We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Palm Tree Hotel
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had never been to Kenya before and didn't really know what to expect. Yes this hotel is in a very central location in Mombasa but what we didn't realise was that this wasn't necessarily a good thing. There is not really anywhere to eat around the hotel and the restaurant closes early. We were robbed outside the hotel whilst in a taxi that was stuck in traffic, so it's safe to say that the area is not very safe and as 3 young women, going out after dark was an absolute no no.

We actually used the hotel as a base before going on a 5 day safari and wish we had decided on paying extra for the safety of one of the hotels on the coast.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, which actually can be said for all of the African countries we visited. Even at one point the receptionist let us use her phone to call our safari tour rep. But we had to ask for our beds to be made and for mosquito nets and the toilet in our room didn't flush, which was not fun at all when you have a dodgy tummy!

For $27 US dollars a night you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazkaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    35
    48
    18
    4
See reviews for
15
40
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Place is rather run down. Maintenance was very disappointing, We booked online and were happy with the price.
Staff was obliging and helpful. Dining hall cleanliness also poor - lots of flies!.
Room Linen reasonably clean. Upstairs ambience pleasant with large open terrace with potted palms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel one night before a safari and a night after the safari. The two nights have completely different reviews.

Night 1: We were less than impressed the first night. Upon arriving, we were told our original room was not available and that we would be "upgraded" to a family room. This ended up being unbearable as the room was too large to be adequately cooled by their air conditioning. Further, the shower heater is connected with exposed wires which seems like a terrible idea. The power also went out a couple of times (killing our alarm clock) but I don't know if that was a city problem or the hotel.

Night 2: We were really happy the second night. We were put in a smaller room that was more easily cooled and had a nicer bathroom. We had no electrical problems.

As for other features, the location is great. You're in the heart of the city and can walk anywhere you need to be. The service was average. The included breakfast is sufficient to get you through lunch and meals there are as good as you'll get in the area we stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

For 2200 KSh, about US$27 per night, I can't really complain. The location is good, pretty central and with walking distance of the main attractions.
The hotel itself is old and in need of a total re-vamp. My room leaked everytime it rained, and it is now the rainy season, and the windows had no security screening or mosquito netting, so couldn't be left open. The whole place feels 'tired'.
The breakfast, included in the price is good, but after a few days becomes very boring. It needs to offer a few more choices and more variety.
For me the biggest disappointment was the restaurant. the lunchtime menu was limited to local dishes only, and in the evening, and all day Sunday, it was closed. Considering that many who say here are tourists, I don't understand this. There were few restaurants nearby, and finding somewhere to eat in the evenings was always a problem.
The staff are friendly enough however, and I would stay here again, mainly because there are no alternatives around the same price, so near to the centre of town.

Room Tip: WiFi reception on the second floor is best in rooms 18,19 and 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was delighted when I saw on Trip Advisor that New Palm Tree Hotel in Mombasa was affordable and in the heart of town, not too far from Fort Jesus. The reviews were helpful in helping me to manage expectations. It was a lovely place for the price and comfortable too. Lovely courtyard, colonial style, with potted plants that made it welcoming and homey. Rooms had mosquito nets, which were necessary as the windows had no nets so leaving them open to air the room during the day would allow the mosquitoes in. Although hot water was available, which was great as it was a little cold when I visited, careful with the showers as there is instruction to let the water run before and after turning on/off the water heater to avoid electrocution. The receptionists, house-keeping staff were friendly and helpful. They advice that you leave your valuables at the front desk when going out and collect a receipt. Internet is available but reception is best outside the rooms and in the reception area. Please take repellent when sitting and browsing in the reception or you would be a feast!
Breakfast was included in the price, which was nice! Standing outside the hotel, you can easily get a tuk-tuk to go around town. Also, the famous tusks and Fort Jesus/Old Town are just a walking distance.

It really was nice to stay there and I will recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy staying in beautiful Mombasa on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroto, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for one night in New Palms as we were shifting from the beach to early flights from Mombasa Airport. We were recommended the hotel by a person we met at the beach who said he had stayed there on many occasions and had never been disappointed. I was also not disappointed - the service was friendly and helpful, the breakfast fine and served early (even on a Sunday), the value was good, the location ideal, the AC and TV were fine, and the 1st floor patio is a wonderfully quiet haven considering its central location in down-town Mombasa. I recommend the hotel to readers of this entry and would go back again. However, as all the other reviewers have noted - a coat of paint is needed, a better signpost is essential (our taxi drove past 2 times before we found the place!), the WiFi was erratic (but free so I can't complain) and the electric shower heater did not appear that safe. Hence the average score, but this should not put you off staying as it is in a great location - walking distance from central business Mombasa and Fort Jesus in Old Mombasa - and great value. One strange thing in the room which we had on the first floor was that the very good mosquito net was not over the bed - for which I could see no reason as it could be screwed equally well above the bed - and so we had to move the bed when we wanted to sleep! Oh, there was also a mini fridge which was great for keeping our drinks cool. AC, fridge, TV, Wifi, wonderful patio, etc... all pretty exceptional for the price. We used the Hotel Taxi to get to the airport, it cost 1500Ksh, had a very friendly driver and took about 20 mins on a Sunday morning.

Room Tip: During weekdays I suspect rooms on the front of the Hotel could be busy with traffic noise, so the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As many have said, the price is right. We stayed for a week primarily because the price was right. Needs a new coat if paint, inside and out, and a new front sign. Parking should be banned in front. They should change up the bfast every other day and need better wifi on second floor. But I would stay there again. That's the ultimate test.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truescot-Cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Jundan Hotel
Jundan Hotel
#36 of 58 in Mombasa
18 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#4 of 58 in Mombasa
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#46 of 58 in Mombasa
44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Tree Hotel

Property: New Palm Tree Hotel
Address: Nkrumah Road | Old Town, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Palm Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Palm Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing