, it's very erratic, and the bellboys are not very helpful. All very unusual again for a hotel of this reputed calibre in the region. (For instance, the Westin Chosun is unrivaled in terms of service.)

The room was a decent size with a king size bed---with a very comfortable mattress. The housecleaning seemed quite good and consistent. Wireless connectivity was not very good; it died a few times in the late evenings when I was trying to work online and manage some conference calls with the US.

The bathroom is a bit cramped, with a separate shower stall, bathroom stall, and a bathtub. But there's very good water pressure, and the bath fills up quickly. The usual amenities are available.

Despite many claims, the gym is not impressive. First of all, they keep the temperature WAY too high so that you start perspiring even before you work out. The treadmills are clunkers, and the free weights selection is very very poor. They have a lot of machines, but they don't seem to offer much in variety. There is a pool as well.

Champagne brunch is a big feature of this Westin. As a former Beijing resident, I say "stay away." It attracts the worst kind of expatriates; I rarely ever see any Chinese faces among the diners. Kids run around. It's a lot of noise and not as relaxing as some of the other brunches in town -- nor is it decent value anymore.

The location is good if you want to spend your evenings in Sanlitun since you can walk to the area in 15 minutes. The traffic is hell these days in Beijing, and there is a subway stop just outside the hotel -- which is helpful if you don't have to travel during rush hour. Otherwise it takes a while to get a cab.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

The hotel management team have well received your comments and thank you for letting us know your feedback about your recent stay.

We will look into service improvement to ensure that your future experience is uplifting.

Thank you again and we look forward in being of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of a Viking cruise holiday. It was most definately the best hotel of our trip. The magnificent lobby, all shiny and new, is breathtaking. Our room on a high floor, had superb views out over the city. Huge comfortable bed with exceptional quality of linen, a bathroom that I could have stayed in forever it was so luxurious! A real haven to return to after some serious sightseeing. Lying in the bath gazing out over the city (Bathroom has a glass wall!) is just amazing. The toiletries were of the highest quality I have ever come across in an hotel and my husband just loved the coffee machine. We found all the staff charming and helpful, there is even someone to press the lift call button! We took all our meals in the Buffet restaurant and could not fault the quality or quantity. Everything was fresh and appealing with many items on the menu cooked to order.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrkneygalPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends at Tripadvisor.com and we are truly humbled having been rewarded with a full score.

Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future stays remain memorable. We look forward in welcoming you back to the Westin in the future.

Be Well, Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

During my visit I stayed in 3 different hotels - Hilton, Grand Hyatt and the Westin. The Hilton was my favorite, while the Hyatt my least favorite. That places the Westin in 2nd position, as per my experience. Starting with lows, I was in Beijing on holiday and the Westin is far from typical tourist destinations like the Forbidden City. The Internet was really slow too. At first I thought this was just how it is in China, but at the other hotels I had super fast connections. Highs are as follows: Great gym and pool area; breakfast buffet was endlessly expansive - couldn't work my way through all of it; my room demonstrated typical modern luxury.
But then you may ask why the big hooray about the Westin? Well, I prearranged an airport collection through the Westin. When I stepped off my flight I was immediately received by a Westin representative who whisked me speedily through immigration, collection of my luggage all the way to the hotel car. I arrived at the Westin hotel having expended the least amount of effort and fuss and you can imagine after 13 hours of flying how good that may feel! As I stepped out of the hotel car, I was immediately greeted and ushered directly to my room for check in. Great experience. Great service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhabits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your Westin experience with our friends at tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed Westin airport pick-up experience. We provide high speed wifi service, please do contact us when you facing internet issue next time.

Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future visits remain memorable.

We look forward in being of service again in the future.

Be Well, Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

good hotel ,expensive to eat and drink but if you are sensible and upgrade to the exec floor this is much reduced ,can be hard to get a taxi from the city to bring you back and you need to make sure you have a card with the hotel name and know the price (around 25 RNB today) there are a lot of taxis who will rip you off and keep off the meter

Room Tip: book the exec floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonHBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your Westin experience with our friends at tripadvisor.com. We look forward to your next visit and look forward in providing future renewing stays for you.

Be Well and Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#45 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#5 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Kunlun
Hotel Kunlun
#88 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Yansha
Beijing Marriott Hotel Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Chaoyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Property: The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Address: No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#28 Business Hotel in Beijing
#35 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#54 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#55 Family Hotel in Beijing
#170 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Chaoyang 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is ideally located in the heart of Beijing and only a 25-minute journey from Beijing Capital International Airport. Commercial and shopping centres are also nearby. Hotel features 550 guest rooms and suites, Westin Executive Club facilities, offers 8 entertainment and dining options, 11 meeting rooms for events of various sizes and the signature Heavenly Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Beijing Chaoyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Beijing Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing