We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Village Apartments
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 18, 2010

On the pricey side, by amazing hospitality! Great food too.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Muthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    62
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
20
5
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed with friends in a 3 bedroom apartment in Village 1 back in November. Oh my, it was such a memorable, magical place . . . with two different terraces overlooking the creek and old -town Mombasa in the distance and muezzin's going off in the evening . . . two months later and I still can't get the place out of my mind! I was told the place was completely full, but it had such a private feeling . . . there were people around but it never felt crowded like some of the beach hotels can get. In fact, it had a real sultry, sexy feel about it . . . a great place for adults.

We kept thinking we should go to the beach or go into Mombasa, but ultimately we rarely left the hotel . . . it was so peaceful and relaxing! The apartment itself was very nicely decorated with exotic, but tasteful furniture, dvd, flat screen tv, fully equipped kitchen, spacious bedrooms and beautiful four poster beds. The bathrooms were a little dated but nothing that bothered us as we weren't spending much time in the bathroom!

Someone had told me that the Tamarind Restaurant was one of their favourite dining experiences in the world so I had very high expectations . . . well . . . it was so amazing that we didn't really eat anywhere else! (with the exception that we had room service from there and ate out on our amazing terrace under the stars!!) The steamed mangrove crab was one of the most sublime eating experiences of my life with a strong second coming in from the crab claws starter. My husband preferred the chili crab! It is expensive but oh so worth it to look out over the harbour with the twinkling lights in the distance and the soft warm wind wafting up from the water below.

The only real sop to activity was to use the well-equiped gym every morning so that we could justify our continued gluttony . . . a suprisingly good gym . . . we even had monkeys playing on trees through the window one day. It's got weights, machines, personal trainers and even instructor-led classes.

As I sit here in the UK looking out at the cold, raining weather, I can't help but be wistful about the Tamarind Village. Forget the crowded beach hotels . . . if you get the chance to go to the Tamarind . . . seize it!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We met one of the owners in Nairobi and were recommended to stay here. Fanstastic place, and I agree with the other comments. Great location, the bathrooms a little dated, but clean. Staff were great the pool and the hotel were generally fantastic. We had an amazing terrace which looked over to Mombasa ISland.

Ate ate the restaurant twice, fantastic food. Played a few sets of card at the Casino. All round fantastic.

They have a great gym (should you be so inclined) massage room and just about everything else. We only stayed here whilst in mombasa and didn't head up to the beach. Mombasa island is a little shabby and the night life pretty bleak, but in the end we just spent our time here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian_in_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Spent four nights here as part of a large party booked in for a Hindu wedding in Nyali. Although bathrooms now dated everything was clean and the terrace looked towards the island of Mombasa. Our apartment was high and had good views. Gardens and pools well maintained and private and the breakfasts taken by the waterfront were all you could want.
Perfect for quiet relaxation but close to Mombasa Town and shops/attractions.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalvernMoneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I stayed here in May with my boyfriend and we both thoroughly enjoyed the view from our room. The room was really big with a master bed and bath + a living room and kitchen--was really well kept. This place seems to really be geared towards long-term stays or people with families with the amount of space and kitchen facilities. The grounds were beautifully kept and the wait staff was very professional and friendly. We really enjoyed the pool and everyone was super pleasant.

We did the Dow dinner cruise which was also a lot of fun and the food was delicious. The next day we also ate at the restaurant and the food available was amazing. Prices were high but you can't beat the selection.

Drawbacks:
~The staff came to check on us three times within the first hour of our arrival...we would have preferred more privacy.
~On a brief outing to the pool we came back to find a staff person in our room, turning down our bed but the problem was the bug spray smell was incredibly overwhelming and we were glad to be leaving the room for the Dow excursion. We would have had to leave the room for a couple hours if we didn't have anything planned because the fumes were so strong.
~We could not find a do not disturb sign, we called to the desk and they didn't know where to direct us so we finally gave up and just hoped they wouldn't stop in again.
~On the Dow cruise, we were originally seated right next to the band, since we were some of the first to arrive they agreed to move us to another table, which luckily ended up only being occupied by us which allowed for a romantic evening--make sure to request a table away from the band, as they are quite loud.
~Although the food at the Tamarind restaurant was good, the fly problem was really distracting. I'm used to a lot of flies around food in Africa, but it seemed that a restaurant of this caliber would have been able to figure out a way to keep them away.

Overall it was a good experience, and we would definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxvacati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

where to start ? just great, service, very clean, very comfortable, very secure,quiet, terrific views over old Mombasa port and the Nyali Bridge.
Nyali is a suburb, quite well to do for Africa, on the North side of the river. It cost Ksh1100 by taxi to the airport, and about 700 into town. There is a good Italian within walking distance, up the road immediately opposite the Tamarind entrance, at the end is a shopping centre with a ten pin bowling alley a cinema a great Coffee house, and the Italian Restaurant. Also a great Steak restaurant called Hunters, had a really good steak there,it's just up the road about five hundred yards, from Tamarind- follow the sign.
If you can afford to eat out at the Tamarind restaurant itself, then I would do every night, but watch out because you pay about 28% on top in taxes, some places include the taxes, but make sure you check before ordering. ( residents get 15% off the bill )
Tamarind itself is breathtakingly gorgeous, and the gardens and two pools and the big gym look out over the water, as do the apartments, the Harbour bar, and the Tamarind restaurant. You have a view of the old Port and the river, and the sunset from your balcony. the pools are set in lawns, and there are loungers and tables and chairs, and no chance of being disturbed, except by the Muezzin, as Mombasa is predominantly Muslim.
Towels are changed daily, even the washing up is done for you.TV, dvd, music, fridge freezer air con and fans, effective shutters to keep out the light in the morning. we had a two bed apartment, with two bathrooms, and a big balcony with outside table and loungers. Good working environment if you need to. Reception staff superb. no money exchange though. If you want a beach, you can get a taxi to Bamburi beach, which was less seaweedy than Nyali beach, when we were there, but you will be hassled.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Quite a lot of steps
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Firstclassflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

I lived in an apartment at the Tamarind village from June-September a few years back. I love staying here! The property is perfectly secure, the staff is wonderful and even the dial-up internet service was not that bad (and free). I never used the spa, but I worked out in the gym on a regular basis which was air-conditioned and perfect to keep in shape. The kitchen had all of the necessary items and the two bathrooms were in keeping with luxury expectations. I did not have a washer/dryer (but they do have a laundry service), so if this is important to you, I would check and make sure your unit has one as this is apparently not standard in every unit. To this day, I find myself day dreaming of the time I spent at the Tamarind Village -- it was so peaceful, relaxing and I will forever look back on this stay as being one of the best times of my life.

  • Liked — Location (and the wooden shutters)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KENYASAFARIGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
5.8 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.7 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#19 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel
5.5 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village Apartments

Property: Tamarind Village Apartments
Address: Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Tamarind Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Apartments Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing