We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive lounge worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Ranked #23 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I had an extended stay at this hotel for two weeks, and it's the best hotel I've stayed at in a long time. I travel extensively, and have stayed at various five stars around the world. The quality of the rooms were excellent, and the executive loung exceptional. The gym facilities were average, but I noted many other guests using the personal trainer option. The hotel staff were friendly, and my stay was enhanced by their care. I would recommend asking the hotel for a humidifier and an air filter for your room. It is Beijing, after all.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the largest, and have two sets of floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us and the team is inspired by your words of praise. Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future stays remain memorable.

We look forward in being of service again in the future.

Be Well, Be Westin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

The front desk check-in is among the worst that I've ever experienced. No matter how busy, they will not let anyone check in before 3 PM, even for preferred guests. They hold all hotel rooms until 3 PM and release them at the same time. If you're on a tight business schedule, do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reasonableness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends at Tripadvisor.com and I would like to apologise for the delay of your room readiness during your most recent stayin our hotel.
Whilst we do our utmost to provide rooms for all our guests upon their arrival to the hotel, during high demand periods we are only able to guarantee rooms from 3pm onwards. We do not typically hold on to rooms until then, just that there is time required to ready rooms following our check policy of 12pm.

once again our apologies and thank you for your understanding.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a package tour. The hotel looks new, has good facilities and the staff are anxious to help. We had some minor problems which might have been avoided with better explanatory material about the room. Having said that we had a good room; the overhead shower was a great feature and the buffets for breakfast and dinner were excellent.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

thank you for your feedback and for sharing your Westin experience with our friends at tripadvisor.com. We also would like to thank you for a close perfect score. Our apologies for the minor set backs you incurred during your stay and please feel reach to me personally to share on what we can do in the future to ensure that your future stays are pure bliss.

Be Well, Be Westin!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I came to Beijing for business, but would come back just to stay in this hotel and relax. The facilities including the gym and indoor pool are excellent. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever seen in a hotel. The rooms were quite nice and my room included the use of the club level. The club level happy hour gave a great opportunity to relax and enjoy a fairly ample section of Asian and western snacks. The concierge was always very helpful and can print a personalized taxi card for your destination. The hotel is super convenient to the airport express train and not too far from the famous Beijing sites. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badwaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Chaoyang, Hotel Management at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us and we are truly humbled having been rewarded with a satisfaction score. Rest assured that we will continue to elevate our services to ensure that your future stays remain memorable.

We look forward in being of service again in the future.

Be Well, Be Westin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is one of the great hotels ever stayed and very easily connected to the city by rail.

The rooms are modern and are with world most comfortable beds. Internet service was flawless and Housekeeping was great.

Food in all the restaurants is good especially at "Grange" and the Chinese restaurant. The Sunday brunch is most lavish ever seen; there is vast variety of food and drink served. It is value for money.

The location is great, it is surrounded by few malls thus fulfills your shopping needs.

Staff is friendly and speaks good English; concierge desk was most helpful and assisted in getting trip to Great Wall at good price.

Sanlitun, which is a famous expatriate area and 10 mins walk away and you, can even take a train ride.

Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB_11101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your Westin experience with our friends at Tripadvisor.com and we are delighted and humbled to receive an almost perfect score. thank you again and we do look forward to be of service again in the future.

Be Well, Be Westin!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Westin Beijing is a fantastic hotel in the Chaoyang district (a ten min. walk to the embassies and Sanlitun - where there are great shops, restaurants, and bars). The rooms are up to date, modern, and comfortable. The hotel has a fantastic pool and workout facility. The brunch is amazing (one of the best in Beijing) and if you are a platinum member the exec. lounge is wonderful (great food selection, ambiance, and of course complimentary wine, champagne, and booze).

I have been staying here on and off for the past few months and am very happy with all aspects of the hotel with a couple exceptions. If you want to make sure your room is made up (in a reasonable amount of time) you have to call and request that it is done. Also, the hotel staff could speak better English...but we are in China so don't let it bother you too much.

Lastly, the restaurant and room service menu offer SHARK FIN SOUP from the in-house restaurant (Zen5es) - this is completely unacceptable for a western branded hotel - it really makes me and my partner very angry. We are going to write a letter to Starwood and possibly start a petition.

Room Tip: Any ending in 26 ie.1626.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends and partners at Tripadvisor.com. I will be sharing your feedback with the team and as always look forward in being of service again in the future.

Our apologies for the sharks fin soup availability in the in room dining menu. Westin has ceased the selling of Sharks fin for several years and our venue menus no longer list Sharks Fin.
Whilst is is printed in our in in room dining menu, it is not available and our new menu currently in printing does not list Sharks Fin.

If you do start a petition regarding the cessation of Sharks Fin being sold, please do not hesitate to reach out to us, as you will have our and my personal support.

Be Well.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, got the room for a decent corporate rate of around rmb1100 with free wifi no breakfast.  

Liked
- location was good for me as most of our meetings were on the East side and I liked being close to the restaurants and etc in Sanlitun, the location is a good place for business travellers but probably less so for tourists.  We had one dinner meeting close by the forbidden palace and with BJ traffic it took almost an hour to get there.   I liked the floor to ceiling windows that looked out at a large open space and was nice and quiet, also appreciated things in the room like the coffee paper cups in the room for mornings when you make your own tea and need to leave the room while it is still too hot to drink.  The in room breakfast menu was quite extensive and included healthy choices such as steel cut oaks.  There was also a decent choice of wine you could order by the glass to the room including ie Cloudy Bay's sauvignon blanc
- the gym was nice and spacious, there was even a large yoga studio, I  was able to squeeze in a massage and a pedicure, the massage was ok except that the masseur had obviously never been trained in spa etiquette and it was also the worst pedicure I ever had, she was really nice just obviously not properly trained.  The spa receptionist was also surprisingly grouchy.  

What can be improved
- bathroom had no air or ventilation
- the cab situation always a bit dicey, I like hotels that manage to somehow always have a cab or two ready to go, here waiting for cabs was a constant & of course the longest wait was early 6ish when rushing to the airport
- I definitely did not leave the do not disturb light on yet both nights there was no turndown service. 
- check in took a while (around 4 pm)  but check out was fast (at 6 am)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your recent experience with our friends at Tripadvisor.com and for providing such an experienced and honest view on our hotel. We are glad that you found time to renew in our gym and spa area and apologise for the taxi wait amongst others. The team and I do hope to be of service in the future.

Be Well!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,301 reviews
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#49 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,477 reviews
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anzhen
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#11 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,798 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
W Beijing Chang'an
W Beijing Chang'an
#16 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Chaoyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Address: No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#22 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#28 Business Hotel in Beijing
#52 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#150 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $154 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Chaoyang 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is ideally located in the heart of Beijing and only a 25-minute journey from Beijing Capital International Airport. Commercial and shopping centres are also nearby. Hotel features 550 guest rooms and suites, Westin Club Lounge facilities, offers 6 entertainment and dining options, 11 meeting rooms for events of various sizes and the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Beijing Chaoyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Beijing Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing