We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“party house at the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Covo Restaurant

Il Covo Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 133 Restaurants in Mombasa
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Formerly a holiday house on two floors overlooking the white, sandy Bamburi beach 12 km north of Mombasa island. Il Covo opened its door in May 2003 and since then it has been the top dining and entertainment venue in Mombasa. The lower veranda overlooks the beach, a romantic gazebo just out onto the sea and is fondly called fort Jesus. Its' an ideal spot for romantic dinners. The upper deck has two balconies with a sea view. One of them is a sushi bar whereby our chef will create the freshest and most delicious sushi, sashimi and teppanyaki right in front of you. The second balcony, dubbed "A room with a view' is an ideal setup for a private family lunch or dinner with a perfect view of the sea and a breeze that never ceases. Our Italian cuisine is renowned for it's originality, our menu consists of a wide range of original pasta dishes, fresh starters, salads including a variety of fish Carpaccio, tuna and red snapper. Fresh lobsters, prawns, calamari and octopus all depending on the day's catch, are also part of Il Covo's luscious and extensive menu along with fabulously tender Aged Angus meats. Il Covo also accommodates a large wood burning oven which gives the best authentic Italian pizzas. Our flat serene beach filled with white fine sand lends itself as a perfect venue for beach fun parties and exclusive dinners. All you require is just to ask for a beach setup and we shall do the rest at no extra cost. The il Covo experience is not complete without visiting our very popular disco club located on the upper floor. Our DJ will ensure that you shed of some of the calories you gained after dinner.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“party house at the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

if you want to drink and dance and do whatever else you consider partying, this is the place to be. and if you want good italian food at lunch or dinner this is also the place to check out. its nice and quiet until 11pm when the party starts till dawn!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    48
    23
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rude staff and horrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

After being to this restaurant a lot on my trips I feel in the last few years this place has gone down hill and the staff are so rude these days to everyone and not willing to help any of there customers. Better places to go I'd say is yul's, the Indian restaurant behind yul's and also roberto's which is the place we have all started to go to plus with robertos also being an Italian restaurant they give some bread and bruschettas to start with for your custome..
If you can please avoid il covo until they start realising that there staff and food has an impact on there business and need to get repeat customers and to also the likes of air crew who are out here all the time which is there repeat business.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peterm33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Il Covo unchanged”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stopped eating at Il Covo some time ago as I had the distinct feeling that only Italians were really welcome there - and they got the best tables, even if I booked in advance. However,, I decided to give the place another chance and went there with a friend last month.
It all felt the same as before - same menu, offering a wide choice of well-cooked and presented dishes - same decor: the main room is very pleasant and cosy, but the upstairs 'overflow' room is dull and feels remote. As before, the service was slow and inefficient; the wine was served at the wrong temperature and it took some time to get our bill. Nevertheless, Il Covo does serve good food at an average price for the area and deserves a visit

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Asher6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The location is amazing, we had an amazing view of the beach from where we were sitting at lunchtime. The service is good and so is the food. The homemade ice cream is very tasty. It is a reasonably priced menu. Watch out for the monkeys stealing food from the tables.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j2bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Hopeless Party Place full of Desperados...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I don't dine here anymore as I've had a terrible meal here before and there are far far better places to dine at in Mombasa: Eataly, Thalassa, Monsoon, Yul's etc...

Il Covo has been a bar/club for many years now. I never liked it from the start and hate it even more. The music is rubbush, the place tiny with low ceilings, the service is the worst at the Kenyan coast and the patrons are pathetic.

Mombasa used to have excellent clubs: Starion, Blues, Mamba, Tembo, Toyz, Pirates ... however, they all seem to have disappeared (Tembo just closed it's doors on June 2nd 2012) and people are left with this dump.

The reason locals go: to try and pick up flight attendants ... sad.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Covo Restaurant also viewed

 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Il Covo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing