We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House
Ranked #7 of 982 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Extremely helpful staff, nice breakfast, cozy backpacker feel in the common courtyard -
Our small son felt at home immediately, loved the little dog, and we spent a lot of time in the "exercise/playgrund" close by.
Also, it´s really nice to experience the Hutongs and the parklife.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frk_nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 275 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2009

Believe the hype. I've been to many hostels around the world, and this one is right up there. In terms of value, it's definitely the best one I've been to. It's clean, fun, and quiet. Rick and Rachel are fantastic, and are the *only* hostel owners I have ever encountered that actually make a difference in the experience. They are your housekeepers, your travel agents, and even your chefs. Their english is great too! And the giant bottles of beer are something like 5 RMB.

The only negative part is finding the place, since it's in a series of back alleys and no one in the area speaks english.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MapleBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

I have stayed in a lot of hostels, and this is by far the best. The staff is fantastic and is always willing to help. More comparable to a hotel or inn set-up. Most rooms are private with private bathrooms. The courtyard/lobby is a tranquil retreat at the end of a busy day.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leelee8300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We arrived on Dec 7, 2008 in the middle of the freezing night. The taxi had trouble to find the way as there are funny zic-zac alley leading to the hostel. Location is fantastic, by walking distance to the Jinghans park and Forbidden City + bus #5, 810 etc...are available all the time. The staff with Rachel & Rick were very helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and my kids loved their "sweet & sour chicken" and cute dumplings. Even my ex-husband enjoyed the food very much. I loved their grapefruit tea. We had great time and I would surely recommend the hostel to my friends.
Keep the good work. Dana (Slovakia), Wardah+Saad+Nafel (Bahrain)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DanaWaSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We stayed at Sitting on the City Walls Courtyard house for 7 nights.
The hostel is more like a boutique hostel, and it is a bit more expensive than other hostels in Beijing but we really felt that it was worth it.
The hostel is located in a hutong alleyway just behind Jingshan park very close to the forbidden city. The location is excellent and really easy to get to most of the main atrations from. It also helps that upon arrive you are provided with a little info pack telling you how to get around and there is always someone close on hand to make sure that you know how to get to and from your destination. The pack also recommend restraunts, sights, and markets and even gives you advice on how to handle to bargaining at markets.
Walking into the courtyard from the alley is such a nice surprise and there is a really nice vibe hanging out in the common area.
We had a private double and after travelling for almost a year would be one of the nicest rooms and cleanest bathrooms we have had the pleasure of staying in.
Would absolutely recommend this hostel for anyone who needs somewhere a bit cheaper and more social than a hotel but a bit nicer than an ordinary hostel.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank wabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

This is a very nice hostel situated in the middle of a hutong(traditional chinese neighbourhood) with a great location not far away from the Forbidden City. Staff is extremely helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelzoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

More like a boutique hotel for the price of a hostel, the City Walls was a great base for a week exploring Beijing. Its hidden down a dusty old hutong alley, and very close to the Forbidden City. Rick offers good, friendly advice on how to tackle Beijing by foot and by bus, and the rooms are spotless. The whole atmosphere is very calm and tranquil, which you need after a day seeing the sights and dodging the street sellers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hohoagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#112 of 6,564 in Beijing
189 reviews
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 982 in Beijing
250 reviews
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 982 in Beijing
411 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House

Address: No.57 Nianzi Hutong, Jingshanhoujie, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 982 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: $26 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is Classic, Therefore it is Modern…¬City Walls (Beijing)/0 km…Staying and Being a real neighbor of locals/1 km circle…Forbidden city, Beihai park, Jingshan Park, Drum and Bell Tower, Houhai lake leisure area, Nanluoguxiang culture street. Senior officer’s private courtyards (China’s Chairman, Premier and Generals) Located in the central of the middle AXIS; definitely here is in the HEART of Ancient Peking.Quiet alleyway, friendly eyes exchange and warm greetings within neighbors, a simple and happy life atmosphere, all these are reminding you: Life Style in Old Town Beijing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitting On The City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing