We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mon séjour”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Hotel
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Montmagny, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mon séjour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

1- Room was not very clean at firts. (black hair around the toilet, hair & dust on the floor).

2- The room needs some care, new painting.

3- The building needs some love as well but it still looks ok. Don't wait too lon to put some repair.

4- When we go on the beach, local vendors are likes sharks!!! REALLY IRRITATING when you only want to relax! Cause we don't want to spend 5 days in a row at the bar...A general beach vendors politics would be welcome. "Don't come to me and I'll come to you". I think they would make the same amount of money by just letting the people to shop as they are use to do in there country. Again, it s really unpleasant.

Your employees and the general service is very very good! That's your strenght! I hope you pay them well cause that's the main reason why people are coming back to your place! I've had an excellent impression of them. Thanks them all for me please.

Food is ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Yannick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    142
    88
    26
    40
See reviews for
71
141
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Was almost excellent. Food was very good; variety and changing menu daily. On the other hand; food and drinks served at the Tanga Bar & Grill are heavily overpriced. Ksh250 (£2 or 10 Zloty) for a bottle of beer. Chips and 2 mixed grilled skewers plus salad and a prawn starter will cost around Ksh.1500 [£10, 50 Zloty) (per person)!!!! For that price, you can get two large fried tilapia fish, fried octopus, squid & kalamari, ugali, kachumbari, fruit salad, drinks and desert of your choice (for 2 people) and still have change!!! That's exactly what we did after trying out reef hotel's overpriced snacks.

Dinner was always excellent. The only down side is, there's no drinks provided at dinner like breakfast..not even water??? com'on.. If you sold you're drinks at fair prices, you'd definitely get more orders.. There's also no music being played in your bars (Tanga) unless there'e pool activities..Com'on... A pool bar with no or limited music??? Plus the Half-Moon beach-side bar had music but the WRONG music.. slow jams like "i will always love you" and Celine Dione being played in the afternoon..really???? You should be playing lively music like lingala or local Kenyan music..

Only bad experience was the confusion at the front of house. I had a note left in our room to call reception urgently on the 2nd morning. Did so and they said i needed to pay my accommodation bill..really??? That was done like a month ago... plus how would you check me in if i hadn't paid the bill??? plus they took copies of the receipt of payment when they were checking us in... Front of House and Accounts department need to ensure this doesn't happen again.. Communicate with each other!!!

Room Tip: The sea-view room is not really as it sounds like because of the surrounding palm trees, but much b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

ICPAK decided to hold a conference at Reef Hotel so i decided to book my accommodation there.
Meals: Really excellent, i was impressed. No napkins however just one serviette!
Rooms: I've never heard of hotels where one has to pay to use the safe! Why not include the charge in the hotel room (approx.US$1.50 per day). The safes are so small, a laptop cannot fit. One can however leave their valuables at the Reception free of charge (doesn't that beat the purpose of charging for the safes?)
Unless you pay for the superior rooms, the rest don't have fridges.
GYM: Try it out at your own risk. No treadmill, no cross-trainer, just one bike that is sooo rusty one can barely cycle. Two other weight machines which looked like they would snap anytime. This gym is actually a tragedy waiting to happen.
Pools: 3 of them and excellent. Problem is they are open from 7.00am to 5.45pm. This means someone like me whose conferences ended at 5.30pm was completely cut off.
Entertainment: The local professional entertainers were pretty good BUT the animation by the staff was ridiculous, embarrassing, stupid and childish.

This is one hotel i shall not be visiting any time soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyawera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mombasa hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I arrived at the hotel in the evening and found the reception staff to be very helpful and accommodating. My overall stay was really good, the meals were always good and the evening shows were always entertaining. The daily pool activities is a nice touch especially with meeting new people. The rooms could be a bit more decorated. The Staff throughout the hotel were always friendly. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donovan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at Reef Hotel for a night in October. After i had heard so many negative things said about the Hotel,i was expecting a very average stay but was ready to face it. Surprise ! It was not as bad i had pictured,the Hotel is quite expansive with good facilities.The rooms are a bit outdated but one notices efforts to renovate here and there. The bedding was ok,A/C not working properly though but towels need to be discarded for new ones(very old).
The dinning area was good and the food ok.The staff are friendly and willing to go an extra mile.
Depending on what one really prefers,most rooms are sea-facing but with a lot of activity so if you would rather have a quiet time then ask for the rooms that are nearer the gate before the reception area.
In my opinion,their rates are commensurate with what they offer

Room Tip: ''Rooms at either end of the main sea-facing block are nearer the sea therefore great'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie294207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

It saddens me to say I have had an unhappy stay at Reef. I am a frequent guest here, have stayed 12+ times in the past 5 years and have loved every stay until my recent stay last month. I booked through FTI, a German tour operator (never again!). I didn't book the cheapest room as I didn't want a garden room, I wanted a sea view room, so I booked a more expensive room. I arrived early in the morning and the guy in reception tried to give me a garden room, I told him I hadn't booked a garden room so he gave me a sea view room. However later that day, the "new" front office manager contacted me and told me I would need to pay extra to stay in the sea view room. I showed him my FTI booking, I showed him how I booked it online and how I had not chose the cheapest room, he still insisted on charging me for a sea view room. I contacted FTI about this and they were no help either. That night when I was in bed, I got a call from reception saying I owe money for staying in the sea view room. I told them I was in bed and would deal with this matter in the morning. The next morning, I was awoken before 8am with a phone call again saying I owed money to stay in a sea view room.

I was so upset as I am a very frequent visitor to Reef, I bring lots of friends out with me from Ireland and the UK to Mombasa and we all stay in Reef, I invite my Kenyan friends into Reef every night for dinner and spend lots of money in the hotel but this is how they treat their good guests. The front office manager only started in Reef in Sept and this is how he treats his guests. I did not book the cheapest room, I had written proof of it but still he still insisted I was wrong. So I moved to a Garden room for the rest of my stay as I refused to pay the extra money, he even tried to get me to pay for the couple of nights I stayed in the sea view room! So be careful with your bookings as you do not want to encounter the new front office manager as he is likely to make you cry.

Usually all good hotels all over the world upgrade their frequent guests, never downgrade them, that has to be a first.

It is such a shame as the rest of the staff are as wonderful as ever, especially Isabella in Customer Relations, she should be called Saint Isabella.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are quieter as they are on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann G, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Woods,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for the time you spent sharing a review with your personal experience on your stay at our hotel, as we are always happy to learn from our guests how to improve in our daily services.

We were surprised to see your review on Tripadvisor because you wrote an email to our Managing Director and we did send you a reply.

We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered however when we receive reservations from a tour operator such as FTI we offer the room type that has been booked by the tour operator. We have an agreement that if guests wish to upgrade from a garden room to a sea facing room there is an extra charge per day. As I understood our Front Office Manager offered you a 50% reduction for the upgrade.
We are sorry that you think our Front Office Manager has not acted correctly but rest assured that he was following the standard operation procedures of the hotel.

FTI offers all our roomtypes on their website including the sea view rooms and they are slightly more expensive than the standard rooms with garden view.

Please note that during the week of your stay, we were almost fully booked. It might not have looked this way because a lot of our clients are participating in meetings.

The service orientation of our staff is one of our prime pillars and we do our best to school them to be guest oriented at all times, this is why we are very sorry to hear that you couldn’t take full advantage of this aspect of your stay.

Once again we thank you for choosing Reef Hotel and we do hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Ann Gallen
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

If the hotel management read this, I so hope they take these points on board. They have a charming hotel, with (on the whole) very friendly and attentive staff.

But the place just seems disorganised! Example would be that on all inclusive you can't have your lunch at the snack bar during restaurant hours - I appreciate that the restaurant food was perfectly adequate, but they insisted upon ladies completely covering up, even sun dresses weren't allowed.....kind of defeats the object of staying at a beach hotel if you have to shower and dress for lunch!

I think the reason for this was that the hotel was very quiet, so a number of the bars weren't open, and only one of the restaurants was open at a time when I think there is supposed to be two.

Entertainment was ok, drinks were nice although the bottled beer included on the all inclusive (allsops) was not to my taste, and the draught tusker was not working at any of the bars throughout our stay.

One big plus was the use of proper glass bottled soft drinks, although for all inclusive customers it seemed odd that they would go to the expense of using the small glass bottles of coke etc (not a complaint, was a very nice surprise actually), rather than using the machine they had (again not working).

We didn't bother to venture on what looked like a nice beach due to the fact that if you even peered over the wall, the beach boys came running, and I can't be doing with the mither when I just want to go for a walk.

Swimming pools were excellent, particularly having a pool which you can just swim lengths in is something I wish more hotels would do. Cashier was next to useless, took us half an hour wait to get a safe deposit box working in our room, and I had to get a bit shirty to get them to sort it out, and they never seemed able to change a $50 note without an inordinate wait (half an hour seems standard).

Reception staff were a little off hand on our arrival, but this was a one off, the same lady was very pleasant through the rest of our stay, as was everyone else at the hotel.

Security was a bit odd, being frisked and body searched with a metal detector on arrival all seemed a bit over the top when we then just walked into the hotel with two 20kg suitcases which could have contained anything (if they were really bothered about weapons etc).

Overall a nice week's stay, on a par with the voyager down the road but considerably cheaper.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
2.8 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
3.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Property: Reef Hotel
Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Hotel Mombasa is a friendly, relaxed Hotel, professionally managed since 40 years by the same family to serve a mix of international and resident guests. The hotel offers a combination of resort facilities for beach holidays, as well as business services including conference rooms and corporate business facilities. The Reef Hotel Mombasa is conveniently situated on the white sandy beaches of Nyali overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean. We are adjacent to the very best shopping areas, clubs, restaurants and golf courts and only 7 kilometres north of Mombasa city centre. The original Reef Hotel Mombasa was built in 1972. The hotel just had a significant renovation and has re-opened with new designed rooms and public areas. Reef Hotel rooms are air-conditioned, each with its own bathroom, balcony, telephone extension and TV. Buffets are the traditional way we serve meals with a international mix of cuisine. Enjoy our romantic candle-lit dinners on theme nights (African, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian, International, etc) and regular barbeques. A choice of 3 restaurants and 4 bars, and water sports directly on the beach assure you that the Reef Hotel Mombasa is ready for your holiday. With regular entertainment by our resident live band and disco, 3 fantastic swimming pools, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, relaxed sun-bathing and elegant evenings; yours will be a very special holiday in Reef Hotel Mombasa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing