We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT APARTMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Village Apartments
kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT APARTMENT”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I am a frequent visitor to Mombasa both on business and pleasure and have often stayed at Tamarind Village when we could not make it to our favourite Leopard Beach resort on famous Diani Beach . In June we discovered a new jewel at Tamarind Village - apartment 144. This is certainly the best we ever stayed in - completely renovated and very tastefully furnished and decorated - all in white and very stylish indeed with a nice terrace overlooking some great tropical plants and the old town.Our dinner in the Tamarind Restaurant was excellent as usual but also getting a bit costly these days but what is not if one still wants quality. Breakfast in the Harbour Restauatnts in a tranquil setting overlooking the old port of Mombasa is always a good start of the day.
We will be back but also know which apartment to ask for.
Chrisinder

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eveisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    60
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
19
5
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The rooms are enormous. You fit a couple of families into them. The staff are very helpful.
Great balcony to relax on but, whilst beside the river, there is no beach onto the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

All rooms are big and comfortable however there is a big difference in quality. The first room I got was outdated (especially bathroom). Because there were renovation works ongoing on the floor above me, I moved to an appartment on another block. This appartment (room 133), nicely renovated, is better you could ever expect.
The staff was at any time extremely friendly, helpful and careful (both of the reception and restaurant). And the dinner in the restaurant, just delicious!
If I could again stay in the renovated part, I would certainly go back there.

Room Tip: As to get a room in the renovated part, I can certainly recommend 133
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harasfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Tamarind Hotel is situated just off Mombasa island, near to Nyali bridge. It is in a stunning location on the sea opposite the Mombasa old town. The sights and sounds of Mombasa are really evocotive and can be experienced from your balocny or from one of the two lovely swimming pools.
I have stayed at this hotel now about 15 times and what I love is that the hotel is made up of many privately owned apartments, all of them different and I have not yet stayed in the same one. Some have 3 bedrooms, en suites in each, living room and fully equiped kitchens.
Breakfast is served on the patio outside again with views acros the harbour of dhows sailing by and Mombasa boys swimming acrss the water and guys playing football and running up and down the beaches desite the oppressive heat.
If you decide to eat in the Tamarind restaraunt you are in for a treat as the food is superb. Try a traditional dowa drink as an appertiser (vodka with ice, lime and honey that gets better as you crush the ice and mix in the honey with the dowa stick) - highly recommended but be aware three will make your legs buckle as you are taken to your table..........Then sit back and relax to great live music and what must be one of the best views from any restaraunt anywhere. The house wine is lovely and worth trying rather than the more expensive varieties on offer. I admit the restaraunt is a bit pricey but well worth every penny.
I am yet to be disappointed by the Tamarind, and you will be amazed by the price compared to other high quality Mombasa hotels. It is not a beach hotel that is the only thing it does not have, it is however a great base to explore Mombasa and great if you are doing business in town. There is even a casino where you can get free drinks while you play if you are brave enough and a gymnasium and spa to get rid of th guilt from good eating and fine drinking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikethemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stay here usually when on business in Mombasa, and frankly its the location that forces me to stay here.

The whole place is falling apart rapidly, I had to change 3 rooms as air conditioners were not working. I was there for a week, and the final 2 days had the ac in the living room again break down but I was so tired I just let it be. The shower was a pathetic dribble that was barely enough.

This place desperately needs capital expenditure...

DONT stay if your on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KulaRaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The Tamarind's standards at the same speed as their rates are going up. Unless they refurbish the apartments and public areas it's only deserving a 3* rating which comes at a 5* rate. The rooms are clean but dated, another annoying issue is that it's a real lottery what type of apartment one gets, some come with large flatscreen TVs while others are equipped with an ancient 21' mini tv.
On my recent trip I noticed some work going on so let's hope the complacent management/owners are waking up.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonesHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Expecting fabulous things I was rather amazed that when shown to our apartment it looked like a bric a brac shop with mismatched dated furniture and electrical items thrown in a heap and badly plugged into overloaded sockets. The mould in the grouting in the bathroom didn't give the feeling of cleanliness either. When I asked for a hair dryer it was delivered to the apartment and whilst I popped out, it was removed before I had had a chance to use it. They then revealed they only had one working hair dryer. But I didn't appreciate someone coming into the apartment without our knowledge. We asked for a late check out and 2 hours before found the maid in the apartment having cleared everything out including towels which then had to be replaced as we wanted to have showers having come up from the pool. Needs a good scrub and uniformed smart furniture. Nice location though and pools were clean. Harbour Restaurant could do with some updating and be careful of the prices as they don't include tax! Tamarind Restaurant next door was superb and I can highly recommend the Chilli Crab!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windyridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
5.5 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
940 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Creekside Hotel
0.7 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#19 of 58 in Mombasa
47 reviews
2.6 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Village Apartments

Property: Tamarind Village Apartments
Address: Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Tamarind Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Apartments Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing