We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beach Resort”
Review of Bahari Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahari Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,041 reviews
399 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,157 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach Resort”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for two nights to dive with Peponi Divers located at the hotel. (The hotel is off Mombasa Marine Park.) If you book through the dive center you get a 20% discount. It’s worth being on the meal plan. I read the reviews about the poor food and decided to have one day half board and one day with just breakfast included. You can choose to either have lunch or dinner on half board and the difference in price to not being on half board is just 200 shillings! Despite this try to have the hotel arrange for you to see the sound and light show and have dinner at Fort Jesus.

The hotel caters mostly to German tourists and both the dive center and the hotel are efficiently run. Staff are very friendly and helpful. You can get good massages and there is an excellent gym (open from 5-9:30 PM weak nights) next to the hotel where you can buy a day pass for 400 shillings—cheaper for a week. The food was okay. There is a good selection unless you are a vegetarian but the cooks were happy to cook me a vegetable curry or some other dish of my choice.

The hotel wasn’t busy but even so the deck chairs were all reserved early—you are in a German colony after all. Tip the beach boys to reserve you a choice spot. There is not a lot of hassle on the small beach in front of the hotel by the kanga (sarong) vendors.

Rooms are small but spotless and white and the morning sun streaming in through the mosquito nets and curtains makes you think you are on a wooden dhow. Note that WIFI only works in the reception area. They do have one computer you can rent.

Note that as with a lot of the East African coast there is strong tidal displacement. This means that you might have to walk for quite a while to reach water you can swim in once the tide has receded. It also means that you might have to wait until 12:00PM to do the first dive of the day as otherwise the boats need to be anchored to far offshore to allow loading. So this isn’t really an ideal beach resort. Despite this I will stay here again when in Mombasa as the price was fair for the amenities and service. Arrange for a taxi to pick you up at Mombasa Airport for 1600 shillings (45 minute drive) either through the hotel or dive shop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
57
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We dove with Peponi Divers which operates out of this hotel and were blown away over how nice this place was. We ended up staying here for most of the day to avoid returning to the Bamburi. The views are gorgeous, the staff very accommodating, and the grounds are amazing. There were plenty of little hideaways overlooking the ocean. The food took forever to get, but we found out that everything is prepared fresh, ie, when you order fries, they start cutting up the potatos! (!). We didn't branch out too much on food, but we'd highly recommend the fish and chips.

The manager Kathryn (?) took pity on us and made us her personal guests to tea (waffles and crepes included). She is in the perfect profession for her personality. She made us (non guests) feel very welcome. I would highly recommend booking here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Love the room sizes and cleanliness.
Staff extremely pleasant and helpful
The food - not the greatest cuisine but there is a good variety my favorite is the fruit platters, the pasta corner and the selection of cheeses and hams.
Drinks - best buy cash the free drinks on the full board offer not fizzy enough.

Spa - very relaxing

Great pool area.

Overall - its a great place for holiday, conference and work trips.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanja_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The room was nice and clean with a very comfortable bed. The staff were attentive and friendly. The manager Katrine is AMAZING and friendly.
One drawback, the food is quite mediocre, but for the price - you get an amazing beach, clean hotel and nice pool. Can't really complain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciru W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed stayed at the Bahari Beach Hotel for 3 nights, and absolutely loved our stay their.
We particularly enjoyed interacting with the friendly staff there like Michael ( Masai waiter),Kathogi the bar man and, the finance manager,David Karanga who is a wonderful host.

The rooms are clean. although the water is quite hard and salty salty but we were informed that in due time, they are receiving a machine which will soften the water for easy use.

We also enjoyed the bars pitched up on cliffs and the hammocks and the the food especially Breakfasts, were quite tasty.

All in all, it was a wonderful 3 nights stay and we hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maasaielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I think Bahari beach is a good hotel. The service is good and the staff very polite and helpful.
The breakfasts are really nice and you have the possibility to eat early if you're on your way for an excursion.
However the lunch and dinners is quite expensive for a typical german quisine.
The italian restaurant is averege and so is the seafood restaurant.
The spa is great even if I dio't have that mouch to compare to.
We chosed Bahari beach for te garden, the pool, the hammocks, to have the beach right outside and because of the diving center in the building and all of those choises turned out just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GurraSiljehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
964 reviews
3.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
531 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#16 of 58 in Mombasa
390 reviews
4.8 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahari Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahari Beach Hotel

Property: Bahari Beach Hotel
Address: Nyali Beach | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahari Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bahari Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing