We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for coulpes and families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Village Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Atyrau Province, Kazakhstan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice for coulpes and families”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed two nights in the apartments unfortunately on business :-( Good food, nice pool and Gym. The rooms are well furnished with nice solid stuff and big! Only a short walk to the supermarket and cinema I did not have time for site seeing but it is in a good location

Room Tip: 165 has a nice view on the river and pool area and is handy for the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    63
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
22
5
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

there isn't that much to do in Mombasa but this hotel is truly five star. The rooms are luxurious, large and comfortable. The fish restaurant is superb. The swimming pools are great. Watch out for the cheeky monkeys that will want to get into your room if you have any food (keep the doors and windows locked!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David79986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in one of the apartment/rooms with a friend and the room was beautiful. It was spacious with ocean view, had a very large sitting room with kitchenette and two bedrooms. Easy walk out to the terrace and pools. Check in process was easy. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and the restaurant has excellent food. A great place to stay a few days. It is a taxi ride into Old Town Mombasa but by far the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Myself and a colleague stayed for three nights in a two bed apartment at the Tamarind. The apartment was huge, reasonable for two people and clean.

The room service was quick, and the food excellent. The breakfast was also very good.

Pool and gym facilities are good as well, and there are fantastic views to be had from this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgoody41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here with my family in a three bedroom apartment a while back, but remembered I never got round to reviewing. Three beds, three bathrooms, lounge, kitchen, dining room, terrace. Well, this place is excellent! We had arrived from another luxury hotel and we were very impressed, blown away, even! The rooms were fantastic - huge, well stocked with everything we might need, the terrace was so enormous we didn't know where to lounge! The restaurants (one along the creek and the main restaurant) were outstanding - such delicious seafood and indeed everything was brilliant. The staff were helpful but not intrusive. The pools were lovely and the views beautiful. Cannot recommend enough. We were unsure about the self-catering element but rather enjoyed eating breakfast on our terrace! Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed here quite a couple of times but realised I never shared with the world what a great place this is!
The rooms/apartments are very spacious, with lovely balconies offering stunning views.
If you are an expat looking for a place to stay for a while before you settle down, this is the place.
If you are on a business trip and you need a place to work in the evenings but to also relax, this is the place!
If you're a family on a holiday? This is it!
On my last visit I had a minor hiccup (was charged for a breakfast I didn't have, but to avoid further drama just ended up paying it, didn't find it very professional from the receptionist's side, especially as they welcomed me as a returning guest...thanks!) but that won't keep me from coming back again, and probably again, this place is just too lovely.
The restaurant is absolutely top, in my humble view best sea food in East Africa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a bit of a luxury splash-out on our way down East Africa, after few weeks of camping through Ethiopia and Kenya. Even so, we were blown away by the level of luxury on offer. The Tamarind Village is a colonial-style place, and it's not really a conventional hotel as it has no rooms as such, only apartment suites. Apparently they're all individually designed and furnished. Our one-bedroom suite was exquisite, with a huge wraparound balcony, inside and outside dining areas, living room, kitchen, bedroom with four poster bed, walk in bathroom as big again as the bedroom, and doors from the living room and bedroom onto the balcony, with a gorgeous view across the water to the old town. The furnishings were thoughtful and tasteful. Wifi was free and available throughout. Service and attention to detail was flawless: little things like free wifi available throughout, and complimentary newspapers in the morning; plus everything from replacing key cards to changing a light bulb was accomplished promptly and with a smile. The communal facilities were similarly excellent - there are two swimming pools, a bar and two restaurants. Even if you're not staying here, the seafood restaurant is worth a visit in its own right (check the separate entry on TA). A wonderful stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.7 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#17 of 58 in Mombasa
63 reviews
5.8 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#4 of 58 in Mombasa
201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Bliss Resort
Bliss Resort
#6 of 14 in Bamburi
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village Apartments

Property: Tamarind Village Apartments
Address: Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tamarind Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Apartments Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing