We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent guide” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Jesus Museum

Fort Jesus Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Half Day Mombasa City Tour
Ranked #2 of 56 things to do in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fort Jesus is Mombasa’s most popular tourist attraction. The fort, located along the coastline near the Old Town, is a monumental piece of architecture that was built in the 16th century by the Portuguese. The fort has a museum that displays various artifacts from the era where Mombasa served as a transit point for the slave trade and commodities, and which enjoyed regular visits by seafarers and the like.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Phillip was our tour guide at Fort Jesus on a hot afternoon recently and he was amazing. He had so much knowledge about the fort, the history of the region and the continent. The tour of the old city would have been overwhelming without his expertise to guide us through the narrow, unmarked streets. I highly recommend this as part of the Mombasa experience, especially if you can find Phillip to guide you!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 02130e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    246
    125
    26
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swakopmund, Erongo, Namibia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tracing the ancestors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was and still very intrested in hisdtorical and cultural recording and rweal life documentarioes.Mombasa RAHAJ.
T here is no real experience if you have not been to FORT JESUS while in Mombasa. MOMBASA.
The history is all alive as it has been done recently.
I can only commentthe NATIONAL MESSEUMS OF KENYA AFRICA 2009 PROGRAMME for the the work well done .

I learn alot and would love to come back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good historical piece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Museum is 2nd visited place in Kenya so its very popular. Infact i would say in my own words that no Mombasa without Fort Jesus. Its a landmark, I appreciated everything from the ruins, to the architecture the museum and everything especially the big guns or whatever they call them, the strategic location etc. It just tells me how clever a human being can be.
The museum is very nice and habours most of the artifacts and others items collected there. The dry well and the walking around was refreshing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For history enthusiasts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Fort Jesus is situated in the Old town in mombasa, by the waterfront. You can hire a guide to take you around the fort and tell you bout it's history. I would recommend it, cause otherwise it wont be as interresting. The guides are standing outside the entrance of the fort, or the most hotels also can help you with guided tours to Fort Jesus and old town.
The fort has a great view and some museumlike rooms with exhibitions and artifacts. It's really nice to have a guide to tell you about the different things you see and the history around the fort.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Merete1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington Surrey England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fort Jesus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

A hour is all you need. Very interesting site. Our guide explained bwhy it is called Ford Jesus. But I won't spoil it by saying. Afterwards go and see the Old Town.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartinSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Jesus Museum also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Fort Jesus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing