We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voyager beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived tired from safari and both I and my mother were ill, too a friendly sympathetic staff, the staff did everything to accommodate my mother who has a long term serious illness.

the food has been great and and the service impeccable, after almost two weeks can only find constructive criticism in a few small areas, nothing at all which we felt the need to complain about, The constant desire of the resort for feedback is encouraging, and a little annoying sometimes, but compensated for by the the feeling that the hotel has a desire to increase the customer experience in any areas that they can, I noticed that some of the things I fed back about had already been implemented, within 48 hr.

For us it wasn't a cheap holiday, as with the best rooms and all inclusive, I feel that a review should be truthful and to the point, iv tried to cover negative and positive,

can they improve, I say that some areas could be fine tuned, but some of my feedbacks due to to the extreme heat might not be practical, or possible.

We were made to feel welcome, pampered, though felt a bit strange to us initially, like our British humour is strange to the Kenyan.

THE CAPTAINS TABLE

If you should get this invite,during your stay, definitely go it was the best dining experience of our stay, u will be plied with the best food, nice wine in a perfect setting, hosted by the Captain (Margaret the customer relations officer) usually a few couples, You will be probed for your honest feedback in a friendly non intrusive way, everybody stayed until late with normal dinner style conversation until the wine took its toll.

Smugglers Cove Restaurant

We decided to try this sheepishly at first, we all ordered lobster you have to pay 50 per cent if on all inclusive, 4 lobsters with all the trimmings for 10 English pounds each we worked out. Amazing well done to the Voyager.....Open a restaurant in Wales

We did find the food quality in the main restaurant where mostly on all inclusive we ate, extremely good, the love the chefs put into cooking things while u wait, a good selection of things to try mostly buffet style meals, with chefs watching lovingly over there dishes while guests serve themselves.

overall we gave 5 stars taking into account any things that we think can be improved on.

Room Tip: the beach view in their luxury rooms the sea is so close
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest.

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for your refreshing and candid account of your experience during you holiday at Voyager Beach Resorts.

We are glad that you had a good experience and we do hope that you will be paying us a visit in the new future.

I have shared you review with my colleagues and they are happy to know that they were part of this memorable experience.

We want to thank you sparing time to share your experience in this forum and we look forward to your continued support.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 3,073 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Beautiful place but terrible service. More than 1 ½ hours waiting for our room in spite of reservation and lack of other customers. Waiting that long when you arrive at 2:00 AM is not pleasant. Then, problems with the a/c and phone. At check out time, we were charged for lunch in spite of three people (including the night manager) assuring us lunch was included. Day time manager totally inflexible.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort during your recent stay.

I have gone through the review and i was able to establish the details of what happened and some of the specifics i will respond through your email provided to conform to Trip advisor review guidelines however allow me to give a general response as follows:

The alleged delay was caused due to the fact that your booking was not in the system because there was no booking prior, the process of checking a walk-in guests do takes slightly longer to do upfront payment requirements with the cashier and document verification but should not take more than 10minutes, i am aware the also did not like the first room allocated hence you were moved to another room, this is essence created a delay and bearing in minds that you arrived late at night this must have indeed inconvenienced you and we do regret the inconvenienced caused.

On lunch bill, you had requested initially a half board package which in essence for the time you checked in, the night manager indicated to you that this covers your lunch because you had missed dinner on the first night. But you later insisted that you wanted to pay the same package as your friend/colleague who had prior booking on bed and breakfast, hence your booking was charted as bed and breakfast and therefore,lunch being part of the package did not arose and this was duly explained to by the duty officer but may be not clearly explained when the changes were made as per your request. The duty officer later amended your package to half board after you raised the compliant on your day of check out making you,only pay a half board supplement as opposed to full lunch payment and extended a free day room a demonstration of goodwill and flexibility in his side.

We do regret the inconvenienced caused and the miscommunication in regard to your charges as a standard we ran a professional operations with lots of flexibility to ensure that all our guest enjoy one of the best services during their holiday.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a great holiday at The Voyager Beach Resort. The hotel is home from home and the staff are really happy and friendly. The food was excellent and always well prepared. The setting is lovely overlooking The Indian Ocean and our room had a sea view. The ambience around the hotel makes your holiday and the smiles are infectious. I would like to mention Margaret who served us round the quiet pool. She is polite, Friendly and hard working. All the staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. I will return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Try and get a pool or ocean view room as it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amber190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to thank you for your support and having chosen Voyager Beach Resorts during your recent holiday and most importantly having created time to share your great holiday experience in this forum.

We are happy to know that you had a fantastic stay and we look forward to be part of your memorable experience in your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We checked in to the hotel but didn't like what our travel agent had booked for us. After an upgrade, we ended up with a garden view room that was to our liking.
The food is good! The variety and quality was great. They also had options for our infant daughter and son too. The fresh fruit table was a hit with a constant queue as the fruit was served fresh, peeled right there. The all inclusive is lacking in form of drinks as most of them were local drinks. If you're into high end drinks, go for the full board.
There were a myriad of activities with the A team. Kids activities were plentiful too.
Overall a good stay

Room Tip: Room 1204 is big and ideal for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angienai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to appreciate your positive feedback that you have shared in this forum in regard to your holiday experience during your recent stay at Voyager Beach Resort.

We have take note of your concern with drinks varieties. We do have the widest varieties of drinks when it comes to all inclusive beverage package within the market. But this does not cover premium whiskey, brandies and wine. We do encourage those who prefers to have a drink of their choices not within the selected all inclusive drinks to book half board packages as this will allow you to enjoy your preferred drinks and pay for it separately.

We want to thank you for having chosen our resort and we do look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We travelled as a four to his great hotel for a four day safari then beach break. In a nutshell!

Weather fantastic
Hotel and room simply great!
Staff simply the best
Food wonderful, best we have ever had all inclusive, I am not a vegetarian but eat so most nights as the curries were simply divine.
My other half put on half a stone upon our return and I am sure that was mostly due to the hot banana and toffee served with icecream he eat every night lol
Drinks on the whole great but the wine sometimes had to be spat our lol!
The beach, ok as long as you did not step onto it!
Infinity pool, what can you say heaven!
Locals on beach friendly but rather irritating when you are trying to chill out on your hols/ We did give away all our flip flops and old summer clothes in exchange for some local lovely trinkets
Safari was simply amazing loved it all even the red dust, the elephants brought a tear to our eyes and still pinch ourselves that we saw them and all the other wonderful wildlife.
Yes there are big bugs but not one of us had mosquito bite in two weeks, amen to that and the use of Avon body oil spray, swear by it.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the wonderful Infinity Pool, simply lush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueyesnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest.

I want to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort during your recent holiday and most importantly having taken time to share your wonderful holiday experience in this forum.

We have note that you experienced beach harassment at our beach by the beach sellers and we take this with seriousness it deserves.

In the past we have undertaken training of the beach sellers and sensitize them of the great opportunity they have if they conduct their business with decorum and in designated areas with little hassle. This has began to bear fruits and we have had drastic reduction on the similar complaint. As a hotel we always have our well trained and friendly security colleagues at the beach to ensure you are not harassed.

Though our beaches are public, we have commenced the process of working with beach sellers and industry stakeholders to only allow beach sellers business in designated areas to enable our esteemed guest to enjoy their beach holiday experience, this i believe will be able to address these concerns conclusively.

We want to thank you for your continues support and looking forward to your next holiday visit.

Kind regards,

Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have just got back from this hotel. Our first impression was good,( usual all inclusive buffet food).Then things changed, we then started to struggle to find things to eat. We went on safari for a few days and when we returned it had got worse, we went to get buffet lunch and everything was fried (another day of either burger from the pool bar or soup.)
It was the same in the evening nothing to eat again.
We decided to talk to hotel staff and ask what could be done, this was the biggest mistake ever, within an hour we were asked to see the manager, who assured us things would change, "we could order what we want" we said we really did not want any special treatment.
we went to the seafood restaurant and were just left sitting without any direction as to where we should go to eat, we got up and came away.
We went to the bar and the hotel manager was there my husband approached him told him what had happened. They ended up arguing and at 21.30 at night the Manager told us to leave the hotel.
phoned our rep who said he would phone back he did and reception did not put him through to our room where we were waiting for the return call.
we were left all night worried we were going to be thrown out.

it was never sorted out the rep was useless it was as though he did not believe us, (we could move to a hotel that did half board AT OUR EXPENSE.

I tried asking for something to be cooked, just a piece of chicken so I could make chicken salad the chef said no get a piece of chicken off the chicken biryani which was already cooked

After we had complained the staff began to watch what we ate, it was horrible


we spent the last days of our holiday in our room and eating out.

we had paid £800 extra for a room upgrade It should have come with flowers and wine daily news paper ( news paper had to be requested every day like they just forgot fruit and wine never appeared) we then find out on the Hotel web site it should have been £300 we questioned this for days and never got a true answer just that it was a business and they charge different rates to the web page.

I nearly forgot they were also sawing trees down around the pool while we were on sun beds and ripping thatched roof off the complete block of rooms pool side.

I am going to raise this with Heritage hotels and with our travel agent company

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank searle_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

On behalf of management and staff of Voyager Beach resorts, I would like to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort during your recent holiday.

We have taken note that we did not meet your expectations during the last few days of your holiday when it comes to menu offering in our main restaurant. We want to thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am aware that on two occasions you had a conversation with our manager on duty in regard to the same and possibly solutions that were suggested but were not satisfactory to you.

This got out of control when your language used to address your grievances were abusive and demeaning to fellow managers and the group operations manager when he intervened. i am aware that you later apologized and the management accepted your apologies. It is good to note that prior to your safari you were happy with the all aspect of the hotel up to and including the food and beverage offerings and generally how the hotel is ran and therefore it is important to appreciate that your experience was an isolated and was not intentional.

In regard to rate parity the upgrade rate extended to you was as per our published rates. However we do not know what you travel agent charged and as per contractual agreement, this remains a confidential information between the client and the travel agent.

Some of the issues raised will warrant direct email response that will be sent ind due course.

We appreciate your feedback as this will give us an opportunity to review our process and ensure no re-occurrence.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Travellers, beware of the so-called "most secure online payment" method used by this hotel! The firm that Voyager uses, 3G Direct Pay Ltd, charged us four times the amount we should have paid. We contacted them two weeks ago about this, and although both Heritage Hotels (which Voyager is a part of) and 3G Direct Pay have admitted that this was wrong we still have not been refunded. First they kept saying that the money had been refunded, then after a week when we still had not received our money back and threatened to go to the police they said that their bank had made a mistake which was now corrected. Since then they have kept deferring the date when they say we should get the money back.

Although we were satisfied with our stay at Voyager Beach Resort, as it is it was an extremely expensive stay! Almost 9000 Euro for four nights for six adults and two children ... We have repeatedly asked for the Chief Executive of 3G Direct Pay to call us, which he hasn't done. Although he did write us an email apologizing, he also promised to update us within 12 hours which he didn't do either. Heritage Hotels has not offered us any compensation above the expenses we have had. The handling of this case is simply unspeakable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Fredrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest.

Many thanks for having chosen Voyager Beach resort during your recent stay and most importantly for sharing your feedback on your satisfactory stay at the resort.

We are fully ware of your experience you have had with our third party online payment service provider and after the management intervention, we have since secured the money and a refund will follow now that we have your accounts details.

The delay to refund this money by our service provider has been of a major concern to us and we are reviewing our process again and our engagement with the service provider. But i must say that we have never had a similar incidence in the past. The delay was also occasioned with the amount being reversed back to the service provider account because your bank did not recognize the refund transaction . We have since attached the same document for your perusal. Non of this was intended or occasioned by action or inaction of Voyager Beach Resort.

We sincerely regret the inconvenienced caused and I am sure our service provider has communicated to you directly to expressed their deepest apologies and given you a first hand explanation what really happened.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 60 in Mombasa
233 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: $142 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing