We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not for us - Butlins in the warm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed February 21, 2007

We booked the Voyager having read all the reviews on here, and thought it would be the perfect place to be following 7 nights on safari. All we really wanted was a week of peace and relaxation to finish our honeymoon.

We arrived in the evening, were led through the restaurant and were a bit concerned when we saw ballroom dancing as the entertainment, but stayed open minded. Taken to our room, and were pleased to have an upgrade with wine (so bad it made my husband sick after one glass) and fruit, a bit worried that we were just behind the restaurant.

In all the week was standard - the pools were beautiful, but got lots of hassle (even told that rich English people have so much money they could book trips straight away), food was random - some nights great some terrible, service was also very random - some staff were giving us Swahili lessons, others were incredibly rude.

The real problem started a few nights in, when we were woken at 8am by sawing and hammering noises - they were building a stage at the back of our room. Sound-checking started at midday, and turns out there was a gala dinner on. That night there were no staff, no drinks with dinner, and most of the food holders were empty. The bands and shows lasted til midnight - when we complained we were told just to watch their entertainment instead (sadly, there was only so much 'Masai' dancing to rave music we could cope with).

It was a disappointing ending to our honeymoon, a nice and clean hotel, but had the feel of a giant Butlins camp, not helped by the fact that we were about the youngest people there (both 27). A word of coution would be to be very careful about the food and drink, I contracted Shigella while at the Voyager (definately not on safari) and am still suffering 3 weeks on.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,850 - 2,856 of 3,132 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2007

I was extremely fortunate to be taken on holiday with the parents at the end of January, and even more fortunate to be taken to the Voyager Beach Resort! We spent 7 nights there at the end of January and a fantastic time was had by all. We were all thoroughly depressed to come home and could happily have stayed there longer; I could happily have stayed forever!

The hotel is well maintained, set in beautiful grounds which they always tend to. Yes, they are in the process of refurbing rooms, something all hotels must do! But we stayed in a room that had not yet been refurbed and there was nothing wrong with it at all. The three pools are all of a good size and offer something for everyone. However you do have to get up early to reserve a spot, especially at the Infinity Pool! We gave up on that one and spent our days round the fun pool, which is great. There is an awning which provides much needed shade and overlooks the stunning Indian Ocean and of course, there is the Animation Team (those guys really earn their money and are deserving of much praise for their constant hard work and humour!) who are on hand to entertain you with activities including water aerobics and volleyball amongst others. They really like you to get involved, and you should as its good fun, but they will also leave you be if you really do not want to join in.

We stayed all inclusive and must be honest that we found the food in the main restaurant a tad repetitive at dinner. Such a shame that you do not get to experience more of the local cuisine. But the Italian and the seafood restaurant are both nice and the food is good. Evening entertainment is worth a go with all sorts of different nights including adaptations of West End shows, local acrobatics and singing. And there is music afterwards for those who like to dance.

We went on a day’s safari with Hits and had a bus to ourselves which was great. It was a long day but well worth it. Our guide Yusuf was informative and very friendly and with regards to payment, Freddy came by the hotel a couple of days later and we paid by card. It was great value and we will definitely do a safari again, this time longer though!

You should really try out the all inclusive water activities too –great fun. I also paid to have a windsurfing lesson and it was well worth it. Peter is a very patient and good natured instructor. It is well worth a go! The Beach Boys are persistent but you really must not let them deter you from the beach, it is actually best to acknowledge them as they are not threatening at all, just trying to earn a living.

All in all, the holiday was fantastic, too short but we will return again. This time with the brother in tow too! He can not wait to go scuba diving!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank GeorgieAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

Had a lovely time in Kenya and would recommend it. Voyager Hotel - staff very friendly and rooms clean, food was good with a different variety each night. DO NOT book and pay for upgrade as this appears to be very much pot luck. We were moved from our first room to the one with the barbed wire view as it was the only one available with a very much take it or leave it attitude. If you look at the attached pictures you will see what we received for £700 for the fortnight upgrading to Superior Room Seaview. Other guests appeared to be getting upgrades with better views than we had for very little cost or no cost at all! The holiday was booked through Cosmos and the Reps could do very little to help us with our room problem. We found the non-management staff very helpful but once it went to management level, there seemed to be very little they were prepared to do. We were offered a free meal at the Cove on our last night as compensation - approx cost £16!
Definitely book a Safari with D. M Tours as you get a jeep with a maximum of 4 adults in it. We highly recommend Severin Camp and Galdessa Camp in Tsavo. The difference between the jeep and van is that the jeep goes more places and you don’t have 6/8 people to contend with looking out windows! Booked two trips with Steve (in yellow cap) on the Beach - no problems and we had the van to ourselves on both trips. Highly recommend Mwaluganje Elephant Sanctuary and if possible stay a night. Tents beautiful and lots of company at the water hole! BUT 4 WHEEL DRIVE ONLY! Haller park brilliant. Guides very good and informative. Don’t bother with Mamba Crocodile Village.
Worth visiting Bombolulu village. They make a lot items for Hotel shops etc but we preferred to buy there as it goes back into the community. We also bought from the Akamba Handicraft Company. You can wander around watching the carving happening without any hassle and at the end you buy from the shop. If you see someone’s carving you like, you look for their number attached to the items in the shop and again the money goes back into the community.
The people on the beach are okay. If you tell them you will come and look on your last day, as you walk along they will then leave you alone, but they do remember your face and your promise. As long as you are aware of the costs of items in other places you are okay.
What finished us against the Voyager was an emergency on the beach which we assisted. We found a lady distraught on the beach, her mother had collapsed and was going into a diabetic coma, we went back to the pool bar for some water but was told it was before the 10am all inclusive deal. We had to wait and sign for it, took it back and everything turned out okay. Spoke to Reception about it and they said that we should not have to pay as it was an emergency and all would be sorted. Paid the bill the last night and the water on the bill. Reception staff horrifed and spoke to management and crux was we were offered a free bottle of water. It was not the cost involved, it was the principle that someone was in distress and needed urgent help.
We know other people will not agree with us about the Voyager but this is our personal experience and we hope it makes you aware that things can and do go wrong.

Stayed: February 2007
8  Thank squeakpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Hi everyone,

As me and my fiance stayed in the voyager resort last November we were actually disappointed after reading all these great reviews.
But let's start with the positive things first. As we arrived we were blown away by the amazing white beach. The hotel looked pretty much like a family hotel and a lot of kids were around, 3 restaurants and the staff members were really friendly. The food seemed alright, just the cheesy life music from the 'Hot Chocolate Coconut band'(?) in leopardprint costumes singing the same song (Hakuna Matata) all night made us leave as soon as we finished eating. The rooms are nice, with huge beds.
Tired from the flight (never even consider to fly with monarch airlines) we fell asleep were woken up at 8am(!) from hammering and loud noise in the room next to us. When we got up to investigate we found out that they were doing some refurbishments in the rooms. We spoke to the duty manager and were told that this is just the time of the year to do some work, but promised that tomorrow they wouldn't start until 10am. Unfortunately the next morning the same thing started again and again the morning after. So it was obvious that there was no communication happening at all between the management and the workers. After the third morning we requested to be moved to another room which happened the next day.
As an apologie we received an upgrade to a bigger room with seaview, which was great.
In the morning we just couldn't belive how unlucky we were as a hammering noise came again from the room above and when we saw that the workers lifted up tiles in the bathroom etc. This time we got told that they will have to finish the room and can't stop but as apology we got a voucher for a dinner in the seafood restaurant. So at least we had our lobster, with the us everywhere following band...
So the two weeks seemed to end in a disaster, woken up every morning on our holiday! At least we had booked a 3 day safari for the following day.
But is got worse, as we decided to eat at the Italian restaurant for a change as the third restaurant was under refurbishment(!!). We had a table together with another couple and my fiance ordered a steak, me and the other couple had ordered pasta(puuuuh). The first bite and my darling looked at me as there was something wrong with the steak. Well, I didn't even had to try the meat and everybody at our table confirmed from the smell that it was off. And this was a shock because no one really wants to end up in a hospital in Momabasa! We told the chef staright away, and he didn't really get anything else out as 'Would you like a new one?' (???). So my partner made himself sick because he wouldn't want the meat to stay inside.
I have never smelled off meat before, but please belive you just knew that THIS one was off!
The three days out made us enjoy our holiday a lot, to see the animals and we had great fun.
Once we were back to the voyager we just waited for the time to pass, looked twice what we ate and spend our days at the pool, because of all the local people at the beach bothering and trying to sell us stuff. There were no tourists at the beach except for the ones jumping in the water and then fleeing back in the hotel. Over the last week we even spotted 2 prostitutes in the hotel who seemed really young (one looked under 18) with some tourists and when we spoke to the security guard he told us that the hotel guests will have to pay for their 'Kenyan friends'. We just expected from the hotel that they wouldn't allow that, but it is for them just some extra money they make.

Well, so we won't be back here again!
We still had a memorable holiday though, not because of the voyager, but because Kenya is such a wonderful country and the voyager is probably the best you can get if you consider that you are in Africa. But there are a few things to improve and there is absolutely no excuse for off food! Sorry!

For anyone going to Kenya: Make sure you get out of the hotel and don't be afraid of meeting local people, even if it feels unsecure sometimes. And don't forget about local orpahanges, they need everything they can get!

Claudia

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank claudia008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

Had a fantastic time. The rooms were clean and well maintained. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I told Anthony who worked in the bars that it was my birthday in a few days time but he was to keep it a secret. He respected my wishes but sought me out on the day to sing happy birthday! We were also well looked after by Paul at the Kaskazi bar whom I must thank for introducing me to some wonderful cocktails!

The food is very good quality although I will confess that I was getting a little bit bored with the selection by the end of the second week. Both Smugglers Cove and the Italian restaurant were excellant.

We booked our safari through Mustapha and Steve who are located on the beach. We had no problems at all and we flew out to the 5 star Mpata Lodge in the Masai Mara. The lodge is located at the top of an escarpement looking out over the plains. The views were stunningly spectacular and I would recommend a stay here to anyone. Our driver Patrick was a real character and always went the extra mile if he thought he could show us something new. We didn't see any Rhino but Lions, Elephants, Giraffes and all the other animals began to seem almost as commonplace as sheep and cows at home. I would recommend anyone to stay here although the ride up the escarpement is on the bumpy side!

On the whole an excellant holiday which has guaranteed that I will return to Kenya.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Andrea75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

Before we left my girlfriend & I reviewed the Trip Advisor reviews of a number of Kenyan Hotels. Thomson have recently marked this hotel down from a 4T to a 3T - personally I think they are wrong.

We stayed in a superior room (you get a TV, better location and a few other bits) not much extra cost.

Service - throughout our stay was second to none, the staff could not do enough for you.

Food - we only went to the main restaurant (did'nt try the fish restaurant, nice setting or the Italian) and the food remained interesting, tasty and varied. The team did their best to vary themes & seating locations (including moving everything outside on more than one occasion).

Location - Voyager is only 20 mins from the airport, very convenient for Tsavo safaris and nearby for several short excursions into town or local attractions - all in all well placed.

Safari - if you get a chance try out Finch Hattons, Tsavo West, its fabulous - book it direct via Somak

Beach - beautifully white beach, clear blue sea - safe to swim in with excellent watersports and purportedly the best scuba centre in the area

Guests - predominantly British, some German, some French and variety of others

Would we go again - definately!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank newcatle_crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

My husband & I have just returned (yesterday) from our 2 week honeymoon in Kenya staying at the Voyager.

Where can I start....BRILLIANT from start to finish!!

The hotel itself was excellent, clean with all the amenties & beautiful grounds to top it all off! Made only better by the excellent staff, all very attentive, friendy & always made an effort to know your name.

We spent a lot of time with the animation team who we have very high regard for....if you want to get involved there is a reward sceme for you joining in, you get given a coloured bead which represents points & then at the end of the holiday you can go to the shop & swap your points for a prize e.g. wood carving. t-shirt hat etc.... a great idea!

I personally loved the idea of the boat, as we got to "Dock" in a different country each day in the restaurant which meant the food was varied which is great when you are there for 2 weeks. The staff also have relevent outfits for the different countries which just is another lovely element.

The evening entertainment could be worked on a bit, but still very good they have something on everynight from their resident band to shows the animation team put on (Cats, The Lion King, Wizard of Oz.........) along with local acrobats, danacers & the masi warriors!

The free cat ride from the water sports deck is also great well worth the 30 mins they take you out as you get an excellent view of the beach. Haller park is also a must costing only KsH 1000 taxi ride & 600 KsH to get in to be so close to all the animals.

Please can we ask anyone visiting Voyager to please continue feeding the camels Charlie, Jamelle & Susuki bananas now that we have gone, the owners are incredbly grateful. we felt they didn't really get much business & deserved some help!! plus they're lovely!

We were lucky enough during our stay to have been at the hotel for one of the Captains cocktail evenings which apparently take place every couple of weeks. During the hour of cocktails the captain & his management team gave out the awards for the employee of the year along with other awards. It was very toucing the gifts & recogintion the management gave their staff.
Jackqueline ( i think that's how she spelt it) in the restaurant won the award with a break in the masai, 10,000 KsH & a flight to Eurpoe....what a prize! mind you she is brilliant!

I would thoroughly reccomend the Voyager for anyone wishing to vist Kenya & I hope within the next couple if years I hope to return.

Well derserved of its 4.5 rating!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheThomsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 61 in Mombasa
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#18 of 61 in Mombasa
104 reviews
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 61 in Mombasa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $139 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing