We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the 1970s”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mombasa Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is probably one of the worst I have stayed at. The infrastructure dates from the 1970s, the bathrooms in the rooms are awful (low or no pressure / hot water takes forever to come through). The breakfast is limited. Staff seem demotivated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 113 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Located in Nyali, the posh part of Mombasa, but certainly not a poshy poshy hotel. It appears that this hotel caters mostly to conferences hosted by Kenyan government and tight budget NGOs. The room was on par with a $15/night inn, but at a $80/night price.
PROs
- Room A/C was good
- on the beach
- didn't hear the Jambo Bwana song or hakuna matata once!
- the staff took good care of me (even got me a free ride to town)
- not far from the Nyali Mall, Bob's and other places to eat and drink. Just a few miles from Mombasa town.
- there wasn't the constant hustle as soon as you stepped on the beach. Probably because the hotel caters to nationals/budget
- big pool though it was a little cloudy
- beds and linens were a bit worn down, but no worse than at some high price places in the country

CONs
- no hot water and low water pressure
- food was standard Kenyan fare - ugali, rice, beef stew, choma, beens, githeri, plus some overcooked fish. This is fine and I eat it all the time but everything was oversteamed and under spiced. After three days I had to go to town to get something with some flavor.

Neither here or there
- internet in the lobby only
- TV (didn't watch it, but the porter demonstrated that it worked)

If you just need the basic necessities or a place to sleep between excursions, laying by the pool/beach then Mombasa Beach Hotel is fine. If you want a posh place go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The sliding glass door to my balcony didn't work so I would choose a ground floor, walk-out room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ajpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I was booked here and while it is a good location it is clear that the hotel is not maintained. The toilet in my room has a rusty bottom and didn't flush well, the shower is built for someone 4 feet tall, the sliding doors did not shut well and the air conditioning did not work well. This place has clearly seen better days.

If you're going on vacation this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanaki, Guest Relations Manager at Mombasa Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Globl,

Good Afternoon.

On behalf of Management of Mombasa Beach Hotel i would like to formally apologize for the inconvience we have caused during your stay with us.

What you have highlighted is truth and we are in the process of doing a major refurbishment of the unit as we speak.

We are embarking on working on phase one which will cover 50% of the rooms, the whole frontal areas and the swimming pool as from June/July 2012 and thereafter Phase 2 will touch on the remaining areas.

The Bathroom especially will receive more attention we are actually contemplating on doing away with the bathtubs and having and having ultra modern bathroom.

Kindly accept our humble apology and promise that in the next visit you will get to see a much better Mombasa Beach Hotel the unit of Kenya Safari Lodges and Hotels.

Looking forward to hear from you on ways we can improve our facilities better.

Have a lovely day.

Kind Regards

Nyakio N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT VISIT. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES HIRE THE MEN TO TEACH YOU HOW TO WIND AND KITE SAIL!!!!!
This place is a filthy dump with employees who will tell you one thing, then make you pay 10x more. They are bullies. Also, the beach is dirty and filled with sellers and hustlers. Save your money and your time. Go to the Sonesta.

Room Tip: Stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WorldTravelStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanaki, Guest Relations Manager at Mombasa Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear World Travel Star,

Good Morning.

Am responding to your review posted on the TripAdvisor .com. We do sincerely apologize for the ordeal you underwent with the Kite surfing staff at the Mombasa Beach Hotel. We have since been in-touch with the Staff and owners of the kite surfing unit and have advised them to have their rates be well displayed at both the reception and at the site to discourage case of fraud or rip off to our clients.

Additionally all items or services in the Hotel for sale have now been priced and publicly displayed to avoid the fraudulent practise.

We appreciate the updates and we look forward to serving you better.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies.

Kind Regards,

Nyakio N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My family stayed here for 2 days this year in September, 2011. When we got there, the rooms looked pathetic, the beds were not done, there was no fridge in the room. However we decided to suck it in and check out the next day, unfortunately, it was the muslim holiday Idi, and most hotels were fully booked. We had only paid for a two day stay, but our son wanted to be in Mombasa for a third day, so at we paid that morning for a third day. Fortunately or unfortunately, we got an urgent call from home and we had to cancel the stay and head back to Nairobi. When we went to pack our stuff, around 2pm, the room was not done yet, evrything was just the way we left in the morning when we went out. But believe you me, the hotel decided that they were gonna charge us for day room use, even though we had not used the room, and no one had stepped foot in that room to tidy it up. We did not object, they took half the money, but said, they would refund the rest (even though we paid by debit) through their bank (barclays bank). As I write, we have been thrown back and forth, and we have not seen any refund yet in our account almost two months now!!!!The food was good though!!!!, They had ver good African meals, like nduma, ugali and choma

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We ended up here after our Monach flight went US. We were supposed to be staying in a comparable hotel to the one we had been in (Southern Palms Beach Resort, Diani Beach), let me tell you there is NO comparison. The place was filthy, the food foul (I got food poisoning), the rooms appalling, the beds had fleas, there were cockroaches, the swimming pool was green, the corridors and a number of rooms stank of urine and damp, the bathrooms were dirty, air conditioning was from the Ark and only worked in some rooms, there was mould in the cupboards and old breakfast cereal on the floor. NEVER AGAIN, there were no redeeming features.

Room Tip: My only tip is DON'T GO!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Madwife36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanaki, Guest Relations Manager at Mombasa Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Madam

Good Morning.

On behalf of the entire management of Mombasa Beach Hotel we would like to apologize for the the experience that you went through at the hotel.

We have since improved our services on the area that you mentioned ranging from the room to the food.

Our level of service has also gone higher and we endeavor to ensure that it will stay that way for years to come.

We do appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the same.

Do have a lovely day.

Kind Regards

Nyakio N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My stay at this hotel was my worst holiday ever in Mombasa. I had gone there on April 2009 with my wife and family after having an amazing stay at a hotel in the Tsavo East National park, so we were looking forward to two days of beach and fun.

My hopes of fun at the hotel were quickly dashed as soon as we arrived. We were welcomed in only to find a crowd at the hotel lobby. We realized that the place was open to anyone, regardless of whether they were hotel residents or not. So basically it looked like a day inside a market with people walking in and out in droves. I was expecting to have an exclusive ‘private’ holiday but this was of course not the case.

We were later ushered to our rooms 2 hours later. I was immediately struck by the poor state of the room. It smelt damp, the rooms looked ancient, almost like they had never been repainted and did not get an ocean view room. I basically felt cheated of my money, as I could not believe hotel rooms could be in such a poor state. I genuinely wished I used my money to buy a tent instead and spend the rest of my holiday camping.

Unfortunately, it got worse. Later when we went for dinner, we were met by another crowd/mob. We found it impossible getting seats and when we finally got one, the tables were not set. We had to shout at the waiters after we waited for 20mins to receive cutlery. At this point, my holiday cheer was lost, down in the pits. I felt like I paid money to live in a training army camp.

After I was done with the mediocre food, I decided to retire to my room and sleep off my frustrations. I was soon rudely awakened by insane loud reggae music. I later found out they had decided to hold a live concert right outside my hotel room. I was left with no option but to wake up and join the noise. I soon got to enjoy it though and danced away my frustrations till morning.

I spent the next day sleeping and checked out with my family that evening. I absolutely do NOT RECOMMEND anyone to visit this hotel. Your money will be better off spent buying rocks than staying in such a dreary, dingy, and lifeless run down hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank motsomi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanaki, Guest Relations Manager at Mombasa Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Motsomi85,

Good Afternoon.

Am sorry you did not get your holiday fully with your family during your April 11' Holiday at Mombasa Beach Hotel.

We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you and your family.

Kindly note that in Kenya we do not have private hotels as this would be regarded discriminatory by the Kenyan Government. What we do is to enhance the security and do crowd control measures that ensure that all hotel users are thoroughly screened at the point of entry to ensure that security risks are contained.

We have done touch ups in all our rooms and we are currently working on a major refurbishment of our unit Mombasa Beach Hotel which will be done in two phases starting June/July 12'. Phase 1 will cover 50% of the rooms including all frontal areas and the second phase will cover the remaining areas thereafter.

We are working with controlled entertainment in the hotel to ensure that the entertainment we offer to our clients will not disrupt any other clients peace and quiet.

We do appreciate your feedback and apologize once more.

Do have a lovely day.

Kind Regards

Nyakio N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.3 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
231 reviews
3.1 mi away
Creekside Hotel
Creekside Hotel
#13 of 60 in Mombasa
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#10 of 60 in Mombasa
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#20 of 60 in Mombasa
406 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombasa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Beach Hotel

Address: Mount Kenya Road | off Links Road, Mombasa 90414, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range: $89 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mombasa Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mombasa Beach Hotel is under the flagship of Kenya Safari Lodges & Hotels is located in the Kenya’s North Coast. It is only 10 km from Mombasa Town and 18 km from the Moi international Airport Mombasa.. It is a prime destination for conferencing and leisure in its many conference outlets. Various kinds of water-sports are available, in addition to excursions to Marine Park, nature trails, Old Mombasa Town and cultural villages.Despite the Hotel’s proximity to Mombasa itself, it exudes an air of tranquility with huge and well maintained tropical gardens that provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. Overlooking the Indian Ocean are its white sand beach suitable for sand bathing, wedding and public functions at the Cavern Beach Bistro. All the 152 rooms have SPACIOUS SEA FACING BALCONIES. The hotel has 145 Standard rooms and 6 Executive Suites. All the rooms are equipped with guest amenities with a recent addition of satellite TV/DSTV, wireless internet connections and split unit air conditioning systems.The hotel has four bars namely:-Kaskazi Bar, Deck Bar, Pool bar, Sports Centre Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mombasa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing