We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voyager Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my time there, very good value for money. The ocean view was incredible and environment was very relaxing. The all inclusive packages includes free drinks from 10 am till midnight. The only problem was the "middle men" who appear when hiring a boat ride to the Coral reef.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiprono R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 3,098 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family recently stayed at Voyager Beach Resort (21 - 25 May 2014) and I must stay I was a bit skeptical and didn't expect much (my husband booked without telling me :-( but well, it turned out the total opposite. The hotel is beautiful, I loved the grounds. Food was a.m.a.z.i.n.g, great variety especially at dinner, the staff were very friendly and helpful all the time. We had a 20 month old with us so there was this adventure place, some sort of kids playing center - I didn't like it at all. It wasn't clean, and the toys were old and broken. The rooms are okay but can do with some refurbishment. Entertainment was excellent. The hotel seems to source their providers very carefully. Mombasa roots had great singing on Thursday and their acrobats did not pull the usual acrobatic stunts.The hotel staff also entertained the guests on one of the nights, very professionally I must say. They even brought real Maasai dancers from Amboseli! Overall, I highly recommend the hotel and I would definitely consider returning there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. We have taken note of the areas that we need to work on to enhance our guest experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at Voyager between 20 - 27 of may and it was absolutely fantastic. The people were extremely friendly and kind to us, allways willing to help and to make us feel excellent. The food was great (different specific every evening) and the drinks were allways cold and tasty. The rooms were very clean and well prepared by the crew. The resort has 3 big pools were the Animation teams will make you feel in shape.
We got a superior room with ocean view although our reservation was for a standard one (because we were in our honeymoon). We felt very safe and secure not only in the resort but also during the trips that we took (Mamba Village, Haller Park and 1 day safari in Shimba HIlls). We had a great time there and hopefully we will return soon.
Thank you to Voyager Team for making us feel like spoiled children.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiu_dache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic honeymoon experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to hosting you during your anniversary together.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Francis, thank you for the awesome package. Couldn’t get it better.

We enjoyed the dockings in Mumbai, Shanghai, and Beirut and on the High Seas, thanks to the Chef-in-charge.

We wish to commend, Jacquie at reception…congratulations also!! Officer of the Cruise Philip Said for the good hospitality and explanation of cruise-culture, Paul the barman for the Lovely Rum Cocktail as recommended by Officer Philip. And John at the dining for always bring the fresh tea. We would also wish to commend your Animation team for keeping us all entertained…. We did not need to go anywhere else for entertainment.

The cruise rooms were clean and gardens green. Lovely pools and bars.

See you next Cruise


Tom C. Yegon

Room Tip: many sea facing room. Ask for them early... Lovely views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team and colleagues you have mentioned are excited to have been part of this experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

So lets start with the positives- great weather in Mombasa. very freindly staff, reception staff met and greeted us offered us a lovley drink and took bags to our room as we boarded the ship. Decor round the hotel is good. Food was satisfactory, they could have been more local food on offer, the Chef will go out of his way to meet any special requests so do ask to speak to him and he is ever so frienndly. Please do tip the staff they work relaly long hours and minimum wage there is nothing compared to here. entertainment team are fantastic wow they made our week there. They worked really hard the extravaganza, bollywood night, etc was amazing, live bands was brilliant. The atmosphere was lovely for familys and couples. The kids club was good too kids really enjoed and well looked after. Varied activities like football on beach, craf work, they escorted kids all day to breakfast lunch and dinner too, swimming etc. Adult sports good too, again hats off animation team!!
But please donot compare the hotel to 5 star hotels you have stayed in abroad. The hotel was going through refurbishment when we were there but we were not inconvinienced however we had to change our rooms twice. The manager on duty a lovley lady i forget her name now was happy to personally choose our room and she did good- we got the garden facing superior rooms with balcony and nets in the rooms, tv, tea facililties, laundry, shower, (no baths), tastefully decorated to represent local atmosphere, swahili furniture, mineral water for brushing teeth and clean fresh towels and robes.
Ok so what about the pools? there are 3 pools- one adult one that was heaven on earth really it was level with the sea, bliss, clean and looked after. The sports pool by the bar was good too, more popular as drinks were served nearby. No bar by the adult pool bit of a shame, only one waiter taking orders and took while for drinks to arrive at adult pool. Fun pool is where all teh activities are so noisy but nice view and fun for kids. A bit run down in terms of paint work under the bridge but they were sorting out as we left hotel in april. This pool is open till late at night so was awesome. pools not heated obviously but the sun was os warm that the pool was heaven to swim in. Service at the sports pool was awesome. The staff in green overal around the grounds will even climb up palm trees and get you madafu (coconuts) so you can drink the refreshing madafu juice. Overall we had a great time. It is a good hotel maybe not the best but still we had a great time with family and little ones. We swam for hours adn as it was ll inlcusive we ate for hours too lol. I hope you find this useful- go with an open mind- request the garden rooms with adjoining door and balcony the view is stunning and the rooms huge and have airconditioning and fans. Ask for your cleaning staff to put nets on and spray room and voila no mosquitoes! Take insect repellent though just in case. Lots of suncream, a hat and sun glasses- my kids loved shirley temple - sprite with grenadine lol and enjoy Kenya!
Ask for Daisy at reception she is very friendly an dhelpful- also all staff speak English so easy to communicate. Tipping is part of the culture but no staff demanded you tip them they were happy to help always smiling. I still left a small gift for the cleaner, the receptionist and teh porter and animation team as they worked super hard!

Room Tip: Garden suites- on the side of the restaurant, adjoining rooms, spacious with balconies, we were on f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhananif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. We have appreciated the areas where we need to improve on and for sure we will work on this areas.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently stayed at the Voyager Beach Resort and as usual, I was not disappointed. I loved the stay as the weather was perfect, the sports activities were on point, the trip to the marine park was out of this world, the food was great, the staff friendly and I generally had an excellent experience. The garden view was awesome, the sea view was magnificent....I hope i get a room there the next time I am there...this is in a weeks time. I would most certainly recommend this place to any one. Was there with my brothers and we loved it.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms have excellent view of the ocean.....you will definitely love this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was here to cross over to the new year, even though my room was changed, we still had fun but next time give a customer what she has booked and paid for...Beautiful place with very friendly people.....

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. We have also taken note of the challenge you had with the room change and corrective action will be taken to ensure no re-occurrence.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.1 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 61 in Mombasa
1,014 reviews
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 61 in Mombasa
240 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#20 of 61 in Mombasa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $140 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing