We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House
Nearby Hotels
$196
$162
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$357
$335
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$244
$207
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$126
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$242
$183
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
165
89
18
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
89
18
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjingshan parkforbidden citydorm roomsuggested itinerariescheap beerstayed here for nightsother guestslaundry servicewalking distancehutong arealocation is excellentmajor attractionstaxi driversubway stationhostelwallhosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 277 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Pros - staff are excellent and friendly, location is really central, room is comfortable and nice, food ordered from the on-site kitchen tasty and CHEAP,

Overall fantastic, I would recommend, and I would stay again!

Cons....the bathroom is clean and definitely functional, but the water pressure was pretty minimal.

Hang in there with the location...when you first walk into the Hutong (which I did at midnight!) you might have doubts. If you are coming in from the street near the park, walk straight and then right when you reach a T intersection of sorts. Then follow the road left.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RElizabeth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Okay, so it took me a little while to find (do not cross the road when leaving the subway, take a left at the end of the street) and when I was close I was a bit dubious about it from the outside. However incr i had entered I was very happy with this place. The staff are friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable, they have cheap drinks available and have a good chill iut area. The showers were good and the staff can arrange trips/transport for you within seconds. One downside - the wifi was a bit slow at times but hey ho. If visiting Beijing again I would definately use this place

2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay here. Hosts were incredibly friendly and spent a lot of time at checkin explaining the local area and making sure we enjoyed our stay. The hosts could also arrange local trips which saves the hassle of arguing with shady and overpriced tour operators. Rooms quite nice as hostels go. In a safe and convenient area, although is down some small side streets so is a little hard to find initially. The other guests were nice and sociable, though it isn't a party hostel. Will definitely stay here if in Beijing again

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank S3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

City walls was amazing. As soon as we arrived we were given a map of the city and taken through all the main attractions and where we were in relation. The service is outstanding and they speak English really well.
Only thing I would advise is to try and get a room that doesn't face the courtyard, ours did but as it wasn't peak season it wasn't too busy/noisy but can imagine peak season being a bit noisy.
Overall would DEF stay again

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 1TAH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at many hostels in my time and city walls really stands out ! Great location, food and service :) Very helpful and cheerful staff that will help you with anything you need!! Can be a little noisy at night but everything else makes up for it. 5 stars

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Maff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews